Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Reaverman PC Specs
    Reaverman PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX 32GB KIT DDR4 2400MHz CL15 FURY
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GeForce GTX 960
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AUDIGY RX
    Monitor29" Samsung S29E790C UltraWQHD
    Storage #1Corsair Force Series MP510 960GB
    CPU CoolerBOX
    CaseSilverStone RL05 Redline
    Power SupplyCorsair TX750M
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterSynology RT2600ac

    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Question Crosshair VI Hero boot error code CC and C8 (repeating steps 14 and 15)

    CONFIGURATION
    MB: Asus ROG Crosshair VI Hero
    CPU: Ryzen 5 3600, BOX cooler
    Overclocking: no
    BIOS: latest
    RAM: Kingston HyperX 32GB KIT DDR4 2400MHz CL15 FURY
    GPU: nVidia GeForce GTX 960
    SSD: Corsair Force Series MP510 960GB (M.2)
    Power: Corsair TX750M
    OS: Win 10 Home, latest update, it's the only OS on the drive

    ISSUE DESCRIPTION
    Long cold boot (40-50s) -> onboard LED shows the pre-POST boot is stuck on states 14 and 15 for a long time, then throws error CC and C8
    This repeats a few times, then boot continues to POST.
    I was not able to find errors CC and C8 anywhere online or in the operations manual.

    VIDEO OF ISSUE


    MITIGATIONS TRIED WITHOUT SUCCESS
    - BIOS update
    - CMOS reset
    - all hardware removed except for essentials
    - RAM to different slots, only 1 stick, tried all slots with both sticks
    Last edited by Reaverman; 05-10-2020 at 05:02 PM. Reason: updating OS information

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    633

    CC - Invalid CMOS jumper setting code
    C8 - IDK
    14 - Pre-memory CPU initialization is started
    15 - Pre-memory System Agent initialization is started

    14 & 15 doesn't really matter as moves past them.

    The advice given for CC is
    Push the switch down on the back of the motherboard . under the mouse and keyboard connector.if its up then its in clear cmos mode and wont boot.

    Source is http://www.asusqcodes.com/index.php?inputCode=CC

    Not likely to be ram issue.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Reaverman PC Specs
    Reaverman PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX 32GB KIT DDR4 2400MHz CL15 FURY
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GeForce GTX 960
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AUDIGY RX
    Monitor29" Samsung S29E790C UltraWQHD
    Storage #1Corsair Force Series MP510 960GB
    CPU CoolerBOX
    CaseSilverStone RL05 Redline
    Power SupplyCorsair TX750M
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterSynology RT2600ac

    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Many thanks for your reply!

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    CC - Invalid CMOS jumper setting code
    C8 - IDK
    14 - Pre-memory CPU initialization is started
    15 - Pre-memory System Agent initialization is started

    14 & 15 doesn't really matter as moves past them.
    Thanks, I thought 14-15 may be related because they are displayed for a considerably longer time than any other Q-LED code.

    The advice given for CC is
    Push the switch down on the back of the motherboard . under the mouse and keyboard connector.if its up then its in clear cmos mode and wont boot.
    I'm afraid I do not understand this advice. Which switch? There is no switch under the mouse and key connector, only above - the one with CMOS text. I used it to reset CMOS but no luck. Also, my computer boots in the end, it just takes a lot of time.

    This link does not work for me, it says Site Not Found

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    633

    If your computer eventually boots than it is not throwing an error. The amount of time it takes can indicate something is up. I want to test something. Pull your soundcard out and see if boots much more quickly. let me know if this makes it faster or does nothing.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Reaverman PC Specs
    Reaverman PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX 32GB KIT DDR4 2400MHz CL15 FURY
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GeForce GTX 960
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AUDIGY RX
    Monitor29" Samsung S29E790C UltraWQHD
    Storage #1Corsair Force Series MP510 960GB
    CPU CoolerBOX
    CaseSilverStone RL05 Redline
    Power SupplyCorsair TX750M
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterSynology RT2600ac

    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    If your computer eventually boots than it is not throwing an error. The amount of time it takes can indicate something is up. I want to test something. Pull your soundcard out and see if boots much more quickly. let me know if this makes it faster or does nothing.
    As I mentioned in my original post, I tried removing all non-essential hardware (including the sound card) but there was no effect.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •