Page 28 of 41 FirstFirst ... 18 26 27 28 29 30 38 ... LastLast
Results 271 to 280 of 404

Thread: Asus Z490 stuff

  1. #271
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    178

    Quote Originally Posted by gooper23 View Post
    I unfortunately did not. I'm not sure what caused the change but I threw the same stress tests at it and they all went well without any WHEA errors.

    Only physical change I did notice that were my temps are much better now than before. I guess I'll chalk it up to me doing something wrong the first time around?
    Can you please take a hwinfo64 screenshot with your stress test, at idle and another at full load?
    Make sure your CPU current (Amps), cpu power, both in "Asus EC" and the vcore, are clearly shown in both screenshots.
    Also at full load, it would help if you also showed the temps and core speeds (you can move the sensor window upwards and just take an extra screenshot (even though that would make it three screenshots).

    a good place to upload them is "imgur".


    Then just post the "Direct link" to the uploads here. Then we can see what's going on.

  2. #272
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1Ghz on all 8 cores 1.355v
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19D-16GTZR @ 4000Mhz CL16-17-17-35 1.45v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorASUS VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 500GB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC280 with 4x NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM (push/pull)fans
    CaseFractal Design R6
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad Logitech Poweplay
    OS Windows 10 Home x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    161

    Z490-E, no VRM fan control in that bios, 0707 (though the same with 0704).

  3. #273
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
    Can you please take a hwinfo64 screenshot with your stress test, at idle and another at full load?
    Make sure your CPU current (Amps), cpu power, both in "Asus EC" and the vcore, are clearly shown in both screenshots.
    Also at full load, it would help if you also showed the temps and core speeds (you can move the sensor window upwards and just take an extra screenshot (even though that would make it three screenshots).

    a good place to upload them is "imgur".


    Then just post the "Direct link" to the uploads here. Then we can see what's going on.
    Sure thing. I'm only able to grab a quick screenshot now since I'm at work but I'll grab one with a longer duration later if needed.


    https://i.imgur.com/ceyt2eM.png
    https://i.imgur.com/deXHudA.png


    Last edited by gooper23; 08-31-2020 at 09:02 PM.

  4. #274
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    178

    Quote Originally Posted by gooper23 View Post
    Sure thing. I'm only able to grab a quick screenshot now since I'm at work but I'll grab one with a longer duration later if needed.

    snip
    Thank you.
    Looks like you were using 1.30v Bios set + LLC8, is that correct?
    What stress test were you running?

  5. #275
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
    Thank you.
    Looks like you were using 1.30v Bios set + LLC8, is that correct?
    What stress test were you running?
    It was 1.32v in the BIOS at LLC7.

    I was just using blend for P95.

  6. #276
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    178

    Quote Originally Posted by gooper23 View Post
    It was 1.32v in the BIOS at LLC7.

    I was just using blend for P95.
    0707 is older than the Test bioses (at least code wise) from the Apex (0088) and Extreme (0098)
    That's why the PPD and TXP settings are not there.
    The OLED firmware is identical on them.

    The build date for 0098 extreme is newer (almost 2 weeks) than 0707.
    There is no difference in CPU temps, current or power draw between 0707 and 0098 (or even the previous 0704), at least on the Extreme and Apex.
    Voltages and temps should be 100% identical. So you probably configured something different somewhere.

  7. #277
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    edit: I downloaded thaiphoon burner again and seems there is a new revision that works, I guess perhaps I didn't test it before on here? I swear I did but I've been on my XI for so long maybe I never did. I'll see if I can find a newer memtweak.

    installed memtweak from the hwbot thread and I'm good to go, noob moment here lol this ssd is from my old Z390 godlike build.
    Last edited by DEJ915; 09-01-2020 at 01:11 AM.

  8. #278
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 5.2GHz, NB 4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3733 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM @ 2 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Trust Gaming GXT 444 Wayman Pro Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Creative SB AE-9's ACM
    Accessory #2 4x TT Riing Plus RGB 140 mm, 3x TT Pure Plus RGB 140 mm
    Accessory #3 Thermaktake Pure 20 Argb Sync 200 mm
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    154

    Today I am tinkering further with my F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR. It is a module intended for 4000 MHz CL15, but that didn't work well without manually altering bios settings. [ Here ] is how it worked at 3600 MHz CL14.

    Today I am pushing it a bit further. I've moded to 3700 MHz CL14, which is very close to the 4000 MHz CL15 latency. This time, I decided to move the remaining timings to Auto, leaving only 14-15-15-35 (full setup is listed at the bottom):

    DRAM Frequency [DDR4-3600MHz] -> [DDR4-3700MHz]
    DRAM RAS# to RAS# Delay L [10] -> [Auto]
    DRAM RAS# to RAS$ Delay S [4]| -> [Auto]
    DRAM REF Cycle Time [700] -> [Auto]
    DRAM REF Cycle Time 2 [520] -> [Auto]
    DRAM REF Cycle Time 4 [320] -> [Auto]
    DRAM FOUR ACT WIN Time [48] -> [Auto]
    DRAM VTT Voltage [Auto] -> [0.73125]
    DRAM Voltage [Auto] -> [1.46000]

    There were a few changes among those secondary values when on Auto. On the left side are the values with the previous XMPII 3600 MHz CL14, on the right side are the new values:

    DRAM RAS# to RAS# Delay S [4] -> [7]
    DRAM REF Cycle Time [700] -> [648]
    DRAM Refresh Interval [14055] -> [14445]
    DRAM FOUR ACT WIN TIME [48] -> [39]
    tREFIX9 [122] -> [125]

    In the MemTest86 V8.4 Free I ran a couple of full passes, and about eight of the troubled Test 6 passes. I will let it run overnight too, but this so far looks good.

    The diff from optimized defaults (M12E, 0707):

    Ai Overclock Tuner [Auto] -> [Manual]
    BCLK Frequency [Auto] -> [100.0000]
    ASUS MultiCore Enhancement [Auto - Let BIOS Optimize] -> [Enabled - Remove All limits]
    CPU Core Ratio [Auto] -> [AI Optimized]
    DRAM Frequency [Auto] -> [DDR4-3700MHz]
    Xtreme Tweaking [Disabled] -> [Enabled]
    DRAM CAS# Latency [Auto] -> [14]
    DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay [Auto] -> [15]
    DRAM RAS# ACT Time [Auto] -> [35]
    Maximum CPU Core Temperature [Auto] -> [90]
    CPU Core/Cache Current Limit Max. [Auto] -> [255.75]
    Long Duration Package Power Limit [Auto] -> [4095]
    Package Power Time Window [Auto] -> [448]
    Short Duration Package Power Limit [Auto] -> [4095]
    DRAM VTT Voltage [Auto] -> [0.73125]
    Cooler Re-evaluation Algorithm [Normal] -> [Very inclined to update]
    DRAM Voltage [Auto] -> [1.46000]
    CPU VCCIO Voltage [Auto] -> [1.20000]
    CPU System Agent Voltage [Auto] -> [1.25000]
    Dual Tau Boost -> [Disabled] -> [Enabled]
    Last edited by martine-dee; 09-01-2020 at 05:22 AM.
    A Quaker here

  9. #279
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    56

    Quote Originally Posted by martine-dee View Post
    Today I am tinkering further with my F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR. It is a module intended for 4000 MHz CL15, but that didn't work well without manually altering bios settings. [ Here ] is how it worked at 3600 MHz CL14.

    Today I am pushing it a bit further. I've moded to 3700 MHz CL14, which is very close to the 4000 MHz CL15 latency. This time, I decided to move the remaining timings to Auto, leaving only 14-15-15-35 (full setup is listed at the bottom):

    DRAM Frequency [DDR4-3600MHz] -> [DDR4-3700MHz]
    DRAM RAS# to RAS# Delay L [10] -> [Auto]
    DRAM RAS# to RAS$ Delay S [4]| -> [Auto]
    DRAM REF Cycle Time [700] -> [Auto]
    DRAM REF Cycle Time 2 [520] -> [Auto]
    DRAM REF Cycle Time 4 [320] -> [Auto]
    DRAM FOUR ACT WIN Time [48] -> [Auto]
    DRAM VTT Voltage [Auto] -> [0.73125]
    DRAM Voltage [Auto] -> [1.46000]

    There were a few changes among those secondary values when on Auto. On the left side are the values with the previous XMPII 3600 MHz CL14, on the right side are the new values:

    DRAM RAS# to RAS# Delay S [4] -> [7]
    DRAM REF Cycle Time [700] -> [648]
    DRAM Refresh Interval [14055] -> [14445]
    DRAM FOUR ACT WIN TIME [48] -> [39]
    tREFIX9 [122] -> [125]

    In the MemTest86 V8.4 Free I ran a couple of full passes, and about eight of the troubled Test 6 passes. I will let it run overnight too, but this so far looks good.

    The diff from optimized defaults (M12E, 0707):

    Ai Overclock Tuner [Auto] -> [Manual]
    BCLK Frequency [Auto] -> [100.0000]
    ASUS MultiCore Enhancement [Auto - Let BIOS Optimize] -> [Enabled - Remove All limits]
    CPU Core Ratio [Auto] -> [AI Optimized]
    DRAM Frequency [Auto] -> [DDR4-3700MHz]
    Xtreme Tweaking [Disabled] -> [Enabled]
    DRAM CAS# Latency [Auto] -> [14]
    DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay [Auto] -> [15]
    DRAM RAS# ACT Time [Auto] -> [35]
    Maximum CPU Core Temperature [Auto] -> [90]
    CPU Core/Cache Current Limit Max. [Auto] -> [255.75]
    Long Duration Package Power Limit [Auto] -> [4095]
    Package Power Time Window [Auto] -> [448]
    Short Duration Package Power Limit [Auto] -> [4095]
    DRAM VTT Voltage [Auto] -> [0.73125]
    Cooler Re-evaluation Algorithm [Normal] -> [Very inclined to update]
    DRAM Voltage [Auto] -> [1.46000]
    CPU VCCIO Voltage [Auto] -> [1.20000]
    CPU System Agent Voltage [Auto] -> [1.25000]
    Dual Tau Boost -> [Disabled] -> [Enabled]
    I just got a z490 Hero to do a build for someone and it has been running the Gskill 4x8 4000c15 kit at XMP and also with all subtimings tightened.

    I tested it with some gaming and a couple passes of memtest86 and it showed no errors but I stopped the test after a couple of hours because I think I am going with the MSI Unify instead. Unless it turns out to be more of a dud than the Hero. I was expecting more from the z490 Hero. I also have a z390 Hero and it does better than the z490 for RAM OCing and latency when using 4 dimms.

    I found better for stability setting CPU voltage manually rather than letting the bios set it, which it looks like you are doing.

    I also have some 2x16gb stick kits also of Team 8 Pack 3600/c16 and they clock a little higher 4133-4266/c17 but the latency is slightly better with the 4x8 so far.

    I see you have Extreme tweaking enabled and Dual Tau Boost enabled, why did you enable them? I would leave both of those disabled/default unless you have a specific reason for enabling them.

    Also for "CPU Core Ratio" AI optimized leads to stability issues in my testing. I found leaving it on Auto or setting manually to something like All Core Sync 50 or 51(depends on CPU) as an example is best stability wise as AI caused issues with high/tight ram setups.

  10. #280
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 5.2GHz, NB 4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3733 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM @ 2 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Trust Gaming GXT 444 Wayman Pro Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Creative SB AE-9's ACM
    Accessory #2 4x TT Riing Plus RGB 140 mm, 3x TT Pure Plus RGB 140 mm
    Accessory #3 Thermaktake Pure 20 Argb Sync 200 mm
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    154

    Quote Originally Posted by bscool View Post
    I tested it with some gaming and a couple passes of memtest86 and it showed no errors
    Mine also worked well at 4000 MHz CL15 for a few days, and MemTest gave it a pass too. Then, all of a sudden, a game was crashing massively, and 4 passes of memtest yielded 18 errors (not a huge number really). Later tests yielded hundreds to thousands of errors. I proceeded slowly from there, now being at 3700 MHz CL14. That is very, very close to 4000 MHz CL15.

    It could be that I made a mistake by loading XMP II.

    About CPU voltage, so far I had only failed experiments in setting a constant voltage, but I don't go with the AI per se. In the system, I use Intel's Extreme Tweaking Utility (XTU) to set the top frequency, power, etc. In practice, that makes the AI stick to the values I want. I mentioned this in the previous posting. The thing is, I am not in a hurry to improve how the stuff works, as the current setup does it for me. The GTX 1080 Ti seems to be the bottleneck now. It is possible that with 3090 RTX I will come in need to tune it further.

    P.S. An interesting detail, I also use the XTU to clock the CPU to 2 GHz. That turns the PC into a super-efficient work machine, 6-7 Watt CPU spend ftw! |o/
    Last edited by martine-dee; 09-01-2020 at 02:05 PM.
    A Quaker here

Page 28 of 41 FirstFirst ... 18 26 27 28 29 30 38 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •