Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array AleksK PC Specs
    AleksK PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith II Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen™ Threadripper™ 3970X
    Memory (part number)HyperX Predator DDR4 RGB 3200 MHz 8 x 16 GB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti Advanced edition
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda® 520 - 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate FireCuda® 520 - 2000 GB
    CPU CoolerDeepCool Castle 360EX
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyROG Thor 1200W
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare RGB
    Mouse ROG Gladius II Origin
    Headset ROG Delta
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    17

    Unhappy Zenith II Extreme Alpha & AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3970X - CPU stuck

    Hello,
    this weekend i make my new build with Zenith II Extreme Alpha & AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3970X and face one problem when turning on PC CPU stuck at 0.5 GHz. If i restart windows CPU runs at normal speed but after shut down and turning on it again stuck at 0.5 GHz. BIOS is updated to latest 0902.
    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,670

    Is the slow mode switch in the on position?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array AleksK PC Specs
    AleksK PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith II Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen™ Threadripper™ 3970X
    Memory (part number)HyperX Predator DDR4 RGB 3200 MHz 8 x 16 GB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti Advanced edition
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda® 520 - 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate FireCuda® 520 - 2000 GB
    CPU CoolerDeepCool Castle 360EX
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyROG Thor 1200W
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare RGB
    Mouse ROG Gladius II Origin
    Headset ROG Delta
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Is the slow mode switch in the on position?
    No it is OFF

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Did you start fresh with a clean installation of Windows?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array AleksK PC Specs
    AleksK PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith II Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen™ Threadripper™ 3970X
    Memory (part number)HyperX Predator DDR4 RGB 3200 MHz 8 x 16 GB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti Advanced edition
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda® 520 - 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate FireCuda® 520 - 2000 GB
    CPU CoolerDeepCool Castle 360EX
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyROG Thor 1200W
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare RGB
    Mouse ROG Gladius II Origin
    Headset ROG Delta
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    17

    Yes, clean installation. Most likely the problem was in the chipset drivers from AMD site. Now i make again clean installation with chipset drivers from Asus motherboard site and everything is OK.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Apparently the VRM sensor can freak out on this board and get stuck on a very high reading, such as over 100c, even if the VRM is nice and cool. If that happens the board goes into limp mode and downclocks the CPU to .5ghz. As far as I know, the only solution is to RMA the board.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by axiumone View Post
    Apparently the VRM sensor can freak out on this board and get stuck on a very high reading, such as over 100c, even if the VRM is nice and cool. If that happens the board goes into limp mode and downclocks the CPU to .5ghz. As far as I know, the only solution is to RMA the board.
    exactly this.. VRM temp sensor has faulty batch.. it happend to me already multiple time.. people are reporting this issue as well.

    only way to solve it is thru the RMA.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •