Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array revealed PC Specs
    revealed PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900 k
    Memory (part number)4x G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 Mhz (F4-3200C16-8GTZR) = 32 GB
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-RTX3090-O24G-GAMING
    Sound CardOnboard
    Monitor2x Omen by HP 27 Display (gsync)
    Storage #1NVMe 970 Evo Plus 500 GB
    Storage #2NVMe 970 Evo Plus 500 GB
    CPU CoolerAsetek 570LXL 240 M
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv X (RGB, tempered glas)
    Power Supply1000 Watt be quiet!
    Keyboard Roccat Horde AIMO
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Logitech G430
    Mouse Pad Sharkoon Fireglider Gaming
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z623
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAVM
    Accessory #1 Lian Li Strimer RGB cable 24 Pin 20 cm
    Accessory #2 GMX RL-300 Rainbow RGB Fans, Set of 3 pcs. 120 mm
    Accessory #3 Phantecs PCI-E riser for vertical GPU mount.
    revealed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Sorry i got to let some steam off:

    Yea right. I wonder if this settles if they fix some of the broken stuff. For now i ll stick to leaving that sonic studio uninstalled. Actually i hoped to not have to do experiments and troubleshooting like this anymore when choosing asus. In the begin it looked great. The sum i invested in this computer is very high for me. Now im starting to fear slightly that the driver and software support is not any better than others.

    Quality sunk so rough in past years. Im really disappointed in almost every manufacturer. It is not just ASUS.

    I have to say: Z-390 F "GAMING" <- does it refer to "it sells good when it carrys that label" or was it intended for gamers? I feel like they do not even test the software for gaming purposes that is tied to the board. Officely not in software reguards. This is really disappointing. They should not release untested software and then in turn make us beta testers.

    That hardware with bundeled software is way too expensive to treat buyers like this. And i mean really it should not be up to the endusers. They need to start doing their work properly.

    So long...
    Last edited by revealed; 04-22-2020 at 10:03 AM.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array TheMajekalBum PC Specs
    TheMajekalBum PC Specs
    MotherboardTUF Gaming x570-PLUS(WiFi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)64GB TridentZ Neo 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX 2080 TI OC
    MonitorROG PG27UQ 27" 4k 144Hz
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB NVME
    Storage #24TB Seagate BarraCuda 2.5" HDD
    CPU CoolerROG Ryou 240mm w/oled
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyROG Thor 1200 watt
    Keyboard ROG Claymore (CherryMX Red)
    Mouse ROG Spatha & Chakram
    Headset ROG Centurion
    Mouse Pad ROG Balteus QI & Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Bose Soundlink Mini
    OS Win 10 pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture
    Accessory #1 ROG Spotlight
    Accessory #2 ROG Magnus
    Accessory #3 Rog Terminal

    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    I fully agree, for the price we paid, it should work better/smoother than this. I've also been a bit disappointed in my recent asus purchases though I still love the look and what they are aiming for with ROG. I just wish a bit more time was spent in software development stage so they could catch/squish more of these bugs before official releases.

    That's partly why I started this thread...I know a lot of people are having issues getting aura to work and I wanted to pool every ones experiences to see if we could come up with a solution an potentially speed up the patching process.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array Sydneyblue PC Specs
    Sydneyblue PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT73VRE TITAN
    MotherboardAsus Z390 Maximus XI HERO
    ProcessorI9 9900k
    Memory (part number)Hyper Predator 16gb 3200
    Graphics Card #12080ti Strix non OC
    MonitorHP OMEN 27 GSYNC 165hz
    CPU CoolerHyper evo 212 Black Edition
    CaseLian LI Landcool 2
    Power SupplyAsus ROG 850 thor
    Mouse Razor Deathadder
    OS WIndows 10 PRO

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    62

    It seems Asus software is cancer. I dont use it. For GPU lighting just set up what you want then disable Lighting service and it still works even when its disabled. Aura sync is total trash when gaming. I think its just meant for show off not for gaming

    9900k Asus Maximus XI 32GB Hyper X Predator 2080ti Strix non OC Lian Li Lancool 2 White ROG Thor 850

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array TheMajekalBum PC Specs
    TheMajekalBum PC Specs
    MotherboardTUF Gaming x570-PLUS(WiFi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)64GB TridentZ Neo 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX 2080 TI OC
    MonitorROG PG27UQ 27" 4k 144Hz
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB NVME
    Storage #24TB Seagate BarraCuda 2.5" HDD
    CPU CoolerROG Ryou 240mm w/oled
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyROG Thor 1200 watt
    Keyboard ROG Claymore (CherryMX Red)
    Mouse ROG Spatha & Chakram
    Headset ROG Centurion
    Mouse Pad ROG Balteus QI & Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Bose Soundlink Mini
    OS Win 10 pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture
    Accessory #1 ROG Spotlight
    Accessory #2 ROG Magnus
    Accessory #3 Rog Terminal

    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by Sydneyblue View Post
    It seems Asus software is cancer. I dont use it. For GPU lighting just set up what you want then disable Lighting service and it still works even when its disabled. Aura sync is total trash when gaming. I think its just meant for show off not for gaming
    Well, I'm having a lot of luck with ONLY Armory Crate controlling RGB right now. Maybe they have been listening and Armory Crate is their solution to every ones issues. I mean, its still in beta and I'm currently getting the elusive "unified aura experience" everyone. I've also been playing with Crate enough over the past month to have seen updates that has helped my aura work better. Just today I found out Crate now works with my Claymore keyboard, it didn't last time I tried it a week ago.

    I'm gonna keep playing with it and reporting, maybe well soon have the aura integration we've always wanted, they are taking steps in the right direction right now.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by BillBittel View Post
    People have been complaining about this for literally years. The more complex patterns make CPU use go up to way higher CPU use than such a thing should. If you change to Static or Breathing, CPU should drop way down. Great isn't it?
    This is massive. It should be mentioned in the AURA EFFECTS screen. Unless you are staring at the computer or demoing it, chances are you will do fine with static. Thanks!

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array KMBak PC Specs
    KMBak PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX KHX2800C14D4/8GX
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix ROG GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound CardAsus Xonar D2X
    MonitorAsus PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 PRO 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet Dark Rock 3
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 800D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Asus Claymore
    Mouse Logitech MX Master & Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad QCK
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser PC 360/ Creative GigaWorks T3
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 X360 Pads

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Only static, breathing and color cycle dont use CPU load. Rest uses CPU 3-5% depends of hardware You have.
    K.M.Bak

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ABS Master Gaming PC
    MotherboardASUS Prime B560M-A AC
    ProcessorINTEL i5 10400F
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C16D-16GVKB x 2
    Graphics Card #1ASUS DUAL-RTX3060TI-O8G-V2
    Sound CardRealTek HD
    MonitorSAMSUNG 40" LCD
    Storage #1INTEL 660p NVMe SSD PEKNW512GB
    CPU CoolerTHERMALTAKE UX100 ARGB
    CaseTUF GAMING GT301
    Power SupplyASUS TUF GAMING BRONZE 650W
    Keyboard TUF GAMING K1
    Mouse TUF GAMING M3
    Headset/Speakers Cambridge Works PC
    OS Win 11 Pro 21H2 22000.652
    Accessory #1 Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.22000.652.0

    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    82
    Posts
    543

    Quote Originally Posted by KMBak View Post
    Only static, breathing and color cycle dont use CPU load. Rest uses CPU 3-5% depends of hardware You have.
    Not correct. If you are seeing this high of cpu loads there is a problem with your armoury crate installation. I have an aura sync motherboard, keyboard and mouse, not aura ram or gpu though. But I can run wallpaper plus any combination of syncing and basic patterns and cpu load is less then 1%.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Task Manager 1_1_2022 7_47_28 AM.jpg  

    Last edited by Jimbo93; 01-01-2022 at 03:52 PM.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array KMBak PC Specs
    KMBak PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX KHX2800C14D4/8GX
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix ROG GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound CardAsus Xonar D2X
    MonitorAsus PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 PRO 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerBeQuiet Dark Rock 3
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 800D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Asus Claymore
    Mouse Logitech MX Master & Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad QCK
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser PC 360/ Creative GigaWorks T3
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 X360 Pads

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    I dont use Armoury Crate. Its total trash in my opinion. I hate this software.
    I use last Aura Sync software. Have two computers (Maximus X Code and XI Code). I observe both same CPU usage scheme related as I posted above.
    K.M.Bak

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Jimbo93 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ABS Master Gaming PC
    MotherboardASUS Prime B560M-A AC
    ProcessorINTEL i5 10400F
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C16D-16GVKB x 2
    Graphics Card #1ASUS DUAL-RTX3060TI-O8G-V2
    Sound CardRealTek HD
    MonitorSAMSUNG 40" LCD
    Storage #1INTEL 660p NVMe SSD PEKNW512GB
    CPU CoolerTHERMALTAKE UX100 ARGB
    CaseTUF GAMING GT301
    Power SupplyASUS TUF GAMING BRONZE 650W
    Keyboard TUF GAMING K1
    Mouse TUF GAMING M3
    Headset/Speakers Cambridge Works PC
    OS Win 11 Pro 21H2 22000.652
    Accessory #1 Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.22000.652.0

    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    82
    Posts
    543

    Quote Originally Posted by KMBak View Post
    I dont use Armoury Crate. Its total trash in my opinion. I hate this software.
    I use last Aura Sync software. Have two computers (Maximus X Code and XI Code). I observe both same CPU usage scheme related as I posted above.
    Clearly there was an issue with it on your particular configurations of hardware and software or whatever. Don't expect me to say there have not been lots of issues with it. Its Beta software and you accept the responsibility when you install it. I understand people not wanting Beta software on their system.

  10. #20
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimbo93 View Post
    Clearly there was an issue with it on your particular configurations of hardware and software or whatever.
    Do you work for Asus, Jimbo? Clearly all you ever seem to do is pin the blame on users instead of the software itself lol. Just because the software works for YOUR particular hardware/effects configuration, doesn't mean the software isn't to blame when faced with a different configuration on another user's system.

    For instance, in my system the CPU utilization of Armoury Crate is also negligible, but that is ONLY because I chose to use a static color. As soon as I use a more complex effect that is NOT built-in into the hardware, CPU usage goes through the roof.

    And Just to clarify: because of how CPU usage is reported, on a 8 core system with Hyper-threading enabled, 5% to 6% of the CPU is actually nearly 100% of ONE core. If your CPU only had one core, it would be UNUSABLE due to Asus software, and that just to have some pretty lights.

    The reason static and breathing work fine is because they are built-in into the hardware. All the software needs to do is issue a command to the hardware ONCE to use that particular effect, then it's hands off.

    When you request different or more complex effects, however, these effects are implemented at the software level (by the Lighting service) which must then communicate with the hardware EVERY SINGLE TIME it needs to change a LED color. Given how Asus implemented Aura Sync at the hardware level, this can be very, very, slow, causing extremely high CPU usage.

    The way to solve it is by doing what Corsair does with their Lightning Pro and iCue: iCue uploads the complex effect to the Lightning Pro box, which then proceeds to talk directly to the hardware, thus freeing the CPU from this task.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •