Thread: G771J Questions

New ROGer Array

G771J Questions

I have been reading and hovering here for years... So now I have a question..

I have two ASUS G771 series laptops. One runs awesome, without any issues (this one that I am currently on). 16 gb of ram, 2 x 1TB HDD.. The other one, no drives, no ram, and the cooling fans are making grinding noises when it is running.. How do I get it a part to replace the cooling fans? I have seen a couple of youtube videos on it, but I am not a laptop guy.. I am an old school desktop tech (retired for about 15 yrs now). I dont play a lot of games on my laptops.. occasionally Fortnite

ROG Guru: Green Belt Array

Looks like a 2015 model. Here's a link to disassembly:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wQGGQgBJXb0

Rather straight forward, just remove battery, remove all the small covers on the back (hard drives, ram, and m.2 NVME SSD), then remove the back. The cooling fan is held on with three screws.

The cooling fan looks like this:

https://www.ebay.com/i/172618050283?...4aApwEEALw_wcB

It would appear you need to remove the cooling tubes first before the fan. This means a repaste of both the CPU and GPU upon reassembly.

My biggest concern would be the age of the plastic parts. With age these plastic bits become brittle and break. Might want to leave this to a professional.

You will need parts to assemble the laptop. Here's a good place to start to identify what the laptop is compatible with:

https://www.crucial.com/compatible-u...or/asus/g771jm

This is alot of work and the costs will be steep, are you sure you wouldn't be better served with a new laptop?

Good Luck
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array raju2529 PC Specs
    raju2529 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)R542UQ-DM153 ( X542UQ.309 )
    MotherboardAsus Builtin Motherboard X542UQ
    ProcessorIntel core i5 7200u @2.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Adata 2400 Mhz 16GB