Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    cant change ddr5 memory to 5200mhz

    Motherboard: Rog Maximus X690 Hero
    Processor: Intel core i9 12900k Alder lake-S
    Ram: Vengeance DDR5 32gb
    OS: Windows 10
    GPU: 3080ti


    The computer gets caught in a loop and keeps restarting when you change it beyond 4000mhz

    please help thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    398
    Posts
    17,537

    Hi ihavetubes,

    List your complete memory kit.

    I'm using the ROG Strix Z690-F Gaming Wifi with 16GB Kingston Fury Beast 6000MT/s CL40 overclocked to 6133MHz.

    I did have to raise some voltages for stability but you shouldn't be having much trouble with the 12900k.

    On the Extreme Tweaker tab raise these voltages:

    Dram VDD: 1.35v - 1.40v
    Dram VDDQ: 1.35v - 1.40v
    CPU System Agent Voltage: 1.25v - 1.30v (1.35v is ok if needed)

    At the bottom, Advanced Memory Voltages:

    IVR Transmitter VDDQ: 1.35v - 1.40v
    Memory Controller Voltage: 1.25v - 1.30v (up to 1.35v is ok if needed)

    Try with the lowest values first and see how high the frequency lets you go.

    Click the pic to make it bigger
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	memory.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	241.1 KB 
ID:	95348

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi ihavetubes,

    List your complete memory kit.

    I'm using the ROG Strix Z690-F Gaming Wifi with 16GB Kingston Fury Beast 6000MT/s CL40 overclocked to 6133MHz.

    I did have to raise some voltages for stability but you shouldn't be having much trouble with the 12900k.

    On the Extreme Tweaker tab raise these voltages:

    Dram VDD: 1.35v - 1.40v
    Dram VDDQ: 1.35v - 1.40v
    CPU System Agent Voltage: 1.25v - 1.30v (1.35v is ok if needed)

    At the bottom, Advanced Memory Voltages:

    IVR Transmitter VDDQ: 1.35v - 1.40v
    Memory Controller Voltage: 1.25v - 1.30v (up to 1.35v is ok if needed)

    Try with the lowest values first and see how high the frequency lets you go.

    Click the pic to make it bigger
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	memory.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	241.1 KB 
ID:	95348

    This is the ram I have https://www.microcenter.com/product/...200C40_-_Black

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    398
    Posts
    17,537

    Thank you,

    Ok, so you have 32GB 5200MHz CL40, this should be fairly easy to run.

    Make sure you have the ram in slots A2-B2 (slots 2 and 4 from the cpu).

    Reset the bios to defaults and give it a whirl.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I have the exact same kit with 64GB instead of 32 and my XMP broke too after updating the bios to verison 2004. I contacted ASUS support and they eventually confirmed that they are aware of this issue and hope to fix it in the next BIOS update. In the mean time, for me my system has been stable running the memory at stock clocks.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Thank you,

    Ok, so you have 32GB 5200MHz CL40, this should be fairly easy to run.

    Make sure you have the ram in slots A2-B2 (slots 2 and 4 from the cpu).

    Reset the bios to defaults and give it a whirl.
    I told myself, let me try the xmp 2 profile before I mess with the voltage and now I get 5200 speeds. Thanks to you I wouldn't have thought about even trying it. what do you think about the xmp 2 profile, is it ok to enable it?
    Last edited by ihavetubes; 10-01-2022 at 02:16 AM.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    398
    Posts
    17,537

    Sure, X.M.P 2 may even be slightly better tuned for performance than X.M.P. 1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •