Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Hinopup PC Specs
    Hinopup PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE
    ProcessorIN I7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 8 GB GAMING OC
    MonitorSamsung CHG90 + 2x Dell U2410
    Storage #1Western Digital SN750 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerLiquid Cooled
    CaseCougar Conquer
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 650 W 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
    Mouse Swiftpoint 700
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia 840
    Headset/Speakers 2x Roland MA-12C
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Question Asus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE XMP issues

    I recently replaced my Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 Motherboard with a Asus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE Z390 after I started experiencing what could only be described as weird behavior. I ran the CPU (I7-8700k) and RAM (CORSAIR Vengeance RGB 32GB [2x16GB] DDR4 3200MHz) in another machine without issue to test and I replaced the videocard Before replacing the motherboard. Since I installed the board I haven't seen the weird behavior but I have not been able to get the system to boot with an XMP profile enabled to get my ram to run at its 3200MHz. Now I did not Plug in the extra 4 pin power (mostly because my power supply only has the 24-pin and the 4+4 CPU power but from what I have read its only needed in extreme overclocking scenarios. Has anyone else had this issue? Any idea on how to resolve it?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog XI Code Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -1502
    Processori9-9900-Ks @ 5.1/4.8 Cache @ 1.28v
    Memory (part number)32 GB ( 8 GB x 4 ) Team Group X @ 4266 mhz cl-17-18-18-38 @ 1.50v / vccio = 1.25v/ vcssa = 1.25 v
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE + Kraken G12 360mm Aio @ 2000 mhz @ 1.050v Curve
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB x 2 m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo + 500 GB (OS ) m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerDeep Cool Gamermaxx 360mm v2 / Kraken G12 s36 360mm
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyEvga 1000w Platnuim
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1909 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    311

    asus xi code z390 here with 9900 ks @ 5.0 ghz @ 1.23v
    32 gb of ( 8gb x 4 sticks ) of 4133 mhz xmp works fine . i have them @ 4200 17 17 17 34 oc .

    your xmp needs tweaking or more voltage ect ?

    using only 8 pin power is fine . i have both pluged in though

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Hinopup PC Specs
    Hinopup PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE
    ProcessorIN I7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 8 GB GAMING OC
    MonitorSamsung CHG90 + 2x Dell U2410
    Storage #1Western Digital SN750 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerLiquid Cooled
    CaseCougar Conquer
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 650 W 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
    Mouse Swiftpoint 700
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia 840
    Headset/Speakers 2x Roland MA-12C
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I have tried adjusting the XMP setting and manually setting voltage even going a little higher and lower. What ends up happening is the machine turns on and after a few seconds the post codes start cycling very quickly where its impossible to read them. This continues until you force turn off the machine. I have even tried putting in ram from another one of my machine and have the same problem. I am at a total loss. If you have a recommendation on a power supply with the additional 4 pin I would welcome it because It might just be time to start replacing parts.

  4. #4
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,873

    Quote Originally Posted by Hinopup View Post
    I have tried adjusting the XMP setting and manually setting voltage even going a little higher and lower. What ends up happening is the machine turns on and after a few seconds the post codes start cycling very quickly where its impossible to read them. This continues until you force turn off the machine. I have even tried putting in ram from another one of my machine and have the same problem. I am at a total loss. If you have a recommendation on a power supply with the additional 4 pin I would welcome it because It might just be time to start replacing parts.
    Hello,

    Memory parameters vary from vendor to vendor. You may want to try both Maximus Tweak Modes 1 and 2 as well as both XMP 1 and 2 profiles to see whether this remedies the instability.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Hinopup PC Specs
    Hinopup PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE
    ProcessorIN I7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 8 GB GAMING OC
    MonitorSamsung CHG90 + 2x Dell U2410
    Storage #1Western Digital SN750 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerLiquid Cooled
    CaseCougar Conquer
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 650 W 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
    Mouse Swiftpoint 700
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia 840
    Headset/Speakers 2x Roland MA-12C
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Hello,

    Memory parameters vary from vendor to vendor. You may want to try both Maximus Tweak Modes 1 and 2 as well as both XMP 1 and 2 profiles to see whether this remedies the instability.
    Thanks Silent Scone, Actually already tried this with the same effect.
    Last edited by Hinopup; 05-08-2020 at 08:29 PM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Hinopup PC Specs
    Hinopup PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE
    ProcessorIN I7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 8 GB GAMING OC
    MonitorSamsung CHG90 + 2x Dell U2410
    Storage #1Western Digital SN750 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerLiquid Cooled
    CaseCougar Conquer
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 650 W 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
    Mouse Swiftpoint 700
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia 840
    Headset/Speakers 2x Roland MA-12C
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    As an update to this. I Ordered a power cable for my power supply to be able to plug in the 4-pin overclocking CPU power. Turns out you do need the additional power even for XMP with no CPU overclocking. What a headache this has been. Glad its resolved.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •