Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    G751JT Upgrade Help

    I have a ROG G751JT-DH72 with the stock 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD, and 1TB HDD. I want to upgrade all of those but Asus tech support tells me only the RAM can be upgraded (to 32GB). They say larger SSD/HDD aren't supported. No offense - but I'm not sure I believe them as 'tech support' was likely a call center with an operator following a script. Sooooo - anyone have experience upgrading this laptop to more storage capacity? Unfortunately, I can't find any 9.5mm HDD over 1TB unless I drop down to 5400rpm, which isn't an option.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by anonymousroguser View Post
    I have a ROG G751JT-DH72 with the stock 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD, and 1TB HDD. I want to upgrade all of those but Asus tech support tells me only the RAM can be upgraded (to 32GB). They say larger SSD/HDD aren't supported. No offense - but I'm not sure I believe them as 'tech support' was likely a call center with an operator following a script. Sooooo - anyone have experience upgrading this laptop to more storage capacity? Unfortunately, I can't find any 9.5mm HDD over 1TB unless I drop down to 5400rpm, which isn't an option.
    Tbh you don't need 32gb of ram unless your doing heavy video editing and as far as hard drive goes just upgrade the ssd to a 1tb ssd and leave the other drive alone.

  3. #3
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,706

    Are you sure the existing 1TB drive is 7200 RPM? Those are exceedingly rare and I can confirm that you're unlikely to find one over 1TB. That said, depending on what you are doing with it there are other options. I've been using a piece of software called PrimoCache to accelerate a 2TB 5400RPM drive with a portion of my system SSD and it has worked pretty well. My heaviest usage is games and I generally play one game for a while. So once the cache contains whatever game I'm playing it's plenty snappy.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Yes. Positive it's 7200rpm. I opened the case and looked at the HDD label. I do a lot of video editing so I need both capacity and speed. The SSHD drives that are 9.5mm (or less) and 2TB and only 5400rpm.

  5. #5
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,706

    I've looked for larger 7200RPM drives and haven't had any luck either. If you can't afford a larger SSD you could consider a USB external drive enclosure. USB 3 is actually pretty fast when fed by fast devices.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    What about Asus tech support saying the G751JT doesn't support SSD drives over 256GB? I can afford a 2TB SSD (about $230). That's a huge jump from 256GB. A very affordable upgrade - if supported.

  7. #7
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,706

    My guess is they are relying on factory configurations for that number. The largest drive *they* configure is 256. There's no reason a larger drive shouldn't work.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    That was my thought. 'Tech support' reading from a script showing what options that computer could be purchased with. They aren't aware of anything beyond their limited training materials. I'll try a larger SSD. Worse thing that'll happen is I won't see the full capacity and I'll have to return the new drive.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,173

    Quote Originally Posted by anonymousroguser View Post
    What about Asus tech support saying the G751JT doesn't support SSD drives over 256GB? I can afford a 2TB SSD (about $230). That's a huge jump from 256GB. A very affordable upgrade - if supported.
    Why don't you just get rid of the 1TB hard drive and drop in a Samsung 960 evo 2.5 format they will fit and are available up to 4TB. I use these for OS drives at 512GB and I am still using a Samsung 850 Pro 2.5 format 1 TB that I first had in my G75 and is still running in my G752 as a storage drive Since 2012 I have been using this drive its actually guaranteed for 10 years the newer 960 evo's are guaranteed for 5 years and it looks like the 2 TB is in your price range. the link has them 256gb through 4TB there all 7mm thick so you'll have no issues with them fitting. and say good bye to Spinners inside your notebook forever.
    These SSD will run at about 5x what you hard drive was the 960 I'm using bench out at 500 Gbs Read and 500 Gbs Write great for Regen drawing or producing video. You could set up a 4 TB or 2 TB for storage and still have aa TB left for a scratch disk. I don't remember about the G751 it seem the m.2 SSD is only SATA so probably not any of much faster than the 960 in 2.5 format
    Last edited by Clintlgm; 06-24-2020 at 09:35 PM.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I'm going to replace the 256GB SSD with a 2TB SSD and leave the 1TB HDD for local archiving.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •