Page 25 of 41 FirstFirst ... 15 23 24 25 26 27 35 ... LastLast
Results 241 to 250 of 401

Thread: Asus Z490 stuff

  1. #241
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 5.2GHz, NB 4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3733 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM @ 2 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Trust Gaming GXT 444 Wayman Pro Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Creative SB AE-9's ACM
    Accessory #2 4x TT Riing Plus RGB 140 mm, 3x TT Pure Plus RGB 140 mm
    Accessory #3 Thermaktake Pure 20 Argb Sync 200 mm
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    154

    One by one.

    The BIOS is already the latest available for M12E, 0607 2020/06/11; this kit* runs at 1.5 V when OC'd to 4000 MHz. I picked it specifically because it is in the QVL for M12E, and it doesn't fall under higher frequencies (above 4000 MHz), which are expectedly a pain to tune. It shouldn't be this much pain even.

    What would be the purpose of testing less than the whole kit? For example, identifying on which sticks errors happen won't help me, as I need the four sticks to work together. Since the kit is within the return right period, the right thing is to report the fault to the vendor and ask for a replacement. Eh?

    * - F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR
    https://www.gskill.com/product/165/1...2GTZR-Overview
    A Quaker here

  2. #242
    New ROGer Array KotOr368 PC Specs
    KotOr368 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII APEX
    Processori7-10700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG278QR
    Storage #1Intel SSD 545s
    Storage #2Segate 2TB + 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard A4Tech Bloody B328
    Mouse A4tech BLOODY J95
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    OS W10 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    57

    You should try update 0704 from first page. And if you try one by one and if it will have zero error the problem could be your CPU IMC(memory controler) or return them and try new one if you still have problem. Than your CPU or mobo can be problem.

  3. #243
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 5.2GHz, NB 4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3733 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM @ 2 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Trust Gaming GXT 444 Wayman Pro Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Creative SB AE-9's ACM
    Accessory #2 4x TT Riing Plus RGB 140 mm, 3x TT Pure Plus RGB 140 mm
    Accessory #3 Thermaktake Pure 20 Argb Sync 200 mm
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    154

    Quote Originally Posted by KotOr368 View Post
    You should try update 0704 from first page. And if you try one by one and if it will have zero error the problem could be your CPU IMC(memory controler) or return them and try new one if you still have problem. Than your CPU or mobo can be problem.
    I may have neglected to mention that there were no game crashes while running things with a CMK32GX4M4A3200C16. Maybe it is relevant that the issues with frequent game crashes only started when I installed the new F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR.

    Does this play in the favor that the F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR is defective, or is that a rather weak indicator?

    Hm, 0704, I didn't believe that we will be getting new BIOS on the forum. I might give it a try.
    A Quaker here

  4. #244
    New ROGer Array KotOr368 PC Specs
    KotOr368 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII APEX
    Processori7-10700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG278QR
    Storage #1Intel SSD 545s
    Storage #2Segate 2TB + 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard A4Tech Bloody B328
    Mouse A4tech BLOODY J95
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    OS W10 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    57

    0704 so far good for lots of people. 0607 has default LLC 7 in my case, like Asus what? So i was wondering what other crap is inside.

    QVL is just gimick you can buy non QVL and it could be better
    Well your jump from 3200 to 4000. It could be many things mobo seting something bad. Your IMC is weak. Or bad luck with memory.

    First i would try that bios. Clear cmos. And go from zero. Enable xmp. Test if it is bad. Try UP voltage and if you are not comfortable with putting more voltage. Return them and try new one and if that is bad than it must be mobo or cpu.

    Ed1. about QVL apex should support 5000+ there are kits that can do , but show me a CPU that can handle it without tweaks
    Or return them and buy 3600 c14 the performance will be same with less hassle. 4000+ is just marketing
    Last edited by KotOr368; 08-20-2020 at 09:11 AM.

  5. #245
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 5.2GHz, NB 4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3733 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM @ 2 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Trust Gaming GXT 444 Wayman Pro Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Creative SB AE-9's ACM
    Accessory #2 4x TT Riing Plus RGB 140 mm, 3x TT Pure Plus RGB 140 mm
    Accessory #3 Thermaktake Pure 20 Argb Sync 200 mm
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    154

    Hm. This is the newest, I did update to hte 0704. Then I did more testing, targeting hte Test 6 (Block move, 64-byte blocks), which failed the first time.

    I tested with CPU and RAM at stock speed: no errors.
    CPU OC'd (x53), RAM stock speed (2133 MHz): no errors.
    CPU on stock, RAM OC'd: that was a flood of errors, ~150 in four passes. And even the memtest86 froze at the end, lel.

    Fine. RAM voltage at 1.51 V. Error flood, 49 at the first pass, ~190 projected for the four passes.
    RAM voltage at 1.52 V. Error flood.
    RAM voltage at 1.54 V. Error flood. That was over 100 erorrs in the first pass. Projected ~400 in four passes.

    Increasing voltage increases the error rate drastically. I definitely want those sticks out of my PC.

    Does this difference in behavior when CPU vs. RAM are OC'd lead to a better diagnosing whether it is the CPU's inability to handle 4000 MHz, or a faulty RAM?
    A Quaker here

  6. #246
    New ROGer Array KotOr368 PC Specs
    KotOr368 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII APEX
    Processori7-10700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG278QR
    Storage #1Intel SSD 545s
    Storage #2Segate 2TB + 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard A4Tech Bloody B328
    Mouse A4tech BLOODY J95
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    OS W10 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    57

    If you are testing stability always do it one by one. First oc cpu to max then add RAM. Or ram then cpu if OC both its hard to diagnos. So put yor cpu to stock. And lets say your XMPvoltage is 1.5V so i would try 1.54v not workin. Put 1.5v back and try VCCSA and VCCIO 1.25v if this not help return the kit. Iam not and pro OC ok. So this is all i can help.

  7. #247
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 5.2GHz, NB 4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3733 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM @ 2 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Trust Gaming GXT 444 Wayman Pro Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Creative SB AE-9's ACM
    Accessory #2 4x TT Riing Plus RGB 140 mm, 3x TT Pure Plus RGB 140 mm
    Accessory #3 Thermaktake Pure 20 Argb Sync 200 mm
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    154

    Well, let me tell you that I appreciate a lot the effort on your part. I wished to add to your reputation, but the site thinks I've already given too much. Will remember for later. At least, I've now got the BIOS update. Thanks for that one!

    P.S. If I obtain a second module and it behaves like this, I might be happy to hire someone (here) to help me fine-OC the things.
    A Quaker here

  8. #248
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    178

    Quote Originally Posted by martine-dee View Post
    Well, let me tell you that I appreciate a lot the effort on your part. I wished to add to your reputation, but the site thinks I've already given too much. Will remember for later. At least, I've now got the BIOS update. Thanks for that one!

    P.S. If I obtain a second module and it behaves like this, I might be happy to hire someone (here) to help me fine-OC the things.
    This board is daisy chain so we need to find out if the sticks are bad so you need to do this.

    1) Go into tweaker's paradise and set DDR Termination Voltage (DDR VTT) to 0.750v. Then set DDR Voltage to 1.50v manually.

    2) Set VCCIO to 1.20v and VCCSA to 1.25v.

    3) Install only TWO sticks of RAM. One in the slot FARTHEST from the CPU, then skip a slot and then one in the next slot. So, in other words, one in each "Ram bank", farthest from the CPU, so going from the CPU outwards, it's (CPU) --> empty -->RAM --> empty --> RAM. Make sure XMP is enabled and again 1.5v DDR, 0.750 DDR VTT (DDR Termination voltage in Tweaker's paradise, 1.20v VCCIO, 1.25v VCCSA with XMP enabled).

    4) doublecheck DDR and DDR Termination voltage (DDR VTT) make sure they did not change values.

    5) test test#6 again in memtest. Verify no errors.

    6) remove those 2 sticks of RAM and now install the other 2 sticks into the same slots and test those also.

    Please verify no errors like this. Report your results.

  9. #249
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 5.2GHz, NB 4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3733 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM @ 2 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Trust Gaming GXT 444 Wayman Pro Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Creative SB AE-9's ACM
    Accessory #2 4x TT Riing Plus RGB 140 mm, 3x TT Pure Plus RGB 140 mm
    Accessory #3 Thermaktake Pure 20 Argb Sync 200 mm
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    154

    Quote Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
    This board is daisy chain so we need to find out if the sticks are bad so you need to do this.

    1) Go into tweaker's paradise and set DDR Termination Voltage (DDR VTT) to 0.750v. Then set DDR Voltage to 1.50v manually.

    2) Set VCCIO to 1.20v and VCCSA to 1.25v.
    Hi. I actually did this.

    Using A* and B* slots (those you pointed to) gives each pair of sticks a pass.
    However, getting greedy, and wanting to use 4 sticks fails.

    That means that it is my system that cannot take the 4 sticks, right?
    A Quaker here

  10. #250
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    178

    Quote Originally Posted by martine-dee View Post
    Hi. I actually did this.

    Using A* and B* slots (those you pointed to) gives each pair of sticks a pass.
    However, getting greedy, and wanting to use 4 sticks fails.

    That means that it is my system that cannot take the 4 sticks, right?
    Did you test each set of 2 sticks in A and B, and both sets worked stable as 2x8 GB sets?

    If yes, then you are correct, 4x8 GB will not work with that board at XMP without a BIOS update or some tuning in the BIOS of Skews or other things, and I know nothing about that. Cas 15 is a large ask for a 4x8 GB config anyway.

    You can try putting all the sticks in again and setting RAM timings (Primaries) to 16-16-36 (instead of 15/16/36), so CAS will be 16 instead of 15, set voltage DDRV to 1.5v, DDR VTT to 0.750v, VCCIO/SA 1.20v / 1.25v, tRFC to 350, tREFI to 32768 (these will both give you a small speed improvement), and try this.

    If you want to panic, go to skews control, and set WR =80, Park to 48, Nom to 40, for each channel so do it twice.
    Those are for dual rank 2x16 but you can try it. you have nothing to lose anyway.

Page 25 of 41 FirstFirst ... 15 23 24 25 26 27 35 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •