Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Maximus XI Formula - XMP and POST issues / Wrong PCIE video card speed

    I have a Ci9 9900K on a Maximus XI Formula board with 4x8GB Crucial DDR4-2400 memory (BLS8G4D30AESBK.M8FE).

    The memory has a XMP profile to run at 3000Mhz CAS15, however, whenever I enable it I get random POST issues with LOAD VGA BIOS message. In order to get the system back to stable, I have to clear CMOS and leave the memory at default settings.

    I have tested other memory modules on the board and can successfully enable XMP, the system boots fine everytime.

    Also, I'm using a Radeon VII video card but it only works at x8 speeds. I believed it was due to my nvme drive and sound card taking up some PCIE lanes, however I removed them and the card is still recognized as x8 only.

    Any ideas on how to troubleshoot these issues?. I dont want to spend $300 on new memory or $600 on a new video card.

    Thanks!

    PD: I'm using the latest BIOS.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1Ghz on all 8 cores 1.355v
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19D-16GTZR @ 4000Mhz CL16-17-17-35 1.45v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorASUS VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 500GB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC280 with 4x NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM (push/pull)fans
    CaseFractal Design R6
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad Logitech Poweplay
    OS Windows 10 Home x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    145

    Are you using the video card in the correct slot (1)? Is your NVME drive in one of those slots next to the RAM? If so, that'll reduce your PCI-E Lanes going to the CPU. The sound card is using the PCH (Z390) for PCI-E Lanes. As for the RAM, you mention above it's DDR4 2400, then below that say it's 3000. You might have to do some manual configurations to make it work at 3000mhz CAS 15, or replace the ram.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I've tested the video card in PCIEX16_1 and PCIEX16_2, it makes no difference. Also, I've removed the NVME drive and the sound card, the result was the same.

    The memory is working now at JEDEC specs (2400Mhz), if I enable the XMP profile (3000Mhz) the boot issues start again.

    It's a really weird issue, any other ideas?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX4M4Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 1TB (Boot) & 970 EVO 2TB (Scratch)
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 + Corsair MM800 Polaris (EU)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit, 2x LS100 RGB kit + 450mm expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    237

    Quote Originally Posted by Enderwiggin03 View Post
    Are you using the video card in the correct slot (1)? Is your NVME drive in one of those slots next to the RAM? If so, that'll reduce your PCI-E Lanes going to the CPU. The sound card is using the PCH (Z390) for PCI-E Lanes. As for the RAM, you mention above it's DDR4 2400, then below that say it's 3000. You might have to do some manual configurations to make it work at 3000mhz CAS 15, or replace the ram.

    I have very similar setup like OP's

    Same board, same CPU, GTX 1080, 32GB ram (default speed 2666, XMP to 3333), BOTH M.2 slots are occupied by an nvme samsung 970, all sata ports occupied and even an an add-in card with more sata ports, and a wifi card. ZERO ISSUES. EVERYTHING is operating at maximum performance, including both NVME's (at x4)

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    There's certainly a compatibility issue with this Radeon VII and the mainboard. I used a GTX1080 before and it was working fine including the memory using the XMP profile.

    I tried reinstalling the GTX1080 and the system does not POST with it anymore, works perfectly on my other computer and a X99 board.

    Really strange issues, I'm holding myself until AMD releases their new video card to upgrade it.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Ok, new BIOS 1502 fixed almost everything.

    RAM is now running on a XMP profile fine
    Computer boots fine 100% of the time
    No more random freezes in Windows 10
    FastBoot works fine (no need to disable it anymore)

    The videocard however is still shown as x8 in the BIOS and in GPUZ; AMD drivers, CPUZ and HWInfo shows x16 though...

    I think it's OK now

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •