Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Can i go SLI with M.2 PCIe NVME and still use GPU's at x8/x8?

    Hello everyone.

    Specs:

    Mobo: Asus TUF Z390-PRO GAMING (been using various Asus boards for years)
    CPU: 8700k
    GPU: 1x1080 Ti FE
    Ram: 4x8gb / 3200mhz
    SSD: Samsung Evo Plus 1tb, PCIe 3.0x4
    HDD: 2x7200rpm

    I might be going SLI soon and i was wondering if the GPU's will work x8/x8 or x8/x8 + x4 on the M.2 ?

    The motherboard supports up to 2-way SLI. I've checked the manual and on page (ix), next to 'Expansion Slots' it mentions this:

    2 x PCIe 3.0 / 2.0 x 16 slots (supports x 16, x8/x8, x8/x4+x4*, x8+x4+x4**/x0)***

    * PCIEX16_2 slot supports up to 2 Intel PCIe NVME SSDs via a Hyper M.2 x16 Series Card.
    ** PCIEX16_1 slot supports up to 3 Intel PCIe NVME SSDs via a Hyper M.2 x16 Series Card.

    So, since the mobo supports 2-way SLI, what does the "+x4" in the "x8/x4+x4" mean? Does it refer to M.2?

    I've been looking around and some people say that the M.2 PCIe uses CPU lanes and some say that it uses Chipset lanes.

    Can someone clarify my understanding?

    I have a few older Asus boards which have a table in their manual that show how the PCIe lanes are split, but in this manual it is not very clear.


    Thank you.

    Kind regards.

    EDIT: I think the "+x4" in the "x8/x4+x4*, x8+x4+x4" mentioned above, relates to the LAST PCIe lane at the bottom of the mobo, and not the M.2? Am i correct?
    Last edited by jdj9; 04-05-2020 at 03:25 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    The +x4 is when you use the Hyper M.2 card option Asus offers. So you can put that in, and add up to 4 M.2's on it, except for your board it limits you to using 3 of them on a card installed in the first slot and 2 installed on a card in the second slot, even if the card can actually hold more (4). When the manual says x4+x4 I'm pretty sure it's indicating the configuration with 2 M.2's installed on the Hyper M.2 card, which will total 8 of your PCIe lanes.

    The lanes you asked about, both of the people you consulted are correct. You have dedicated M.2 ports on your board that are driven by the Chipset lanes. And you also have the Hyper M.2 card option, which uses your PCIe lanes. If you install two video cards, they are both going to run at x8/x8 and you won't be able to install any other PCIe devices.

    Your limitation is also your CPU, it limits you to 16 PCIe lanes. Note that's separate from chipset lanes.
    Davemon50

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    The +x4 is when you use the Hyper M.2 card option Asus offers. So you can put that in, and add up to 4 M.2's on it, except for your board it limits you to using 3 of them on a card installed in the first slot and 2 installed on a card in the second slot, even if the card can actually hold more (4). When the manual says x4+x4 I'm pretty sure it's indicating the configuration with 2 M.2's installed on the Hyper M.2 card, which will total 8 of your PCIe lanes.

    The lanes you asked about, both of the people you consulted are correct. You have dedicated M.2 ports on your board that are driven by the Chipset lanes. And you also have the Hyper M.2 card option, which uses your PCIe lanes. If you install two video cards, they are both going to run at x8/x8 and you won't be able to install any other PCIe devices.

    Your limitation is also your CPU, it limits you to 16 PCIe lanes. Note that's separate from chipset lanes.
    Thank you for your reply.

    So basically, i can proceed with SLI which will run at x8/x8 and my M.2 PCIe will be driven by the chipset at its max speed, correct?

    The M.2 is installed at the bottom under the M.2 heatsink.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    ...as it should be. That's the way I read your manual, but I do not own your board. It is also going to be dependent on what else you have installed, but that's how I read it. I assume your drive is NVMe.
    Davemon50

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    ...as it should be. That's the way I read your manual, but I do not own your board. It is also going to be dependent on what else you have installed, but that's how I read it. I assume your drive is NVMe.
    Thanks. I don't have anything else installed other than those mentioned. Yes, my M.2 is NVMe.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Anyone else would like to share their opinion?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    ...as it should be. That's the way I read your manual, but I do not own your board. It is also going to be dependent on what else you have installed, but that's how I read it. I assume your drive is NVMe.
    I found a Youtube video from Gamers Nexus that talks specifically about this, can i post the link here?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •