Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    VGA (WHITE) Q LED is on but my PC seems to be working fine.

    I have the ROG Crosshair VIII Hero Wi-Fi motherboard and everything seems to be working fine but I just noticed the white VGA Q LED is on, very bright, under a Q-CODE of AA, which seems like a normal code.

    Any ideas why this would be on and how I can turn it off/resolve whatever problem the MB thinks that it has?

    My bios is Version 1105, Release Date 11/04/2019.

    Thanks.

    (The GPU is an Asus GTX-1070)

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    Quote Originally Posted by waynerb64 View Post
    My bios is Version 1105, Release Date 11/04/2019.
    Update to latest bios, then see if you have the issue. Version 1302 is current one.
    https://www.asus.com/au/Motherboards...HelpDesk_BIOS/

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    I shutdown the PC instead of just restarting windows and it cleared the LED. Not sure I want to mess with another version of BIOS at this point unless this is a known issue that has been fixed.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    That's just being silly. There is good reason to upgrade without your so called problem, and it's called AGESA https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AGESA
    Good luck with 1105 but your post shows the the problem is not the motherboard or your computer.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 04-29-2020 at 08:33 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Not messing with something that isn't really broken is not being silly. I have seen issues people have experienced on my MB with various levels of BIOS and I don't want to risk adding an issue I don't currently have. I do not understand your reference to AGESA.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    Well handsome is as handsome does.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array KotOr368 PC Specs
    KotOr368 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII APEX
    Processori7-10700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG278QR
    Storage #1Intel SSD 545s
    Storage #2Mx500 2TB + Segate 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s Chroma
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 TG Dark
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins
    Mouse A4tech BLOODY J95
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    OS W10 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    66

    Quote Originally Posted by waynerb64 View Post
    I have the ROG Crosshair VIII Hero Wi-Fi motherboard and everything seems to be working fine but I just noticed the white VGA Q LED is on, very bright, under a Q-CODE of AA, which seems like a normal code.

    Any ideas why this would be on and how I can turn it off/resolve whatever problem the MB thinks that it has?

    My bios is Version 1105, Release Date 11/04/2019.

    Thanks.

    (The GPU is an Asus GTX-1070)

    Maybe you have same "problem" as i do. (it's not a problem at all) my thing is if i power PC first than monitor i got white LED too (that means something wrong with GPU or recieving image). If i reset PC problem is gone. And if i turn monitor first than PC no problem at all. So i think, that during POST without turn on monitor, motherboard thinks that something is wrong with GPU and recieving image. So just try turning on PC without monitor and you will see.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by KotOr368 View Post
    Maybe you have same "problem" as i do. (it's not a problem at all) my thing is if i power PC first than monitor i got white LED too (that means something wrong with GPU or recieving image). If i reset PC problem is gone. And if i turn monitor first than PC no problem at all. So i think, that during POST without turn on monitor, motherboard thinks that something is wrong with GPU and recieving image. So just try turning on PC without monitor and you will see.
    Thanks for that but my monitors are on 24/7 so that was not my issue. I do crypto mining with this GPU when I am not using the PC so that is my primary suspect for the GPU getting in a bad state. I just have never seen it cause a POST LED to come on and stay on and yet still operate fine. I had done a windows update/restart less than 24 hours from when I noticed the LED on but I have no idea how long it had been on.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Well handsome is as handsome does.
    Well that was really helpful, maybe you could demonstrate your supreme intelligence by explaining the AEGSA reference.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array bluestang PC Specs
    bluestang PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (2 kits)
    Graphics Card #1MSI Armor OC 1660ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Armor OC 1660ti
    MonitorASUS VZ249H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe
    Storage #22x WD Red 10TB (RAID1)
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celcius S36
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe TG
    Power SupplySeaSonic Focus Plus Platinum 850W
    Keyboard Logitech MK-710 Combo
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by waynerb64 View Post
    Well that was really helpful, maybe you could demonstrate your supreme intelligence by explaining the AEGSA reference.
    Or, you yourself could have just read the link he posted that explains just what AGESA is. Either way...update your BIOS. You came here looking for help and an answer. He gave you one, but you ignored it. @RedSector73 is beyond helpful and knowledgeable in this forum, so he's not talking out of his arse!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •