Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus
    MotherboardLGA2011 Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel - Core i7-5960X
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Sound CardMotherBoard
    MonitorAsus 3 27"
    Storage #1C - Samsung 850 Pro
    Storage #2All WD Black - 1 Intel Raid & 1 Startech Raid plus 2 6t
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110
    CaseCM Strrom Trooper
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Plantronics Savi 700 - Dragon Compatible
    OS Windows 10 professional
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Bios 1 Dimm B1&B2 Bad, Bios 2 All Dimms good

    >>Bios 1 Dimm B1&B2 Bad, Bios 2 All Dimms good<<
    Asus Rampage V Edition 10 (New Install of the computer)
    Why would this happen? I would think they would show the same thing in the BIOS EzMode. Yet the Dram status shows to different results.

    I try switching the sticks. I swapped the location of Dimm_B1 & Dimm_D2 and still, EzMode displayed the results as B1 & B2 as bad. Dimm_D2 was good. It seems that the stick that was switched to Dimm_D2 is good.

    It now seems the board might be the issue. How can that be?
    Bob

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    This make me wonder if your problem and MY problem that I can not use a memory stick in slot A1 or A2 is caused by a screwed up version of ASUS latest BIOS....

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus
    MotherboardLGA2011 Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel - Core i7-5960X
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Sound CardMotherBoard
    MonitorAsus 3 27"
    Storage #1C - Samsung 850 Pro
    Storage #2All WD Black - 1 Intel Raid & 1 Startech Raid plus 2 6t
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110
    CaseCM Strrom Trooper
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Plantronics Savi 700 - Dragon Compatible
    OS Windows 10 professional
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    I'm running version UEFI BIOS Utility 2.17.1246 Copyright 2017 American Megatrends. On my new install, I have not upgraded the BIOS yet.
    Bob

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,669

    Just reflash BIOS 1 using BIOS flashback method

    You could also carefully inspect socket and reseat CPU making sure that any ncooling is placed and tightened down evenly, assuring that the CPU is not displaced in the socket.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus
    MotherboardLGA2011 Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel - Core i7-5960X
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Sound CardMotherBoard
    MonitorAsus 3 27"
    Storage #1C - Samsung 850 Pro
    Storage #2All WD Black - 1 Intel Raid & 1 Startech Raid plus 2 6t
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110
    CaseCM Strrom Trooper
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Plantronics Savi 700 - Dragon Compatible
    OS Windows 10 professional
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    I have installed good memory sticks, from another computer, that works well. All show up as good memory, no N/A.

    I then install my questionable memory back. This time I swapped A1-A2 & B1-B2 for C1-C2 & D1-D2. In other words, I swapped the position of the 1st 4 sticks with the last 4 sticks. This time the last 4 sticks, C1-C2 & D1-D2 were shown as N/A.

    Previously it was B1-B2 that was shown as N/A.

    Bob

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus
    MotherboardLGA2011 Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel - Core i7-5960X
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Sound CardMotherBoard
    MonitorAsus 3 27"
    Storage #1C - Samsung 850 Pro
    Storage #2All WD Black - 1 Intel Raid & 1 Startech Raid plus 2 6t
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110
    CaseCM Strrom Trooper
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Plantronics Savi 700 - Dragon Compatible
    OS Windows 10 professional
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    It was 2 bad sticks. They are on there way to G.Skill.
    Bob

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •