Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 87
  1. #41
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    9900K and MAXIMUS XI GENE and G-SKILL 2 x 16GB 3600MHZ XMPII with bios 1401 MCE on both Auto 4.7GHZ all cores and enabled 5GHZ all cores is perfectly stable and CINEBENCH R15 gives scores of 2050 and 2150 respectively.

    With bios 1502 CINEBENCH R15 scores are down by over 100 with CME auto 4.7GHz all cores and with CME enabled 5GHZ all cores CINEBENCH R15 won't complete and exits with error meaning the 5GHZ all cores isn't stable whereas with bios 1401 5GHZ all cores is perfectly stable under all circumstances.

    Bios 1502 is less stable with higher CPU frequencies and is somehow throttling/restricting CPU performance in order to gain stability. back to bios 1401 I go!!!.

  2. #42
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    176

    You need to set your voltages manually. The auto rules probably changed between 1401 and 1502, so they can't be compared.
    Also, newer microcodes have caused a drop in CB performance on all ODM boards, including Asrock, MSI and Gigabyte. You can use UBU tool and insert the older faster microcodes yourself and flash it.

  3. #43
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    I always set voltages manually, Auto voltages for VCCSA and VCCIO with XMP set are nothing short of an outrageous overvolt, it's ridiculous.

  4. #44
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Bios 15.02, XMP profiles appear to be displaced.

    XMP-1 doesn't actually load Asus's optimized settings. instead, it loads the default XMP profile.

    Likewise, XMP-2 loads Asus' optimized settings. instead of the Default XMP profile.

    If there is BSOD or unstable OC, use the XMP-2 profile. hopefully they will solve this problem quickly !!

    sorry for my bad english.

  5. #45
    New ROGer Array SteverinoLA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by gkhann View Post
    Bios 15.02, XMP profiles appear to be displaced.

    XMP-1 doesn't actually load Asus's optimized settings. instead, it loads the default XMP profile.

    Likewise, XMP-2 loads Asus' optimized settings. instead of the Default XMP profile.

    If there is BSOD or unstable OC, use the XMP-2 profile. hopefully they will solve this problem quickly !!

    sorry for my bad english.
    How can you tell this is happening?

  6. #46
    New ROGer Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorSamsung 32" UH750 QLED UHD Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MLX-D36M-A20PC-R1 w/ Noctua NF-F12 industrialPPC-2000 IP67 PWM x3 Fans
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula V2 Mousepad
    Headset/Speakers Creative GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    215

    Quote Originally Posted by gkhann View Post
    Bios 15.02, XMP profiles appear to be displaced.

    XMP-1 doesn't actually load Asus's optimized settings. instead, it loads the default XMP profile.

    Likewise, XMP-2 loads Asus' optimized settings. instead of the Default XMP profile.

    If there is BSOD or unstable OC, use the XMP-2 profile. hopefully they will solve this problem quickly !!

    sorry for my bad english.
    Actually it's the opposite.

  7. #47
    New ROGer Array SteverinoLA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by Jesseinsf View Post
    Actually it's the opposite.

    XMP-I vs XMP-II has always been so confusing to me. So XMP-II is Asus's optmized settings? If I swtich b/t I and II in BIOS, can I see some DRAM timings change? I didn't notice anything obvious but maybe I'm not looking hard enough in the BIOS pages.

  8. #48
    New ROGer Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorSamsung 32" UH750 QLED UHD Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MLX-D36M-A20PC-R1 w/ Noctua NF-F12 industrialPPC-2000 IP67 PWM x3 Fans
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula V2 Mousepad
    Headset/Speakers Creative GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    215

    Quote Originally Posted by SteverinoLA View Post
    XMP-I vs XMP-II has always been so confusing to me. So XMP-II is Asus's optimized settings? If I switch b/t I and II in BIOS, can I see some DRAM timings change? I didn't notice anything obvious but maybe I'm not looking hard enough in the BIOS pages.
    XMP profile 1 is Asus' optimized settings and XMP profile 2 is the manufacturer's complete XMP settings.
    Last edited by Jesseinsf; 05-18-2020 at 06:18 PM.

  9. #49
    New ROGer Array SteverinoLA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by Jesseinsf View Post
    XMP profile 1 is Asus' optimized settings and XMP profile 2 is the manufacturer's complete XMP settings.
    And "optimized" means for performance, ie. tighter settings, rather than compatibility right? I guess I should study the exact DRAM settings pages and try to spot the differences.

  10. #50
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by SteverinoLA View Post
    How can you tell this is happening?
    Compared with previous bios versions


    Quote Originally Posted by Jesseinsf View Post
    Actually it's the opposite.
    certainly, bios 14.01 and earlier previous were like that.
    XMP-1 Asus optimized profile
    XMP-2 DEFAULT profile.

    however, there may be a bug with bios 15.02. now activates the
    XMP-1 Default profile.
    XMP-2 loads the Asus optimized profile.

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •