Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    D: Hard Drive Not Being Recognized

    Hey all you cool Cats and Kittens.

    I've been troubleshooting this for a Month. I'm going to provide lots of pics because my technical jargon is not the greatest and i haven't had to TS like this since 2001

    My D drive storage was disappearing from my pc intermittently for 2 months before this, I'd reboot and it would be back.

    One day got my pc just said it had encountered an error and had to restart, that was the last time i was able to see my D: drive

    Specs:
    Win8.1
    ASUS Desktop PC CG8480 Series
    Intel Core I7-3770k CPU @ 3.50hz
    Ram 16gb
    64-bit

    The Harddrive is a 3tb seagate

    troubleshooting steps i've completed :
    Swapped Sata Cables
    Swapped Power cables
    swapped hotplug positions
    Drive does not show in disk management
    Drive does not show in Device Management
    Drive DOES work and can accessed if connect via USB with USB Adapter
    i've unplugged all hard drives except the D:drive and it does not show in BIOS
    uninstalled disk drivers in device management.


    Below are some pictures of my bios settings and other settings. maybe there is something i'm missing.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screen1.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	158.3 KB 
ID:	84628

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screen2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	234.4 KB 
ID:	84629

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screen 3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	266.1 KB 
ID:	84630

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screen4.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	347.5 KB 
ID:	84631

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screen5.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	404.6 KB 
ID:	84632

    As you can see from this Pic the other drive is an SD card drive. not my D
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen6.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	245.7 KB 
ID:	84633

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screen7.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	130.2 KB 
ID:	84634


    I hope i've painted a picture on whats going on here.
    sorry for the noob post. thanks for any help and your patience

    -Jerb

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    bump

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array raju2529 PC Specs
    raju2529 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)R542UQ-DM153 ( X542UQ.309 )
    MotherboardAsus Builtin Motherboard X542UQ
    ProcessorIntel core i5 7200u @2.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Adata 2400 Mhz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1intel Hd 620 graphics 1GB DDR3 DCH WHQL driver v27.20.100.8425
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GeForce 940MX 2GB GDDR5 DCH WHQL driver v27.21.14.5167
    Graphics Card #3nil
    Graphics Card #4nil
    Sound CardRealtek HD Audio controller with codec 294 WHQL driver v6.0.8975.1
    MonitorBuiltin Lcd monitor model BOE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD M.2. 2280
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB 2.5inch. Toshiba 1TB 2.5 inch
    CPU CoolerBuilt-in
    CaseFrom factory
    Power Supply65W
    Keyboard Built in keyboard
    Mouse Built in mouse
    Headset Purchased Philips HeadSet
    Mouse Pad nil
    Headset/Speakers Realtek Builtin Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit v2004 build no 19041.331
    Network RouterBsnl Wi-Fi modem with router
    Accessory #1 Dell Wired Mouse
    Accessory #2 Laptop Cooling table with fan
    Accessory #3 Secureye Usb finger print scanner added seperately for Windows Hello
    raju2529's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    305

    In your screenshot I confirmed you have only two harddisks.
    One ssd and one hdd.

    You dont have to other harddisks.

    Only GPT formatted based hard-disks are available in bios

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by raju2529 View Post
    In your screenshot I confirmed you have only two harddisks.
    One ssd and one hdd.

    You dont have to other harddisks.

    Only GPT formatted based hard-disks are available in bios
    Yes 2 hard disk, my operating system is on a 100gb ssd. my second HDD is 3 Tb.

    BUT in the 6th screenshot the second hard-disk showing my BIOS is not my hdd, that is a removable sd-card slot. i don't know why it is showing up there instead of my hhd
    Last edited by Derpajerb; 04-19-2020 at 12:42 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array raju2529 PC Specs
    raju2529 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)R542UQ-DM153 ( X542UQ.309 )
    MotherboardAsus Builtin Motherboard X542UQ
    ProcessorIntel core i5 7200u @2.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Adata 2400 Mhz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1intel Hd 620 graphics 1GB DDR3 DCH WHQL driver v27.20.100.8425
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GeForce 940MX 2GB GDDR5 DCH WHQL driver v27.21.14.5167
    Graphics Card #3nil
    Graphics Card #4nil
    Sound CardRealtek HD Audio controller with codec 294 WHQL driver v6.0.8975.1
    MonitorBuiltin Lcd monitor model BOE
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD M.2. 2280
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB 2.5inch. Toshiba 1TB 2.5 inch
    CPU CoolerBuilt-in
    CaseFrom factory
    Power Supply65W
    Keyboard Built in keyboard
    Mouse Built in mouse
    Headset Purchased Philips HeadSet
    Mouse Pad nil
    Headset/Speakers Realtek Builtin Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit v2004 build no 19041.331
    Network RouterBsnl Wi-Fi modem with router
    Accessory #1 Dell Wired Mouse
    Accessory #2 Laptop Cooling table with fan
    Accessory #3 Secureye Usb finger print scanner added seperately for Windows Hello
    raju2529's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    305

    disable Raid option , select ACHI mode , is your SSD contains EFI partition , Is 3TB harddisk is formmated as NTFS in GPT style ? ( dont format now )

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by raju2529 View Post
    disable Raid option , select ACHI mode , is your SSD contains EFI partition , Is 3TB harddisk is formmated as NTFS in GPT style ? ( dont format now )
    When selecting ACHI mode, my OS will not start. I will get a blue screen saying there has been a problem and Windows must restart.

    Yes SSD contains EFI partition.

    I assume my 3tb is formatted as NTFS as I have not formatted or changed the format since my original startup.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Derpajerb View Post
    When selecting ACHI mode, my OS will not start. I will get a blue screen saying there has been a problem and Windows must restart.

    Yes SSD contains EFI partition.

    I assume my 3tb is formatted as NTFS as I have not formatted or changed the format since my original startup.
    i've now fixed the problem of not being able to load windows after switching to ACHI but the HDD problem presist

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    bump

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    bump

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G752VL-DH71
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Extreme
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    MonitorSAMSUNG S22D300HY (2 ea)
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK PE 360 (Top), PE 240 (Front), and Xres 100 Elite
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard Cerberus
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro 2004
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 ROG Aura Terminal
    Accessory #2 ROG 10GB Express
    Accessory #3 Corsair ML140 (4 ea), Corsair ML120 (3 ea)

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    216

    D: Hard Drive Not Being Recognized

    Your HHD may be dying, dropped or thrown during shipment to place of purchase. I have done all the troubleshooting steps that you have done, but with a WD Green HDD. When I looked at the date on the HHD, it was 24 Oct 2013 (when purchased). Therefore, I went to the WD warranty web site and input the HDD serial number:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HHD.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	42.6 KB 
ID:	84852

    Note the description says it is a WD Blue HDD, but the label on the HDD is:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200512_193431.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	666.8 KB 
ID:	84853

    Anyway, I brought a new HHD and transferred all the data to it, no problems since HDD replacement. Nevertheless, the old HDD (24 Oct 2013) still does the same thing as your HHD is doing now.
    Last edited by pndiode; 05-12-2020 at 11:14 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •