Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Secrios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Question How do you reset XMP profile settings?

    I am in an unusual situation. My XMP profile always has itself set to BCLK 100 when everyone elses has theirs automatically change to 125. I think I over writ it or something. I can change it to 125 but next time I switch between xmp profiles it sets back.

    I am running a Rampage V Extreme with an i7 5960x with 64bit 2666mhz ram. The profile in question is the 2667 profile.

    Is there a way to reset XMP profile defaults and does your BCLK get set to 125 or 100 when you select 2666mhz?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)amd4000 for sure next time
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI APEX
    Processorgaming9900ks/@5.2 avx -1 / manual vcore 1.32/LLC5/AC+dc 0.01/TVB off/all power savings on
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 4000 CL19@16.17.28/300/2T/ 1.42 volt
    Graphics Card #13080
    Sound CardXonar STXII mods:3xLME 49720NA
    MonitorLG 38GL950G / -HDR / +madVR
    Storage #12TB 970evo plus nvme
    Storage #21TB 960evo nvme +2x 1tb evo 860 hw-sata-raid
    CPU Coolerarctic freezer II 280
    CaseV2-Silverstone FT2 dampened up the wazoo
    Power SupplySeasonic TX-850
    Keyboard Cherry KC 1000 on top of a cherry MX1 for ergonomics :)
    Mouse MX Master 3
    Headset Sennheiser PC360 + Philips X2HR
    Headset/Speakers A250 / cause LG was stingy
    OS Win 10 64bit
    Network Routeryeah right...
    Accessory #1 Silverstone EBA01 headphone stand / black
    Accessory #2 radio Keyfob to turn on and off
    Accessory #3 4 bay fantec /10tb red/+scrap

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    144

    Correct me if i am wrong but 100 ist the standard for ..ages.

    I personally do not known of any XMP profile with 125.

    I would think something is wrong if the XMP profile would set my BCLK to 125.

    Rgds
    Carlyle

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Secrios's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlyle2020 View Post
    Correct me if i am wrong but 100 ist the standard for ..ages.

    I personally do not known of any XMP profile with 125.

    I would think something is wrong if the XMP profile would set my BCLK to 125.

    Rgds
    Carlyle
    I seen it happen in the Linus Tech Tips video.

    It happens around 7:52.

    The reason this is a big deal is that if XMP profiles are overwiteable, then that would mean I messed the profile and it has saved a setting I don't know about that would mess with my overclock.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)amd4000 for sure next time
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI APEX
    Processorgaming9900ks/@5.2 avx -1 / manual vcore 1.32/LLC5/AC+dc 0.01/TVB off/all power savings on
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 4000 CL19@16.17.28/300/2T/ 1.42 volt
    Graphics Card #13080
    Sound CardXonar STXII mods:3xLME 49720NA
    MonitorLG 38GL950G / -HDR / +madVR
    Storage #12TB 970evo plus nvme
    Storage #21TB 960evo nvme +2x 1tb evo 860 hw-sata-raid
    CPU Coolerarctic freezer II 280
    CaseV2-Silverstone FT2 dampened up the wazoo
    Power SupplySeasonic TX-850
    Keyboard Cherry KC 1000 on top of a cherry MX1 for ergonomics :)
    Mouse MX Master 3
    Headset Sennheiser PC360 + Philips X2HR
    Headset/Speakers A250 / cause LG was stingy
    OS Win 10 64bit
    Network Routeryeah right...
    Accessory #1 Silverstone EBA01 headphone stand / black
    Accessory #2 radio Keyfob to turn on and off
    Accessory #3 4 bay fantec /10tb red/+scrap

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    144

    That would be remedied by a Bios update to the same version.

    As always do not forget that you will loose your config by doing so.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    I've been using 125 since I installed my system. XMP on, select speed, and done (RVE10). 125 works just fine. Your increments will be different than 100 as expected. The only reason you really need to change it back (if it is already working for you at 125) is if you want to eke a little more out of your RAM. Then you might actually want a lower clock setting to get what your are seeking. Ultimately it's your combination of installed hardware that will determine your needs.
    Davemon50

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximux XI Extreme [BIOS 1602]
    Processori9 9900KS
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB CL17 3600MHz 32GB [4x8]
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX 1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AGON AG271QG 27" 144Hz [165Hz OC]
    Storage #12 X Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD [DIMM.2_1+ DIMM.2_2]
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo SSD 500GB SATA 3
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser CX 100 inner ear headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + Ubuntu Studio 20.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    332

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    I've been using 125 since I installed my system. XMP on, select speed, and done (RVE10). 125 works just fine.
    So you have to manually set the BCLK TO 125 manually in that it is not the XMP setting that sets the BCLK from 100 to 125? Or does your mobo XMP profile set the BCLK to 125 if you choose the correct timings? The op suggested that his mobo's XMP the BCLK changes it from 100 to 125, which is something that I have never seen happen with any of my Z170, Z270 and Z390 mobos. The only setting that I have seen change the BCLK to a slightly faster speed is when I've used the auto OC feature [AI OC] of my old Maximus VIII Hero Z170.
    Last edited by XYchromosone; 03-27-2020 at 10:47 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    My XMP option defaults my machine to 125 BCLK. In my case, on setup I have changed 2 settings only: I turn on XMP2 profile, then I select my preferred RAM speed (3000) in my case. My RAM could probably go a little higher if I tuned my machine, but I have no interest, it works well for my use. I have previously set my BLCK down to 100 and run that way too. But since the system automatically selected 125 for me I use that. I am on RVE10, not RVE, and I am using the latest BIOS for it (although previous BIOS files did the same thing for me). So yours might behave differently.
    Davemon50

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •