Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    ASUS Armoury Crate Issues with Rampage Vi Extreme Lighting

    I have made the horrible mistake in switching from Aura Sync to ASUS Armoury Crate and all ready regretting it big time.

    1. I noticed that if you apply any animated effects like 'Rainbow', the effect only gets applied on PC boot up into Windows.. Motherboard reverts to single color upon shut down and start up. Minor but annoying.

    2. With Aura Sync you could control individual coloring of different sectors of the motherboard, whereas this does not appear possible with Armoury Crate

    I tried reverting to Aura Sync and was some what successful but was unable to get the OLED panel to operate using Live Dash anymore. (Armoury Crate even after uninstall doesn't appear to want to relinquish its grip on it).

    I do have Corsair Icue software installed which also allows me to control lighting and seems some what better than Armoury BUT it doesnt control the motherboard back lights correctly. This board appears to have around 8 (?) backlights and icue only allows color changes to two (top two), the others display random colors.


    Just wondered if any one else was experiencing similar issues and/or had any workarounds or advise.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0702
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.37V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 3090 FTW Ultra
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,234

    There are settings in crate to control shut down effects for the MB. Just click on the board and you should see those settings.

    It’s still buggy at times. There’s several threads in the software section on various issues.*


    *https://rog.asus.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?205

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array cekeu PC Specs
    cekeu PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10920X
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG27UQ
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    192

    Armory crate is not good for the R6E, the card came out well before and has a compatibility problem with. Aura sync offers all the options necessary for the R6E that Armory does not offer

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0702
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.37V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 3090 FTW Ultra
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,234

    But crate is on the download page now for the R6E. Asus recommends it although it’s buggy at times.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I tried to uninstall Crate and revert to Aura and I was able to do this with much messing about but since installing Crate I am unable to revert back to Live Dash to control the OLED Display. After uninstalling Crate and re-installing Live Dash, Live Dash does not let me make any changes to the display anymore. I hazard a guess that Crate does not cleanly uninstall and leaves traces of itself. If I could work out a way to get Live Dash working again post Crate uninstall I would be a happy man. And no I am not prepared just quite yet to revert to a clean Windows install.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array TheMajekalBum PC Specs
    TheMajekalBum PC Specs
    MotherboardTUF Gaming x570-PLUS(WiFi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)64GB TridentZ Neo 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX 2080 TI OC
    MonitorROG PG27UQ 27" 4k 144Hz
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB NVME
    Storage #24TB Seagate BarraCuda 2.5" HDD
    CPU CoolerROG Ryou 240mm w/oled
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyROG Thor 1200 watt
    Keyboard ROG Claymore (CherryMX Red)
    Mouse ROG Spatha & Chakram
    Headset ROG Centurion
    Mouse Pad ROG Balteus QI & Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Bose Soundlink Mini
    OS Win 10 pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture
    Accessory #1 ROG Spotlight
    Accessory #2 ROG Magnus
    Accessory #3 Rog Terminal

    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    You'd be correct about the messy uninstall leaving remnants. To date the only solution I've found is a clean windows install. I'm actually in the midst of trying to get all my rgb to work together(everything i have is RGB) and I know Crate has less lighting options but its whats I'm having the most luck with Crate at the moment as far as number of items syncing up. Everything except my claymore keyboard currently works. Its a bit buggy though and I'm assuming that's from a armory 2 install I had on this round of testing. Once my Flare keyboard comes in I'll be reinstalling windows with just Armory Crate and I'm expecting that to be the money shot. Once I confirm/deny that I may try the same thing but with aura and see if everything syncs with aura. Though in the end, I'm gonna use crate cuz It also controls all the hardware I have. Speaking of...my oled cooler didnt want to work in Crate till I downloaded and applied the latest firmware update.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0702
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.37V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 3090 FTW Ultra
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,234

    I have had more success with a fresh windows install for crate to work as intended. That’s not a viable option for some as I know the hassle involved.*

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •