Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array lightknightrr PC Specs
    lightknightrr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen-7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Sound CardHT Omega eClaro
    MonitorSamsung 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseThermaltake Chaser Mk-1 (Modified)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM600 Dual Sided Aluminum Gaming Mouse Pad
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OEM
    Network RouterCisco ASA 5516-X
    Accessory #1 Firewire Expansion Card
    Accessory #2 Black Magic Intensity Pro 4K
    Accessory #3 Mailiya USB 3.0 5-Port Expansion Card
    lightknightrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    152

    Question RAM upgrade for ROG Zephyrus M (GM501) (Possibly need new BIOS)

    Greetings,

    I've succeeded in upgrading this machine to 64GB, at least so far as the BIOS is concerned. The memory is two sticks of Crucial 32GB 2666Mhz RAM. The problem I am faced with is that despite the BIOS showing the correct amount of RAM, the machine refuses to boot Windows (or the Windows installer). Removing one of the sticks allows it to boot normally.

    It seems to get stuck on the RoG screen. Is this a BIOS limitation, or something wrong with Windows?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    729

    The laptop you have has the limit of 32GB. See ASUS specification page below:

    https://www.asus.com/Laptops/ROG-Zep...01/Tech-Specs/
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array lightknightrr PC Specs
    lightknightrr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen-7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Sound CardHT Omega eClaro
    MonitorSamsung 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseThermaltake Chaser Mk-1 (Modified)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM600 Dual Sided Aluminum Gaming Mouse Pad
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OEM
    Network RouterCisco ASA 5516-X
    Accessory #1 Firewire Expansion Card
    Accessory #2 Black Magic Intensity Pro 4K
    Accessory #3 Mailiya USB 3.0 5-Port Expansion Card
    lightknightrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    152

    Post

    Indeed. However, as I noted, this limitation seems to be purely artificial.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    729

    Your laptop has but two slots, with the limitation of 32GB of memory total as identified on Crucial website. See below:

    https://www.crucial.com/compatible-u...-m-%28gm501%29

    This is not a limitation of the BIOS but a limitation of the motherboard.
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array lightknightrr PC Specs
    lightknightrr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen-7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Sound CardHT Omega eClaro
    MonitorSamsung 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseThermaltake Chaser Mk-1 (Modified)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM600 Dual Sided Aluminum Gaming Mouse Pad
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OEM
    Network RouterCisco ASA 5516-X
    Accessory #1 Firewire Expansion Card
    Accessory #2 Black Magic Intensity Pro 4K
    Accessory #3 Mailiya USB 3.0 5-Port Expansion Card
    lightknightrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    152

    Quote Originally Posted by jdfrench3 View Post
    Your laptop has but two slots, with the limitation of 32GB of memory total as identified on Crucial website. See below:

    https://www.crucial.com/compatible-u...-m-%28gm501%29

    This is not a limitation of the BIOS but a limitation of the motherboard.
    The BIOS, which is what matters, sees the 64GB just fine. What more, the CPU has a limit of 64GB. I am willing to wager a large sum of money that a BIOS update could sidestep the error I am running into.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array raju2529 PC Specs
    raju2529 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)R542UQ-DM153 ( X542UQ.309 )
    MotherboardAsus Builtin Motherboard X542UQ
    ProcessorIntel core i5 7200u @2.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Adata 2400 Mhz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1intel Hd 620 graphics 1GB DDR3 DCH WHQL driver v27.20.100.8425
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GeForce 940MX 2GB GDDR5 DCH WHQL driver v27.21.14.5167
    Graphics Card #3nil
    Graphics Card #4nil
    Sound CardRealtek HD Audio controller with codec 294 WHQL driver v6.0.8975.1
    MonitorBuiltin Lcd monitor model BOE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD M.2. 2280
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB 2.5inch. Toshiba 1TB 2.5 inch
    CPU CoolerBuilt-in
    CaseFrom factory
    Power Supply65W
    Keyboard Built in keyboard
    Mouse Built in mouse
    Headset Purchased Philips HeadSet
    Mouse Pad nil
    Headset/Speakers Realtek Builtin Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit v2004 build no 19041.331
    Network RouterBsnl Wi-Fi modem with router
    Accessory #1 Dell Wired Mouse
    Accessory #2 Laptop Cooling table with fan
    Accessory #3 Secureye Usb finger print scanner added seperately for Windows Hello
    raju2529's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    305

    Before upgrading RAM modules to highest amount. We must check with the processor technical specifications page, intel or amd have limitations maximum memory and its corresponding frequency.
    To boot successfully we need the following
    Correct RAM modules frequency with correct MHz.
    Compatible UEFI or BIOS firmware.
    Compatible Processor model

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •