Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Immediate CPU Temp Failure on New Build

    Hi,

    I've completed a new build but am having some problems during boot. Within 10 to 30 seconds of switching on the machine I get a warning message in screen stating that the CPU is overheated and the system turns itself off. I understand why it switches off of course, but am not sure why it is over heating. Any thoughts on what the possible causes of a virtually immediate overheat on first boot coUld be?

    I am using the ROG ASUSRampage IV extreme with a CORSAIR H100 cooler on an i7 3820 processor, all mounted in a corsair obsidian 800d case with corsair AX1200 gold PSU And 16GB Corsair Vengenace 1600 RAM , 2 x 240GB INTEL 520 SSD and a basic Liteon DVD RW.

    Everything appears to be working normally until shuts down, all fans are spinning, the end of the h100 connected tot the processor lights up andseemsto before. My first thought was that perhaps I hadn't fastened the h100 cooling block all the way down to the processor so it wasn't making contact but when I removed I can see the thermal paste has been spread by the contact between the plates. Any other ideas much appreciated!!!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    May be the pump on the H100 is defective. Remove the H100 from the case put it on a bench with a PSU and power it to see of you feel some vibration from the pump ... you can power the PSU by shorting the green and a black wire

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44eMgsTBeEM

    Last edited by Area 66; 03-14-2012 at 01:01 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array InnervateD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    205

    Is the 4Pin Molex on the H100 connected? Just because the fans are spinning on the H100 doesn't mean the pump is connected and/or getting power to pump the liquid through the unit. The 4Pin Molex has to be connected. If everything is connected then I think you're dealing with a defective H100 unit in which the pump's not working. When I installed mine, I took a cable tie and secured the molex connectors together so it wouldn't come apart, as the Corsair AX1200 molex connectors slips right off the molex connector of the H100, with little strain, if it hangs just a little it will come apart.
    Last edited by InnervateD; 03-14-2012 at 04:55 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    Quote Originally Posted by InnervateD View Post
    Is the 4Pin Molex on the H100 connected? .
    Was my first tough, but he said the led on the pump is lit , well for what I can read

    "the end of the h100 connected tot the processor lights up

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array InnervateD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    205

    Quote Originally Posted by Area 66 View Post
    Was my first tough, but he said the led on the pump is lit , well for what I can read

    "the end of the h100 connected tot the processor lights up
    That's what it sounded like when I read it, but I wanted to be sure.
    He can try this.

    Plug all his fans directly to the PSU and just have the unit plugged in with the 4pin molex and the CPU fan connector and see if the pump works.

    If he's still getting the same error, your dealing with a defective pump on the unit and or simply the other 2 options which is, the block isn't making proper contact, maybe due to, too much thermal compound, but if you're using the stock compound on the H100 that shouldn't be an issue. The other; might be a contact issue with the mounting not being securely tighten with enough pressure.

    If it's a mounting issue now it becomes are you using the LGA2011 mount? or the X-Socket 1366 mount method? I hope you're not using the mounting bracket from the 1366 in combination with the LGA2011 which you will not be making proper contact.

    the LGA2011 mounting only requires the 4 double threaded screws that are screwed directly to the 2011 mount then the unit goes into the 4 screws and then the thumb screws tighten up the unit mounting.

    Can we see some pics of how your mounting this from the front facing the pump unit and on the back of the motherboard where the CPU is too, to see if you've added anything in addition to mounting the H100

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    If it's the pump, he must have not plug the sensor in the motherboard CPU fan connector and disable the warning in the BIOS , or else he will have a cpu fan warning well before it overheat.

    I would like to see a pic of the install, if the pump is higher thant the rad, it can trap air and not pump, but it's a 800D, I guess the rad is on top
    Last edited by Area 66; 03-14-2012 at 05:15 PM.

  7. #7
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    Have you overclocked the 3820 at all?

    All else fails: have you checked VRM temps and do you have anything cooling them?

    Also you might want to read this thread about the H100: http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=227133
    Last edited by _; 03-15-2012 at 02:16 AM.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hi All,

    Thanks for all the replies and I'm sorry I didn't have time to follow up yesterday. So the general consensus is that it's something to do with the pump and, as usual, the mob was right!

    I removed the H100 and got it running running one the bench and although the lights were on there was definitely no body home - I couldnt feel any movement or vibration to indicate that the pump was actually running. Ive replaced it with a new one, which I tested on the bench first and could feel some vibration, and all is fine now. The 3820 is running idle at a pleasing 24 -26 degrees. Temps under any significant load TBC as I haven't had chance to put Windows on yet.

    Thanks again to all.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •