Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Unhappy ASUS GU502GV - constant Current/EDP Limit Throttling / low FPS in VR

Hi folks,

I can't seem to find a solution / explanation for the following issues I'm experiencing on my brand-new GU502GV (RTX 2060 / i7-9750H / 16 GB RAM:

- Constant Current / EDP Limit Throttling (according to Intel XTU, no "thermal-limits" reached)
    - Very low FPS in VR (both Oculus Home / Unity / SteamVR)

I've been using the GL502VMK for more than two years, was able to run VR just fine.
    Now that I've spent nearly $2k for an RTX2060-based-system I'm pretty disappointed to say the least...

Is there some sort of a fix / workaround for these issues or am I the only one experiencing these limits on the GU502GV?

Already tried the following (but to no avail):
    - New OS-install / Driver-updates
    - BIOS-Update (307)
    - BIOS-Downgrade (306)
    - Disable Turbo Boost (ThrottleStop)

I'd appreciate any input / feedback.

Best regards & thanks in advance
    Last edited by ATLANTICA_NFS; 03-25-2020 at 08:57 PM.

ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array

In ThrottleStop, try raising the PP0 Current Limit as well as the IccMax current limits. Raise all of these sky high and see if it makes a difference. I would also suggest uninstalling Intel XTU.

Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    In ThrottleStop, try raising the PP0 Current Limit as well as the IccMax current limits. Raise all of these sky high and see if it makes a difference. I would also suggest uninstalling Intel XTU.
    Thank you for the info, unclewebb.

Tried to change PP0 but the "slider" would jump back to "48".
    Rised IccMax to the maximum.

Even though thermals seem to be OK, I'm still getting the following info:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	138.0 KB 
ID:	84385

Anything else I could try?

Thanks again & best regards

I might just have found the actual bottleneck regarding VR-performance...