Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3600 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Razer Viper 8k @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12+ fans from TT and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    185

    The X299-e gaming stuck in the 00 state after 3006 Update

    Hi all,

    For some time, I was experiencing intermittent issues related to restarts from Ubuntu 16.04, which would cause either long loading times, or the mobo to get stuck in the state 00 until powered down and started again. More about that here: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ot-Loops/page2

    Yesterday, I updated BIOS to the 3006 version. And, oh momma, that brought new troubles. The new MO is as this:

    - If I power down the PC, and start it immediately, everything will be stable.
    - If I power down the PC, and let it cool down, starting it will result in the mobo getting stuck in the 00 state. Cure: hold the power button until the box powers off, then start it again. That works fine.

    This is worse than my issues before, as they were only tied to Ubuntu. Now I have this new worry as well.

    I am very much interested in rolling back this BIOS update, but if I give this mobo an older BIOS, it will refuse to update and tell me that I gave it an older BIOS than the current one. Is there a way to do it?

    Else, is there a setting to fix this in 3006?

    Thanks for any tips!
    Last edited by martine-dee; 06-15-2020 at 10:10 AM.
    A Quaker here

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME BIOS 3501 MOD
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE 2.60GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL 3.2 GHz 16-16-18-36 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG ODESSEY G9 NEO 49 Firmware 1005.1
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB x 3
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 11 Insider Preview 22483.1011
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    92
    Posts
    738

    Checking cooling system and reseat CPU first. Sound not good. I smell RMA folk.
    Windows 11 22H2 Build 22483.1011 Core i9 7980XE 02006COA MCU 2021-06-16 R6E 3501 MODDED BIOS TPM 2.0 Enabled VROC 7.6.0.1023 + RST 18.31.1.5256 ME FW 11.12.86.1877 DV 2124.100.0.1096 64GB DDR4 3200 XMP POSEIDON 1080i GTX NVIDIA Driver 510.31 WHQL 3TB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS OMS Driver 18.36.3.1019 WHQL i219 V OROM 0.1.00 BA 0.1.16 12.19.1.37 WHQL AQC 107N FW 3.1.121 AQC 3.1.3.0 WHQL Realtek HD 6.0.9238.1 WHQL SAMSUNG ODYSSEY G9 49 NEO FW 1006 VESA HDR 2000 DP

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3600 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Razer Viper 8k @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12+ fans from TT and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    185

    Okay, here is the update.

    I've tried a lot of things. The mobo consistently gets stuck in the 00 state when it is turned off for a few hours and then started, unless the RAM is at 2133 MHz.
    To check if this is a QVL issue, I got myself an F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR set, from 'Intel Core X-Series CPU 6-core above DRAM QVL', 2017/06/29. It didn't do any good, save for a small performance gain over 3200 MHz from CMK32GX4M4A3200C16 (non-QVL).

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	deleteme.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	28.6 KB 
ID:	85528

    I want to revert BIOS, but that is a different pain. The 3006 seems to be refusing anything older, with a "Selected file is not a proper BIOS!", which is bs. I am trying to downgrade it the very same way I upgraded it!

    The current workaround is to always set ram to 2133 MHz before powering down, and that makes the stuff stable.

    ---

    Updates July 7:

    Well, today I tried the flashback button, and that worked. The BIOS was set to 2002. Well, that shows the same issue.

    Moved the bios to 1902. Initially, it was pain to boot up, as it was also getting stuck at 00. Will test for a cold start at RAM 3600 MHz.
    Last edited by martine-dee; 07-07-2020 at 09:26 AM.
    A Quaker here

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME BIOS 3501 MOD
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE 2.60GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL 3.2 GHz 16-16-18-36 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG ODESSEY G9 NEO 49 Firmware 1005.1
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB x 3
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 11 Insider Preview 22483.1011
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    92
    Posts
    738

    Could you enable XMP Profile for those memory kit ?

    Trying these step

    1. Enter BIOS then hit F5 Load Optimized Default
    2. Select overclock profile from " AUTO " to " XMP "
    3. Hit F10 Save Setting and Exit
    Windows 11 22H2 Build 22483.1011 Core i9 7980XE 02006COA MCU 2021-06-16 R6E 3501 MODDED BIOS TPM 2.0 Enabled VROC 7.6.0.1023 + RST 18.31.1.5256 ME FW 11.12.86.1877 DV 2124.100.0.1096 64GB DDR4 3200 XMP POSEIDON 1080i GTX NVIDIA Driver 510.31 WHQL 3TB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS OMS Driver 18.36.3.1019 WHQL i219 V OROM 0.1.00 BA 0.1.16 12.19.1.37 WHQL AQC 107N FW 3.1.121 AQC 3.1.3.0 WHQL Realtek HD 6.0.9238.1 WHQL SAMSUNG ODYSSEY G9 49 NEO FW 1006 VESA HDR 2000 DP

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3600 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Razer Viper 8k @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12+ fans from TT and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    185

    Quote Originally Posted by restsugavan View Post
    Could you enable XMP Profile for those memory kit ?

    Trying these step

    1. Enter BIOS then hit F5 Load Optimized Default
    2. Select overclock profile from " AUTO " to " XMP "
    3. Hit F10 Save Setting and Exit
    Yeah, tried all that already (normally). And other things, such as hit F7, then pick the XMP profile off that list, or enter settings manually. That is how I OC the RAM in the first place.

    I will return the F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR (already packaged), and invest the money in a new rig at some point. My mobo is past returning date, got it in September 2017.
    Last edited by martine-dee; 07-08-2020 at 10:46 AM.
    A Quaker here

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Code 00

    sadly.. I just went through this.. seemed the BIOS got corrupt and it effects both bios. I had to read the board. I tried absolutely everything! Sometimes it would boot when I plugged or unplugged fan headers..

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4000C15Q-32GTZR @ 3600 MHz CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift 360Hz PG259QN
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2WD Red HDD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum
    CaseTT View 91 Tempered Glass RGB Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Razer Viper 8k @ 3200 dpi
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit 2004
    Accessory #1 Logitech Streamcam Webcam
    Accessory #2 Rode NT1-A Mic
    Accessory #3 Just about 12+ fans from TT and Noctua
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    185

    Quote Originally Posted by Jae30001 View Post
    sadly.. I just went through this.. seemed the BIOS got corrupt and it effects both bios. I had to read the board. I tried absolutely everything! Sometimes it would boot when I plugged or unplugged fan headers..
    All is fine, as long as I do cold boot-ups at 2133 MHz ram frequency.

    Therefore, I assume that the mobo isn't able to remember something in between, which indicates possibility of a dead or damaged capacitor.

    That is consistent with how the whole line of those threads started. I had a 12 V power cable ill-placed into my new AE-9, and the system went through a series of shocks.

    PC reboots frequently when AE-9 is in
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...hen-AE-9-is-in

    Reboots and SATA drives not detected when AE-9 is in
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...hen-AE-9-is-in

    The PC often gets stuck in reboot Loops
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...n-reboot-Loops

    Also, by getting the same results with a QVL ram kit (F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR), I confirmed effectively that this is not some QVL mambo-jambo.
    A Quaker here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •