Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Smile New build won't post to BIOS with 4k monitor, Black Screen

    Z690 Plus WIFI D4 with MSI 3080 GPU. Would not post to BIOS first time round.
    I had to de-rate the monitor from HDMI 2.1 to HDMI 1.4 to get it to post. After installing the NVIDIA drivers, I switched back to HDMI 2.1 and all was fine.

    Teething troubles with new stuff.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Common issue with all 3000 series except the ones people updated with Nvidia firmware (3060ti & 3080ti DP port ONLY). The issue is so many things can affect it (psu, ram, Cables, GPU, MB Bios e.t.c.) they probably will never actually fix the faulty gpu boot (incorrect signal) problem all the others suffer from. Be glad you have HDMI & not DP1.4 & DP1.4a because it is much much worse! you need to use a HDMI after bio's upgrade before you can get DP signal returned on AMD & Intel, with any PSU, with any Ram, With any DP1.4 or higher port monitor (Even if set lower - some brands like LG) - You NEED to turn on the monitor BEFORE starting the PC or issues. Sad thing is it just happens out of nowhere & from then on "when it does work (Cmos reset - By removing battery because the button on the back doesn't always work for this issue.. in fact rare does/Power down cycle on monitor also not permanent)" you only get about 3 days before issues return. I did a post on here a while ago with most of the info this is just a fraction, but i've given up & waiting for 4000 series.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    117
    Posts
    519

    It a good habit to turn on the monitor before you turn on your system, I being using DP for dual monitor set up from Nvidia series all the while. That the same thing applied ton HDMI.
    Last edited by ahfoo; 08-02-2022 at 04:17 PM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array kcroberge PC Specs
    kcroberge PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX Z690-E GAMING WIFI ATX LGA1700 Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K 3.2 GHz 16-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR5-5600 CL36 Memory CMT32GX5M2X5600C36
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce RTX 3080 12GB LHR 12 GB ROG STRIX GAMING OC Video Card 90YV0FAC-M0NM00
    MonitorSamsung Odyssey G7 LS28AG700NNXZA 4K 144Hz
    Storage #1Western Digital Black SN850 1TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive WDS100T1X0E
    Storage #2Western Digital Black SN850 2 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive WDS200T1X0E
    CPU CoolerAsus ROG STRIX LC II ARGB 80.95 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler 90RC00F1-M0AAY0
    CaseThermaltake Level 20 GT RGB Plus ATX Full Tower Case
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 1200P 1200 W 80+ Platinum Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Elite RGB Wired Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech G502 HERO Wired Optical Mouse
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Western Digital Black 6 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
    Accessory #2 Western Digital Blue 6 TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive x2 (RAID 1 Array)

    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I am having similar issues with my setup. Monitor plugged in to the graphics card will show "No input detected" until Windows loads so I can't get to BIOS. If I plug the monitor into the HDMI port on the motherboard I can get to BIOS. Haven't tried to continue to Windows from there. I am using a new HDMI 2.1 cable.

    System components:
    ASUS Z690-E motherboard
    Core i9 12900K
    CORSAIR Dominator DDR5 5600 32GB (2x16)
    ASUS THOR 1200W PSU
    ASUS GeForce 3080 OC 12GB
    Samsung Odyssey G7 LS28AG700NNXZA 4K 144Hz HDMI 2.1 and DisplayPort 1.4
    Windows 11 Home

    So if I read the first post correctly installing the latest NVIDEA drivers may correct this? I did update to the latest ASUS GeFroce drivers.

    Thanks for your help.
    Last edited by kcroberge; 08-04-2022 at 01:38 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    78

    I have a 4K Acer on the hdmi (Win10) on a 3080ti and formerly a 2080ti, and it will not enter BIOS. If I switch to a 2k monitor, no problem. I think I upgraded drivers, but not recently, so try that.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Sticky Charlie PC Specs
    Sticky Charlie PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5950X
    Memory (part number)32GB T-FORCE XTREEM ARGB CL14-15-15-35
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix LC GeForce RTX 3090 Ti OC Edition
    MonitorAlienware AW2521H 360hz
    Storage #1500GB Samsung 980 M.2
    Storage #22TB Samsung 980 M.2
    CPU CoolerARCTIC Liquid Freezer II 360
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime TX Series 1000W
    Keyboard Royak Kludge RK84
    Mouse Glorious Model O
    Headset Meze Empyrean Black Copper
    Network RouterUnifi

    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I had similar with display port on my 360hz. Nearly had a cardiac arrest when I plugged my 3090TI into my Dark Hero and nothing happened on the screen and mine isn't a Nvidia PCB, it's Asus.

    Glad it's sorted, it can cause some worry when that kind of thing happens!

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array kcroberge PC Specs
    kcroberge PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX Z690-E GAMING WIFI ATX LGA1700 Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-12900K 3.2 GHz 16-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR5-5600 CL36 Memory CMT32GX5M2X5600C36
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce RTX 3080 12GB LHR 12 GB ROG STRIX GAMING OC Video Card 90YV0FAC-M0NM00
    MonitorSamsung Odyssey G7 LS28AG700NNXZA 4K 144Hz
    Storage #1Western Digital Black SN850 1TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive WDS100T1X0E
    Storage #2Western Digital Black SN850 2 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive WDS200T1X0E
    CPU CoolerAsus ROG STRIX LC II ARGB 80.95 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler 90RC00F1-M0AAY0
    CaseThermaltake Level 20 GT RGB Plus ATX Full Tower Case
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 1200P 1200 W 80+ Platinum Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Elite RGB Wired Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech G502 HERO Wired Optical Mouse
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Western Digital Black 6 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
    Accessory #2 Western Digital Blue 6 TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive x2 (RAID 1 Array)

    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Finally got around to trying to work this problem again. Installed the latest NVIDIA drivers (516.94). There is still no signal output from the graphics card until Windows loads. I still can't get into BIOS with this monitor/card combination.

    Has anyone actually worked this issue out yet?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    78

    Updated to 516.94, evga 3080ti ftw3, Acer 4K hdmi. Annoying.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array Sticky Charlie PC Specs
    Sticky Charlie PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5950X
    Memory (part number)32GB T-FORCE XTREEM ARGB CL14-15-15-35
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix LC GeForce RTX 3090 Ti OC Edition
    MonitorAlienware AW2521H 360hz
    Storage #1500GB Samsung 980 M.2
    Storage #22TB Samsung 980 M.2
    CPU CoolerARCTIC Liquid Freezer II 360
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime TX Series 1000W
    Keyboard Royak Kludge RK84
    Mouse Glorious Model O
    Headset Meze Empyrean Black Copper
    Network RouterUnifi

    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by kcroberge View Post
    Finally got around to trying to work this problem again. Installed the latest NVIDIA drivers (516.94). There is still no signal output from the graphics card until Windows loads. I still can't get into BIOS with this monitor/card combination.

    Has anyone actually worked this issue out yet?
    Do you have just one LCD and what connection are you using from GPU to LCD?

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Ribellu PC Specs
    Ribellu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Z690 HERO
    ProcessorI7 12700KF
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance DDR5 2X16Gb 5200Mhz 38/38/38/74
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG-STRIX-RTX3080TI-O12G-GAMING
    MonitorAsus VG27AQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1T
    Storage #2SSD Samsung 960 EVO 500gb
    CPU CoolerMSI MAG CoreLiquid C240
    CaseThermaltake Commander C31 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
    Mouse Razer Bazilisk V2
    Headset/Speakers Hyper X Cloud Alpha
    OS Windows 10 Pro 21H2

    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    94

    You can look at my old topic about this problem, no solution was provided, even directly with the support, they only told me to change the screen LOL, my screen is recent however Asus VG27AQ.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...y-port-problem!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •