Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Memory errors

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus M13EG Bios 1007
    Processori9 11900K @ 5.2 1.50 VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/Optimus Block
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,329

    Memory errors

    I just received my z690 maximus extreme and trying corsair memory on it. Testing with memtest86 9.3 pro outside windows. No OS installed yet. I just flashed shamino’s latest bios posted above. I guess RMA is in order? I have XMP II enabled here. Would that make a difference? Or test at default settings?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	7A8B6B91-4D4C-4A5F-8172-8C78F2BA46AF.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	684.3 KB 
ID:	90912*

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus M13EG Bios 1007
    Processori9 11900K @ 5.2 1.50 VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/Optimus Block
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,329

    Corsair kit is*CMT32GX5M2B5200C38 which is on the QVL. Bios is 0002 from 12/7. 12900K. No changes in bios except XMP II.
    Last edited by Hopper64; Yesterday at 06:32 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus M13EG Bios 1007
    Processori9 11900K @ 5.2 1.50 VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/Optimus Block
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,329

    I am repeating this test with XMP settings disabled for now.

    I also received a Q code 97 Load VGA bios error with the motherboard frozen on bios 0803 with XMP II enabled right before flashing this 0002 beta bios on the second bios chip.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    618

    damn, you own the DDR5 sticks. /drools


    i don't know if this would help, but my Corsair DDR4 kit wouldn't run at advertised spec either without showing up errors like you did (XMP).
    so i inputted the timings manually, and it still shat out errors. from an advertised spec of 15-17-17-35-52, i loosened it to 16-17-17-36-53 with 1T command rate.

    up one number, rerun memtest. if it errors, go back and change timing,
    repeat till memtest is stable.

    p.s.: start with the last number, and loosen.
    i don't know if you have gear down mode enabled or not, that's worth trying.
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    3

    Try going back to the previous BIOS, others including myself had memory and stability issues on 0803

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...wors-stability

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus M13EG Bios 1007
    Processori9 11900K @ 5.2 1.50 VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/Optimus Block
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,329

    Had to wait on the motherboard in my case. Had the memory sitting there waiting.

    Thanks for the help. This memory DDR5 confusing to me. I just checked memtest86 pro 9.3 and NO errors after one run with XMP disabled.

    Suspect boot error and 7 memory errors due to XMP II so far.

    I’ll loosen the timings. Not familiar with gear down mode. Where is that in this bios?*

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus M13EG Bios 1007
    Processori9 11900K @ 5.2 1.50 VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/Optimus Block
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,329

    Quote Originally Posted by xendrome View Post
    Try going back to the previous BIOS, others including myself had memory and stability issues on 0803

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...wors-stability

    Thanks!! I’ll try that. Just checked this next test again with memtest86 pro-still running default 4800 no problem. No errors after 1 complete pass. Â*

    Gut instinct is that it’s not the memory itself. Should throw up errors immediately if it’s the hardware.

    That link is a great help. Reped you. Â*

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus M13EG Bios 1007
    Processori9 11900K @ 5.2 1.50 VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/Optimus Block
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,329

    Didn’t realize initially those errors may simply be due to XMP settings in the bios. Going to let memtest finish this check and flash 07XX and retest.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus M13EG Bios 1007
    Processori9 11900K @ 5.2 1.50 VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/Optimus Block
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,329

    Just got this with baseline default settings, no XMP.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0681.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	130.5 KB 
ID:	90913

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    214

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    Just got this with baseline default settings, no XMP.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0681.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	130.5 KB 
ID:	90913
    I've always used XMP I profile ever since 10900k. I've never used XMP II. I'm not even sure what the difference is between them.
    I also know there's "Mode 1" and "Mode 2", at least there was with DDR4. The last time I ever tried screwing around with Mode 2 (DDR4), on a 10900k, my write speed was literally half of the read speed. Found out later that was due to one of the Tertiary RAM timings being set wrong (either one of the DR/DD timings or one of the SG/DG timings), which can just be fixed by using the default mode then tweaking them normally after doing research.

    Load Optimized Defaults in the BIOS (I think last menu on the right), save, exit, then go back in the BIOS and set it to XMP I. Then do a memory test with memtest86. It should pass with no problems. Is your XMP profile 5200 mhz Cas 38 ?

    You can also, on your XMP I profile, try setting VDD voltage to 1.15v and VDDQ voltage to 1.20v and System Agent Voltage to 1.10v. This may help stabilize things a bit more and may give you a start at tightening some of the memory subtimings as well.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •