Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array wim-bart PC Specs
    wim-bart PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Microsoft Surface Pro 4
    MotherboardASUS PRIME X370-PRO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7-1700 @ 4GHz
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon RX 580 Strix Top 8GB
    MonitorAOC Agon AG271QX
    Storage #1Crucial MX300 525GB (M.2)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i v2
    CaseCorsair Crystal 460X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair TX550M v2
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum Cherry MX Speed (US)
    Mouse Corsair Glaive RGB Black
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II Gun Metal
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise x64 1709
    Network RouterpfSense running on i5/12GSSDS/4GB/ESX6.5
    Accessory #1 Noctua NF-A12x15 PWM 120m
    Accessory #2 Corsair Air Series SP120 RGB LED
    Accessory #3 Western Digital Caviar Green 1.5TB (SATA2, 64MB)

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    [X570 PRIME PRO]Move GPU to 2nd slot

    What are the implications of moving the GPU from Slot 1 to slot 2? both are x16 PCIe 4.

    I want to do this to move the card more far away from my CPU (3900x) and make the chipset free for airflow.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array drop4205 PC Specs
    drop4205 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)What are laptops
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z F4-3200C14-32GYZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Reference RTX2080TI
    Graphics Card #2ha I wish
    Graphics Card #3ha I wish
    Graphics Card #4ha I wish
    Sound Cardha I wish
    MonitorMSI Oculux-NXG251R
    Storage #1Samsung970 EVO Plus 1T
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller
    CasePhantex Evolove X
    Power SupplySessonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Headset Astro A40
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    Headset/Speakers Astro A40TR
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
    Accessory #1 Ek GPU Block
    Accessory #2 EK SE 360 Rad, EK PE 360 Rad
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario 140 Pump/Res
    drop4205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    555

    slot 2 is still x16 as long as nothing in slot 1
    Maximus XI Formula, I9-9900k, Phantex Evolove X, Seasonic Titanium 850W, Custom loop PE360+SE360 Rad, G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14 32g, Nvidia Reference RTX 2080 TI, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1Tb, ROG Strix Flare keyboard, ROG Gladius II

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array wim-bart PC Specs
    wim-bart PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Microsoft Surface Pro 4
    MotherboardASUS PRIME X370-PRO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7-1700 @ 4GHz
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon RX 580 Strix Top 8GB
    MonitorAOC Agon AG271QX
    Storage #1Crucial MX300 525GB (M.2)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i v2
    CaseCorsair Crystal 460X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair TX550M v2
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum Cherry MX Speed (US)
    Mouse Corsair Glaive RGB Black
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II Gun Metal
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise x64 1709
    Network RouterpfSense running on i5/12GSSDS/4GB/ESX6.5
    Accessory #1 Noctua NF-A12x15 PWM 120m
    Accessory #2 Corsair Air Series SP120 RGB LED
    Accessory #3 Western Digital Caviar Green 1.5TB (SATA2, 64MB)

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by wim-bart View Post
    What are the implications of moving the GPU from Slot 1 to slot 2? both are x16 PCIe 4.

    I want to do this to move the card more far away from my CPU (3900x) and make the chipset free for airflow.
    Nope, I did it and it is running at x8. And I was hoping it runs on x16. Because the temps are better of all my components, it is really great to have it there. But it runs at x8 and not x16. It might not be a problem because it is a PCIe 4.0 card but not what i hoped for. So ASUS has another product what is not good. For me it feels defective because with a 3900X = Zen 2 it should support at least 2 times a x16 configuration. It also says that on the product page of the board.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array raju2529 PC Specs
    raju2529 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)R542UQ-DM153 ( X542UQ.309 )
    MotherboardAsus Builtin Motherboard X542UQ
    ProcessorIntel core i5 7200u @2.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Adata 2400 Mhz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1intel Hd 620 graphics 1GB DDR3 DCH WHQL driver v27.20.100.8425
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GeForce 940MX 2GB GDDR5 DCH WHQL driver v27.21.14.5167
    Graphics Card #3nil
    Graphics Card #4nil
    Sound CardRealtek HD Audio controller with codec 294 WHQL driver v6.0.8975.1
    MonitorBuiltin Lcd monitor model BOE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD M.2. 2280
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB 2.5inch. Toshiba 1TB 2.5 inch
    CPU CoolerBuilt-in
    CaseFrom factory
    Power Supply65W
    Keyboard Built in keyboard
    Mouse Built in mouse
    Headset Purchased Philips HeadSet
    Mouse Pad nil
    Headset/Speakers Realtek Builtin Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit v2004 build no 19041.331
    Network RouterBsnl Wi-Fi modem with router
    Accessory #1 Dell Wired Mouse
    Accessory #2 Laptop Cooling table with fan
    Accessory #3 Secureye Usb finger print scanner added seperately for Windows Hello
    raju2529's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    305

    wim-bart,.
    I don't have this motherboard, without experience I can't give exact solution.
    But some compatible or troubleshooting steps might be written in the motherboard usedmanual. So read it first.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array wim-bart PC Specs
    wim-bart PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Microsoft Surface Pro 4
    MotherboardASUS PRIME X370-PRO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R7-1700 @ 4GHz
    Memory (part number)CMU16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon RX 580 Strix Top 8GB
    MonitorAOC Agon AG271QX
    Storage #1Crucial MX300 525GB (M.2)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i v2
    CaseCorsair Crystal 460X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair TX550M v2
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum Cherry MX Speed (US)
    Mouse Corsair Glaive RGB Black
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II Gun Metal
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 RGB Polaris
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise x64 1709
    Network RouterpfSense running on i5/12GSSDS/4GB/ESX6.5
    Accessory #1 Noctua NF-A12x15 PWM 120m
    Accessory #2 Corsair Air Series SP120 RGB LED
    Accessory #3 Western Digital Caviar Green 1.5TB (SATA2, 64MB)

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by wim-bart View Post
    Nope, I did it and it is running at x8. And I was hoping it runs on x16. Because the temps are better of all my components, it is really great to have it there. But it runs at x8 and not x16. It might not be a problem because it is a PCIe 4.0 card but not what i hoped for. So ASUS has another product what is not good. For me it feels defective because with a 3900X = Zen 2 it should support at least 2 times a x16 configuration. It also says that on the product page of the board.
    The manual is not really helpful in this. In the manual both slotrs are as x16 with x16 wired. The manual says:
    Slot 1 = used, Slot 2 = no used: slot 1 = x16, slot 2 = n/a
    Slot 1 = used, Slot 2 = used: slot 1 = x8, slot 2 = x8

    But no config for Slot 1 = empty, slot 2 = used:

    On the technical specifications, and my choice to buy this board states:


    What is for me, when using a 3rd Gen AMD Ryzen (what i am using) there are the following slots:
    2 x PCIe 4.0 x16, either in x16 modus or when used both in x8 modus
    3 x PCIe 4.0 x1
    1 x Pcie 4.0 x16 operating in x4.

    So when no video card is used in Slot 1, the second Slot should be working in x16 modus. So it does not work in x16 modus, so it is defective, or the board is not defective, but the specifications on what I did buy the board do not meet the reality and are misleading.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •