Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Hinopup PC Specs
    Hinopup PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE
    ProcessorIN I7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 8 GB GAMING OC
    MonitorSamsung CHG90 + 2x Dell U2410
    Storage #1Western Digital SN750 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerLiquid Cooled
    CaseCougar Conquer
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 650 W 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
    Mouse Swiftpoint 700
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia 840
    Headset/Speakers 2x Roland MA-12C
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Question Asus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE XMP issues

    I recently replaced my Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 Motherboard with a Asus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE Z390 after I started experiencing what could only be described as weird behavior. I ran the CPU (I7-8700k) and RAM (CORSAIR Vengeance RGB 32GB [2x16GB] DDR4 3200MHz) in another machine without issue to test and I replaced the videocard Before replacing the motherboard. Since I installed the board I haven't seen the weird behavior but I have not been able to get the system to boot with an XMP profile enabled to get my ram to run at its 3200MHz. Now I did not Plug in the extra 4 pin power (mostly because my power supply only has the 24-pin and the 4+4 CPU power but from what I have read its only needed in extreme overclocking scenarios. Has anyone else had this issue? Any idea on how to resolve it?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardZ690 Asus Strix D4 Bios 1404 / Z390 Gigabyte Pro wifi
    ProcessorZ690 -19-12900 Ks @ 5.4/5.1 ring @ 1.37v/ Z390 i9-9900-Ks @ 5.4/4.9 Cache @ 1.33v
    Memory (part number)Z690 32GB royals @ 4133 c15 Gear 1 / Z390 32GB Team Group X @ 4133 cl-16-16-16-36 @ 1.50v
    Graphics Card #1RTX 3080 EVGA XC3 Ultra @ 1860 mhz @ 0.842v
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gtx 1080 Ti + 360m aio @ 2000 mhz + 300 mem
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus Xg27AQM 27" @270 hz / Asus PG279Q 27" @165 HZ / AOC AG251FZ2 1080P @240hz
    Storage #1XPG 2TB/Samsung 970 evo+ 500 Gb / 970 Evo 1TB x 2
    Storage #22 tb HDD x 4
    CPU CoolerArtic liquid freezer 420mm / Deep Cool Gamermaxx 360mm v2 / Kraken G12 s36 360mm
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyEvga 1000w Platnuim / evga 750 w
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-21h1 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    352

    asus xi code z390 here with 9900 ks @ 5.0 ghz @ 1.23v
    32 gb of ( 8gb x 4 sticks ) of 4133 mhz xmp works fine . i have them @ 4200 17 17 17 34 oc .

    your xmp needs tweaking or more voltage ect ?

    using only 8 pin power is fine . i have both pluged in though

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Hinopup PC Specs
    Hinopup PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE
    ProcessorIN I7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 8 GB GAMING OC
    MonitorSamsung CHG90 + 2x Dell U2410
    Storage #1Western Digital SN750 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerLiquid Cooled
    CaseCougar Conquer
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 650 W 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
    Mouse Swiftpoint 700
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia 840
    Headset/Speakers 2x Roland MA-12C
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I have tried adjusting the XMP setting and manually setting voltage even going a little higher and lower. What ends up happening is the machine turns on and after a few seconds the post codes start cycling very quickly where its impossible to read them. This continues until you force turn off the machine. I have even tried putting in ram from another one of my machine and have the same problem. I am at a total loss. If you have a recommendation on a power supply with the additional 4 pin I would welcome it because It might just be time to start replacing parts.

  4. #4
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    202
    Posts
    2,628

    Quote Originally Posted by Hinopup View Post
    I have tried adjusting the XMP setting and manually setting voltage even going a little higher and lower. What ends up happening is the machine turns on and after a few seconds the post codes start cycling very quickly where its impossible to read them. This continues until you force turn off the machine. I have even tried putting in ram from another one of my machine and have the same problem. I am at a total loss. If you have a recommendation on a power supply with the additional 4 pin I would welcome it because It might just be time to start replacing parts.
    Hello,

    Memory parameters vary from vendor to vendor. You may want to try both Maximus Tweak Modes 1 and 2 as well as both XMP 1 and 2 profiles to see whether this remedies the instability.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Hinopup PC Specs
    Hinopup PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE
    ProcessorIN I7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 8 GB GAMING OC
    MonitorSamsung CHG90 + 2x Dell U2410
    Storage #1Western Digital SN750 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerLiquid Cooled
    CaseCougar Conquer
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 650 W 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
    Mouse Swiftpoint 700
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia 840
    Headset/Speakers 2x Roland MA-12C
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Hello,

    Memory parameters vary from vendor to vendor. You may want to try both Maximus Tweak Modes 1 and 2 as well as both XMP 1 and 2 profiles to see whether this remedies the instability.
    Thanks Silent Scone, Actually already tried this with the same effect.
    Last edited by Hinopup; 05-08-2020 at 08:29 PM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Hinopup PC Specs
    Hinopup PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XI CODE
    ProcessorIN I7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M2C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2080 8 GB GAMING OC
    MonitorSamsung CHG90 + 2x Dell U2410
    Storage #1Western Digital SN750 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
    CPU CoolerLiquid Cooled
    CaseCougar Conquer
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 650 W 80+ Gold
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
    Mouse Swiftpoint 700
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia 840
    Headset/Speakers 2x Roland MA-12C
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    As an update to this. I Ordered a power cable for my power supply to be able to plug in the 4-pin overclocking CPU power. Turns out you do need the additional power even for XMP with no CPU overclocking. What a headache this has been. Glad its resolved.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •