Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Memory code 00 - Memory Test error when power is completely shut off

    However, I'm having a really weird issue. Yesterday was the first power-on test of the system and it jumped into the BIOS just fine. The very first thing I did was flash to the latest BIOS revision (0902), load optimized defaults, and reboot. The reboot also looked good and I was back in the BIOS, so I hit the power switch to shut everything down.

    I did a bit of cable management and booted back up - I should say, I flicked the PSU power switch (not the system power on button, but the actual PSU power switch) and while the RGBs turned on, the OLED screen immediately showed "memory code 00" for a few seconds before switching to say "memory test". The system was unresponsive at that point - the fans and water pump never turned on and as far as I could tell the system was actually powered down with just idle board power, but all I saw was "memory test" and a board that wouldn't even POST. No video output at all, of course.

    I am running 4x 16gb sticks at the moment in slots D1, C1, B1, and A1. I tried reducing the memory to just one stick in D1 - same behavior. As soon as I cut on the PSU power, I saw the OLED display "memory test" and it would refuse to even begin POSTing. I tried each of my four memory sticks and one known good stick pulled from a running PC - same thing. I saw a post on Reddit suggesting removing m.2 drives, which I did, and the system booted up (with 1 stick of the original ram in D1). Weird. I powered off and plugged the other sticks back in. "Memory test" again.

    I had an urge to test something, so I simply unseated the GPU and toggled the PSU power - the error cleared itself! I booted the Windows installer and installed Windows on a RAID array using the m.2_1 and m.2_2 positions on the board. Post-install reboot worked fine and I'm in Windows. I powered off the system via the start menu and as soon as the power clicked off I saw "memory code 00" for a moment before "memory test" came back.

    That's where I am now. Presumably my system works just fine, but any time I actually do a full power-off of the system, the oled displays "memory test" and won't power on. If I unplug the gpu, switch on the PSU (I don't even have to power on the system and begin POSTing, just switching on power at the PSU does it), cut power, plug the GPU back in, and reconnect power, I can boot just fine. I'm in the middle of a memtest86 run and I'm currently waiting on test #10 of pass #1 and I don't have any errors. I'll continue to run memtest to completion and then boot into Windows for a CPU test.

    I spoke with ASUS support and it didn't go well - the chat agent spent a few minutes making sure I had plugged in my memory correctly and then advised that I return the board the Newegg. The replacement is out for delivery tonight so I'm hopeful that it'll be fixed.

    Image of the oled error is attached. Yes I know the memory is in slot D2 in that picture - I was testing the various slots when I took it.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20200527_131415.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	696.1 KB 
ID:	85102

    TL;DR
    This only happens when the system powers off (either via windows shutdown or a power button press when in the BIOS. Once this happens, switching on the system power will only cause the LEDs and OLED screen to light up. The power button is unresponsive. I can unseat my gpu and toggle the power on/off to clear the error.

    I saw that 1003 was just released as well, though the links are pulled from the support site.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array dayjob PC Specs
    dayjob PC Specs
    MotherboardZenith Extreme Alpha II
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 3970X
    Memory (part number)CMW64GX4M4K3600C18
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Titan RTX
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity sTR4
    CaseLian Li O11 Dynamic XL Rog
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Razer Hunstman Elite
    Mouse Razer Mamba Elite
    dayjob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I also encounter random issues on initial boot after powering off and powering back on from the PSU. I typically try and catch the boot and go into bios and hit save settings and reboot (no changes) and then it boots better and will be fine until the next time I turn the PSU off. If I do not catch it in time, then windows will behave very baddly and I just wait until it lets me reboot and then it is fine.

    When I say random issues: I get memory code or sometimes simply every usb device isn't detected and so it stops booting due to no KB found. Again, reboot is fine and as long as I never turn of the PSU then I can power off for days and it will boot the next time fine.

    I am suspecting something to do with the power delivery of the board but haven't played with the power settings to try and find a fix (because it is damn stable other than this issue).

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    New motherboard and ram came in today. Exact same issue - after a hard power off, the system shows memory 00 / memory test on the OLED screen. The only components installed are cpu, ram, 2x m.2 SSDs in ports 1 and 2, and a 2080ti from a working system (that I'm posting on right now).

    I've swapped out the mobo and ram already. I'm trying to RMA my threadripper 3970 with Amazon now and Corsair is working on an RMA for my ax1200i. I tried removing the SSDs entirely just to rule that out and the error persists.

    If it persists past a CPU and PSU swap, I'll have literally built a second computer that still has the same error. What is even going on here?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Nixon View Post
    New motherboard and ram came in today. Exact same issue - after a hard power off, the system shows memory 00 / memory test on the OLED screen. The only components installed are cpu, ram, 2x m.2 SSDs in ports 1 and 2, and a 2080ti from a working system (that I'm posting on right now).

    I've swapped out the mobo and ram already. I'm trying to RMA my threadripper 3970 with Amazon now and Corsair is working on an RMA for my ax1200i. I tried removing the SSDs entirely just to rule that out and the error persists.

    If it persists past a CPU and PSU swap, I'll have literally built a second computer that still has the same error. What is even going on here?
    Did you reseat the CPU and used the (included with Threadripper) torque screwdriver? Strange things can happen when the CPU doesn't have full contact with the pins in the CPU socket.

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by kcdaemon View Post
    Did you reseat the CPU and used the (included with Threadripper) torque screwdriver? Strange things can happen when the CPU doesn't have full contact with the pins in the CPU socket.
    I had to swap the CPU from the old board to the new one, so yep. This is my first AMD platform so I think the socket is really weird, but I slid the threadripper (inside its plastic sleeve) into the middle section of the mounting bracket until it clicked lightly, then I closed the middle part of the bracket and ensured that both of its fins were clicked into place before lowering the top of the bracket. I tightened each of the 3 screws (in the order 1-2-3) first a few turns to get them all threaded and then all the way down until the orange Ryzen screw driver hit its torque stop. Following the advice of the overclock.net thread, I also ensured that the four cooling bracket screws were tightened completely into the backplate using the orange screwdriver.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array FalloutBoy PC Specs
    FalloutBoy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY-T7042H
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD 2950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW64GX4M4C3200C16W
    Graphics Card #1Aorus GTX 1080 Ti Extreme 11Gb
    Sound CardInbuilt
    MonitorViewsonic XG-2703-GS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1 Tb
    Storage #2Raid 6 Array 8 x 4 Tb SAS III on a 9361-8i
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S TR4 Edition with two AF15s
    CaseXigmatek Elysium Super Tower
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider ST-1500
    Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse Razor Chroma Deathadder
    Headset Hyper X Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Playmax
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit 1903
    Network RouterFritzbox 7490

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    108

    Try this

    Remove any memory overclocking and see if this sorts your problem, it did on my Zenith Extreme Alpha.
    I truly believe that there are people on this planet who should voluntarily remove them selves from the gene pool.
    Maximus IV Extreme Z/16G/2600K, Rampage V Extreme Edition 10/32G/6900K, G751JY-T7042H
    Zenith Extreme Alpha/64G/2950x , X399 Prime A/32G/1900X
    Power Mad Mu ha ha ha

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Adding that I'm seeing similar behavior - if the system ever does down for a complete shutdown the motherboard stays stuck on "Memory Test" and won't post or boot. Unplugging the motherboard for a few seconds allows the motherboard to exit this bad state and show the Zenith II Extreme Alpha splash, from which it can boot. The system when booted passes OCCT over a few hours and has been working. Reboots are fine as long as it doesn't hard shut down. I'm at a loss for what the issue could be but it *looks* like a software issue in the BIOS?

    Help or more information would be appreciated.

  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Memory Code 00 - Memory Test

    So I have the exact same issue as Richard, I've had the system built for more than a month, everything was running fine and boom this morning when I booted up its stuck at the codes and symptoms that Richard explained. If I hit the clear cmos, retry buttons, safe boot, same result, Memory 00 followed by Memory Test and just gets stuck there. Unplugging and rebooting same result.

    I will try unplugging the graphics card tomorrow and see what that dowes

    Richard, what did you do to correct this issue? Anyone else?

    Zenith 2 extreme
    AMD Threadripper 3960
    GSkill 4x8 32 mem (on the approved list)
    Phantecs Revolt X 1200 w
    ASUS ROG 2080 TI
    EKWB custom loop

    Thanks for the help!

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Post code 00

    I tried to reinstall cpu, check powersupply, clear cmos nothing worked. The only working solution to fix the 00 post code error was removing the motherboard battery. Its strange clear cmos not working but removing the battery and wait for an half an hour was enough (i guess few minutes was also enough but i had other things to do). Ofcourse my powercable was unplugged to.

    Hope you will find a solution.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Unfortunately I do not have a fix for this issue yet, just have been working around this issue for the time being by not letting it enter low power states. I'll be adding a custom loop soon, so I'll probably test and see if it still is borked at that time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •