Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    6

    PG278Q Monitor doesn't work with USB-C-to-DP cable

    Hi,

    I have this PG278Q monitor and a USB-C-to-Displayport cable, running from a Lenovo X1 Carbon 7th gen with USB-C/Thunderbolt3 ports, but I can't seem to get it to work.

    I can see in the monitor specs that HDMI-to-DP adapters aren't officially supported by Nvidia and rarely works (found in my search one exception with an active adapter (w/power)), but it says nothing about using one USB-C-to-DP cable (it's not an adapter, though I suppose it might work like one).

    I can find several different cases where an Asus monitor worked with such a USB-C cable, even when it wasn't specified that it was supported, though nothing about my own specific model. I'm aware that G-sync won't work, but that's irrelevant to my case.

    My laptop is fully updated with both newest bios, drivers and firmware (drivers/firmware for USB, thunderbolt and monitor included), USB-selective suspend is disabled, nothing in my BIOS is disabling the feature.

    I'm guessing the monitor doesn't support USB-C-to-DP, but I'm hopeful and reaching out for solutions anyway.

    Hope anyone can help!

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    309
    Posts
    7,665

    As far as I'm aware there is no special requirement on the monitor side. With a compliant Thunderbolt device and TB>DP cable you would be sending a standard DP signal compatible with any DP display. It's literally part of the TB spec that it uses the DP standard.

    So my guess is that you have a bum cable or you are using a USB-C port without TB support. Some laptops have both so make sure the port you plug into has the lightning bolt next to it.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    6

    The X1 doesn't have any USB-C ports that don't also support Thunderbolt3, though I've tried all ports just in case. As annoying as it might be to have a bum cable, at least that might mean there's still hope. Thanks.

    The cable is 2m long, so perhaps I'll have some luck buying a shorter one, of a different manufacturer.

    Anyone else out there have anything to add?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    6

    Unfortunately, buying a shorter and higher quality Moshi USB-C to DP cable didn't help. It refuses to detect the monitor, though it finds the cable just fine. Anyone else out there with advice?

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    309
    Posts
    7,665

    The only other thoughts I have is check with Lenovo to see if they have any recommendations and if your area is not suffering an outbreak see if there is a friend or local shop with a monitor you can plug into. That would help narrow if the monitor is failing or somewhere else in the chain.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    6

    I've tested on several DisplayPort monitors. The laptop works on all of them with no trouble at all. I also contacted Asus customer support, and if I'd updated my drivers, they couldn't really help me with anything more. They suggested it might just be a compatibility issue. Looks like I'm not getting anywhere on this one.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Pheolix PC Specs
    Pheolix PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG GL502VT, ROG GU502GU
    MotherboardAsus X-99
    ProcessorIntel i7 5820K
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce RTX 2070 ROG Strix Advanced
    MonitorASUS ROG XG17AHPE, ROG Swift PG279Q, ROG Strix XG27VQ, ASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo x4 500GB
    Storage #2Seagate FireCuda 2TB
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Strix Flare, ROG Claymore, ROG Scope TKL
    Mouse ASUS ROG Spatha, ROG Gladius II, ROG Chakram
    Headset ASUS ROG Delta, ROG Fusion 500, ROG Strix GO 2.4
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath, ROG Balteus Qi
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Heritage The Three
    OS Win 10 & Debian
    Accessory #1 ROG Phone with Desktop and TwinView Docks
    Accessory #2 ASUS ROG Throne Qi
    Accessory #3 Logitech G920 Wheel + Shifter
    Pheolix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Are you running the monitor in 165Hz-mode or plain 144Hz? I have had similar problems myself where the thing started workin when I set the display input to 60Hz. In my case it worked up to 120Hz, but not higher, which was due to the cable itself.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    6

    My model has 144Hz max, but setting it at 60Hz did not help, unfortunately. Any other ideas?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    6

    Yay! I made another attempt by updating to Intel's newest drivers, and it worked! They are not (yet) officially supported by Lenovo, so I had to do a manual install, but the result is glorious! 120Hz is max, btw, and 144Hz gives you a black screen.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •