Page 31 of 55 FirstFirst ... 21 29 30 31 32 33 41 ... LastLast
Results 301 to 310 of 543

Thread: Asus Z490 stuff

  1. #301
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by Ezveedub View Post
    MSI Unify has memory tabbed traces on the PCB. Buildzoid went over this in one of his videos and showed how it supposedly works well on daisy-chain. He did show he was running Patriot Viper 4400 CL19 4x8Gb, which I tried on the Hero and it would only train to 4233 for me in 4 sticks on XMP and would BSOD occasionally. Since shifted back to 4000 4x8gb, but i'm trying the G. Skill 4000 CL 17 2x16Gb in the next day or so.

    I actually had the Unify in hand, but never used it since I found a deal on the Hero and went with it instead.
    Post back how the new kit works. I have seen people posting on overclock.net they work better. Newer PCB or something.

    They also mention setting ODTs manually which I did try but it gets to be so time consuming trying so many different settings I just gave up after a couple weeks of messing with it. https://www.overclock.net/threads/of.../post-28626752

    I definitely would have kept it if it would have worked in the 4266-4400 range with 32gb. Sound like it is possible with the new 2x16 sticks.

    The main reason I bought the Unify is it was on sale and I got it for $250 brand new or I would have stayed with the Hero.

  2. #302
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by bscool View Post
    Post back how the new kit works. I have seen people posting on overclock.net they work better. Newer PCB or something.

    They also mention setting ODTs manually which I did try but it gets to be so time consuming trying so many different settings I just gave up after a couple weeks of messing with it. https://www.overclock.net/threads/of.../post-28626752

    I definitely would have kept it if it would have worked in the 4266-4400 range with 32gb. Sound like it is possible with the new 2x16 sticks.

    The main reason I bought the Unify is it was on sale and I got it for $250 brand new or I would have stayed with the Hero.
    I'll see when they get here....I saw something similar on OCN and that's when I checked out the 4000 CL17. It was OOS and came back in on Tuesday, so hopefully its the newer PCB some are claiming.

  3. #303
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 5.2GHz, NB 4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3733 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti Gaming @ 2.025 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12 fans from TT and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    166

    Quote Originally Posted by Apothysis View Post
    Well I'm on 4500 CL16 which is quite a difference.

    If your profile is correct, you're running 4x8GB sticks? So 4 dimms on a daisy chain board, might explain why you're struggling a bit. Ideally you'd be on a t-topology board with four dimms but vendors moved everything to daisy chain with Z490 for some reason. If you left VCCIO on auto while enabling XMP that could also be a source of errors, Asus likes going overboard with auto voltages and going to high on VCCIO can definitely have a negative impact. Have you tried the different Maximus Tweak Modes?
    That 4500 MHz CL16 is unbeatable! You stretched a 3200 MHz RAM all the way up there?

    I've tried a lot from the presets, before I moved onto tweaking voltages, includiuon VCCIO, VTT and SA (as you can see in this post). The 4-stick module (F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR) won't budge beyond 3700 MHz CL14.

    When I took out two sticks, and tuned them, that only got me to 4133 MHz CL15. I couldn't push it any farther. I got F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR as it was in QVL, I assumed that it can just work with its XMP. Now it's clear that QVL is bs.

    What would speed up my probes is a tool that allows me to test available memory while tweaking those voltages and frequencies from Windows, before I apply them and go to memtest. What tool would be the best for my hardware situation? I am ready to purchase something to speed up tweaking this crap.
    Last edited by martine-dee; 09-12-2020 at 07:01 AM.
    A Quaker here

  4. #304
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 5.2GHz, NB 4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3733 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti Gaming @ 2.025 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12 fans from TT and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    166

    Meanwhile, can you folks tell me what is that THUNDERBOLTEX 3-TR card (shipped with M12E) used for?

    I've tried googling it, but all sources seem to assume that ones who have it already know what are its concrete applications for a gamer. This must be sounding like a terribly random question to those who know what it is intended for.
    Last edited by martine-dee; 09-12-2020 at 08:23 AM.
    A Quaker here

  5. #305
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by martine-dee View Post
    That 4500 MHz CL16 is unbeatable! You stretched a 3200 MHz RAM all the way up there?

    I've tried a lot from the presets, before I moved onto tweaking voltages, includiuon VCCIO, VTT and SA (as you can see in this post). The 4-stick module (F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR) won't budge beyond 3700 MHz CL14.

    When I took out two sticks, and tuned them, that only got me to 4133 MHz CL15. I couldn't push it any farther. I got F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR as it was in QVL, I assumed that it can just work with its XMP. Now it's clear that QVL is bs.

    What would speed up my probes is a tool that allows me to test available memory while tweaking those voltages and frequencies from Windows, before I apply them and go to memtest. What tool would be the best for my hardware situation? I am ready to purchase something to speed up tweaking this crap.
    With 4 sticks you are stuck at that 4000-4133 range. To get past 4133 with 2 sticks you need to set your primaries to something like 16-16-16- or 16-17-17 etc. The fact you could even boot 4133c15 is a good sign. The Z490 Hero was booting 4800c18(not stable) on two stick so your board should do 4400-4600 stable if set up properly using 2x8 sticks. With the newer 2x16 I see people are getting 4266-4400 on the upper end Asus 4 dim boards.

    There are no good ways to tune memory that I know of in Windows other than Memtweakit and that is only useful for testing some secondary timings. You will need to set your primary's and voltages in the bios as other timings are based off of them and they cannot be changed in Windows(edit I see that you actually can change primaries will in Windows. Main use would be for benchmarks as if you cannot boot with those settings it does not help much). You will see if you try Memtweakit that many cannot be changed in Windows for that reason as other timings are connected to them.

    Memory tweaking is complex and can be very time consuming if you get into 2nd and 3rd timings . Simple version though. The timings that have the most effect. Primarys Ex 16-16-16-36. Then next tRFC and tREFi will have the biggest impacts on performance and latency. The rest can help but are not really worth spending the time tweaking unless it is your passion/hobby as it can takes weeks or more with all the testing to really get things tuned and stable.

    Here is a good guide to get someone started if you haven't seen it.

    https://github.com/integralfx/MemTes...mings-software

    And here is a good thread that you can post settings in and get feedback about what to change or what might help for performance or stability. https://www.overclock.net/threads/of...hread.1569364/

    I guess there is Asus Turbo V you could use to adjust your voltages in Windows. You can get it and Memtweakit here https://community.hwbot.org/topic/19...apex/#comments

    Note see my post on here about the latest Windows update if you want to use Memtweakit. https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...akit-error-fix
    Last edited by bscool; 09-13-2020 at 01:08 AM.

  6. #306
    New ROGer Array KotOr368 PC Specs
    KotOr368 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII APEX
    Processori7-10700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG278QR
    Storage #1Intel SSD 545s
    Storage #2Mx500 2TB + Segate 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s Chroma
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 TG Dark
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins
    Mouse A4tech BLOODY J95
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    OS W10 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by martine-dee View Post
    Meanwhile, can you folks tell me what is that THUNDERBOLTEX 3-TR card (shipped with M12E) used for?

    I've tried googling it, but all sources seem to assume that ones who have it already know what are its concrete applications for a gamer. This must be sounding like a terribly random question to those who know what it is intended for.

    I just take look at M12E home page and if you look at performance tab - memory - maximum capacity they show 4x32GB max 3600MHz and for just 2 sticks 4800+MHz so go figure...

    Lets say THUNDERBOLT is super fast USB. You can buy some USB type-A to type-C dongle and expand your USB ports or you can plug in monitor that support it

  7. #307
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K @ 5.2GHz, NB 4.7 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3733 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti Gaming @ 2.025 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #12x Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #21x WD Blue SSD 1TB, 1x WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Gaming Mouse @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300 @ AE-9
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004, Ubuntu 16.04
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12 fans from TT and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    166

    What are the DP-INs for? It isn't a capture card, right? Also those are INs, not OUTs, so that isn't place to plug in monitors.
    A Quaker here

  8. #308
    New ROGer Array KotOr368 PC Specs
    KotOr368 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII APEX
    Processori7-10700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG278QR
    Storage #1Intel SSD 545s
    Storage #2Mx500 2TB + Segate 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s Chroma
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 TG Dark
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins
    Mouse A4tech BLOODY J95
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    OS W10 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by martine-dee View Post
    What are the DP-INs for? It isn't a capture card, right? Also those are INs, not OUTs, so that isn't place to plug in monitors.
    It is not the same card but i think it will work the same https://www.asus.com/Motherboard-Acc...underboltEX-3/

  9. #309
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Anybody on 0707 notice USB drives no longer work in the BIOS?

    I'm on a M12A, updated to 0707, now the board no longer detects USB drives, cannot load a profile from USB, flash a BIOS, even BIOS flashback doesn't work.

  10. #310
    New ROGer Array KotOr368 PC Specs
    KotOr368 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII APEX
    Processori7-10700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG278QR
    Storage #1Intel SSD 545s
    Storage #2Mx500 2TB + Segate 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s Chroma
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 TG Dark
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins
    Mouse A4tech BLOODY J95
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    OS W10 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by anubis1127 View Post
    Anybody on 0707 notice USB drives no longer work in the BIOS?

    I'm on a M12A, updated to 0707, now the board no longer detects USB drives, cannot load a profile from USB, flash a BIOS, even BIOS flashback doesn't work.
    I have apex too and 0707 and my USB works fine

Page 31 of 55 FirstFirst ... 21 29 30 31 32 33 41 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •