Page 32 of 39 FirstFirst ... 22 30 31 32 33 34 ... LastLast
Results 311 to 320 of 382

Thread: Asus Z490 stuff

  1. #311
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 2GHz - 5.2GHz, NB 1.7-4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3700 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM @ 2 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Trust Gaming GXT 444 Wayman Pro Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Creative SB AE-9's ACM
    Accessory #2 4x TT Riing Plus RGB 140 mm, 3x TT Pure Plus RGB 140 mm
    Accessory #3 Thermaktake Pure 20 Argb Sync 200 mm
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    152

    Oh, I was stuck at 0704 after the last chores, didn't even register that I didn't have 0707. Well, now I got it. The annoying part is that all my asus user profiles were wiped. Else, it seems to work.

    What I noticed is that CPU doesn't let XTU pin its frequency to the proposed value anymore. At 0704 and before, XTU was able to pin the CPU to a stable frequency. Now, the frequency is dropping when there is no work to do. At least those USB ports I used so far do work.

    @anubis1127 can you take all your hardware off power, as in physically disconnect it? Then reconnect it after 5 mins. and try again.
    A Quaker here

  2. #312
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,670

    You can save your profiles to USB as CMO files and transfer them between BIOSes these days...

  3. #313
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by KotOr368 View Post
    I have apex too and 0707 and my USB works fine
    Weird, I guess mine got messed up somehow. Lovely.

    Quote Originally Posted by martine-dee View Post
    Oh, I was stuck at 0704 after the last chores, didn't even register that I didn't have 0707. Well, now I got it. The annoying part is that all my asus user profiles were wiped. Else, it seems to work.

    What I noticed is that CPU doesn't let XTU pin its frequency to the proposed value anymore. At 0704 and before, XTU was able to pin the CPU to a stable frequency. Now, the frequency is dropping when there is no work to do. At least those USB ports I used so far do work.

    @anubis1127 can you take all your hardware off power, as in physically disconnect it? Then reconnect it after 5 mins. and try again.
    Well the other BIOS on the board, it still reads USB drives fine, so I guess I'm just down my main bios, and only have my backup BIOS left. It's not the hardware.

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    You can save your profiles to USB as CMO files and transfer them between BIOSes these days...
    In theory....I can't load CMO profiles from USB on 0707 anymore
    Last edited by anubis1127; 09-13-2020 at 02:40 PM.

  4. #314
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    178

    Quote Originally Posted by martine-dee View Post
    Oh, I was stuck at 0704 after the last chores, didn't even register that I didn't have 0707. Well, now I got it. The annoying part is that all my asus user profiles were wiped. Else, it seems to work.

    What I noticed is that CPU doesn't let XTU pin its frequency to the proposed value anymore. At 0704 and before, XTU was able to pin the CPU to a stable frequency. Now, the frequency is dropping when there is no work to do. At least those USB ports I used so far do work.

    @anubis1127 can you take all your hardware off power, as in physically disconnect it? Then reconnect it after 5 mins. and try again.
    I don't know how far back in branches profiles go for compatibility, but on Maximus 12 extreme, I had no problems saving a profile to USB on 0098 / 0704, flashing to 0707, then loading that profile from USB. Note that 0707 is older than Apex 0088 / Extreme 0098 as it does not have PPD / tXP. The OLED firmware is the same from 0088/0098 to 0707 however. So I've seen no problems saving then re-loading a profile between 1 bios version to the next step up version starting with 0604.

  5. #315
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 2GHz - 5.2GHz, NB 1.7-4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3700 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM @ 2 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Trust Gaming GXT 444 Wayman Pro Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Creative SB AE-9's ACM
    Accessory #2 4x TT Riing Plus RGB 140 mm, 3x TT Pure Plus RGB 140 mm
    Accessory #3 Thermaktake Pure 20 Argb Sync 200 mm
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    152

    I might need to go back to 0704 for confirmation. I had no thermal throttling for constant 5.1 GHz. With 0707 it is a regular thing.
    Iow: The threshold I set is 90C, that was hardly ever reached in previous BIOSes. With 0707, that is a regular thing.

    Update: Nah, it seems intermittent, both with 0704 and 0707.

    Update II: It is probably related to the fastest learning willingness of the cpu fan (pump). It seems to need a nudge sometimes to begin to cool.
    Last edited by martine-dee; 09-17-2020 at 08:03 PM.
    A Quaker here

  6. #316
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    15

    F4-4000c17d-32gtrsb

    Quote Originally Posted by bscool View Post
    Post back how the new kit works. I have seen people posting on overclock.net they work better. Newer PCB or something.

    They also mention setting ODTs manually which I did try but it gets to be so time consuming trying so many different settings I just gave up after a couple weeks of messing with it. https://www.overclock.net/threads/of.../post-28626752

    I definitely would have kept it if it would have worked in the 4266-4400 range with 32gb. Sound like it is possible with the new 2x16 sticks.

    The main reason I bought the Unify is it was on sale and I got it for $250 brand new or I would have stayed with the Hero.
    Got that G.Skill last week Friday. Threw it in stock and it was fine. Just went into bios, bumped it to 4266, changed the timings and bumped from 1.40v to 1.45v. Been letting is run like this so far just gaming. Haven't really ran any tests on it for errors at this point.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 4000CL17.jpg  


  7. #317
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by Ezveedub View Post
    Got that G.Skill last week Friday. Threw it in stock and it was fine. Just went into bios, bumped it to 4266, changed the timings and bumped from 1.40v to 1.45v. Been letting is run like this so far just gaming. Haven't really ran any tests on it for errors at this point.
    Thanks. I have another z490 Hero coming and will try it with the newer 2x16gb Gskill kit.

  8. #318
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Well I managed to "fix" the USB drive(s) not reading from the bios issue I posted above. Still not sure how that problem happened, or why this "fixed" it, but while overclocking a RAM kit, pushed it a little too hard, the board wouldn't POST, q-code 79, wouldn't start with the safe mode button. Powered it off, then back on, and it automatically went to the safe boot, and when back in BIOS suddenly USB drives could be read again.

    Really odd that previous attempts at clearing CMOS, reseating RAM, changing RAM kits, switching CPUs, trying bios flashback, all failed to resolve the problem/weird state the bios was in, but the auto safe boot after bad OC settings did.

  9. #319
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Hi...
    which PLL Bandwidth do you use? Auto or #4 (recommended for OC)
    What is this parameter for?
    Last edited by RobertoSampaio; 09-25-2020 at 05:16 PM.

  10. #320
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    178

    Quote Originally Posted by RobertoSampaio View Post
    Hi...
    which PLL Bandwidth do you use? Auto or #4 (recommended for OC)
    What is this parameter for?
    Do not touch that setting.

Page 32 of 39 FirstFirst ... 22 30 31 32 33 34 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •