Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: RAM slot issues

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array tehmaddoctor PC Specs
    tehmaddoctor PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 C12 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix-R9390-DC3OC-8GD5-GAMING
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo cooler
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    RAM slot issues

    System specs:

    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Asus ROG Maximus VIII Hero Gaming Mainboard
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo cooler
    Asus Strix-R9390-DC3OC-8GD5-GAMING
    Intel 520 Series 120GB
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
    Samsung 970 EVO 2TB
    Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 C12 2x8GB

    I've had this machine for 4 years with the exception of the EVO which I got 2 months ago. 2 days ago the system refused to boot giving code 55.
    I removed one of the dimms and got the same. Used the second dimm on slot A1 and got the same problem.
    I used the first black slot (B1) instead and the system went on constant reboots. After 6 reboots I stopped.

    The other two slots A2 and B2 work fine. The system boots and shows 16 GB of RAM, but I don't have dual channel, so I'd like to fix the other two slots, or at least one of them.

    Removed ALL drives, all usb devices, replaced the cooler and CPU (twice), disabled all onboard devices, Asmedia USB 3.0, Intel LAN, Realtec Audio, nothing worked, same code 55 on A1, same constant reboots on B1.

    I cleared CMOS, removed the battery, nothing seems to be working.

    Side note: when I use A2+B2 the system takes a very long time to reach the Asus logo, the code are changing constantly (stays on code 72 for a long time) and the LED next to the CPU power cable is white. After that the LED is orange, the code gets to 99 and the Asus Logo appears. It takes 10 seconds after that to boot into Windows. Maybe this is related?

    With A2+B2 (with the exception of RAM speed) the system works perfectly, so I'm not sure what other issues are there.

    Forum turned my post into gibberish when I clicked save...
    Last edited by tehmaddoctor; 06-19-2020 at 07:32 AM. Reason: thread saved in gibberish?

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    726

    Replace the BIOS battery with name brand one. CR2032
    Last edited by RedSector73; 06-19-2020 at 07:44 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array tehmaddoctor PC Specs
    tehmaddoctor PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 C12 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix-R9390-DC3OC-8GD5-GAMING
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo cooler
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    New battery, same issue I'm afraid. Any other ideas?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    726

    Hi, sorry to hear the battery didn't fix, sometimes when stuff starts happening apparently for no reason this is the fix. Which is why I thought it is worth a shot, and they are not expensive to try first.


    The new evo, is it m2 device or an sdd ?


    Qcode 55 is Memory not installed.
    There is suggested advice here http://www.asusqcodes.com/index.php?inputCode=55 about how to fix.

    Hope you find this of help.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 06-21-2020 at 01:30 AM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array tehmaddoctor PC Specs
    tehmaddoctor PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 C12 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix-R9390-DC3OC-8GD5-GAMING
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo cooler
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Hi, sorry to hear the battery didn't fix, sometimes when stuff starts happening apparently for no reason this is the fix. Which is why I thought it is worth a shot, and they are not expensive to try first.


    The new evo, is it m2 device or an sdd ?


    Qcode 55 is Memory not installed.
    There is suggested advice here http://www.asusqcodes.com/index.php?inputCode=55 about how to fix.

    Hope you find this of help.
    The new evo is m.2

    Unfortunately I already tried booting without any drive connected and no luck. Now to make sure the cooler wasn't the issue I tried booting without having the cooler attached at all, only barely placed on top of the CPU, without using the screws. It didn't boot either, still getting code 55

    I'm really at a loss here and don't know what to do anymore

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G752VL-DH71
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Extreme
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    MonitorSAMSUNG S22D300HY (2 ea)
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK PE 360 (Top), PE 240 (Front), and Xres 100 Elite
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard Cerberus
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro 2004
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 ROG Aura Terminal
    Accessory #2 ROG 10GB Express
    Accessory #3 Corsair ML140 (4 ea), Corsair ML120 (3 ea)

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    214

    don't know what to do anymore

    On my VIII Gene, VIII Formula, and VIII Extreme Assembly I found out the best BIOS was 2202 with an I7-6700K. Any other BIOS above 2202 randomly give Q-Code 55 out of nowhere after working so well. I am using a different memory than yours though. I am using G-Skill f4-3600C17Q-16GVK memory.

    On my IX Extreme G-Skill f4-3600C17Q-16GVK is on the ASUS QVL and I have an I7-7700K installed with the latest Bios 1301. Moreover, it works, but I get a random Q-Code 55 like you. However, G-Skill does not list the G-Skill f4-3600C17Q-16GVK memory as being compatible with the IX Extreme. Therefore, I brought the G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB memory and never encounter a Q-Code 55 on the IX Extreme since.

    For me G-Skill f4-3600C17Q-16GVK memory will not work on the IX Apex (not on ASUS QVL or G-Skill QVL, Q-Code 55), but G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB memory does (well one or two sticks, max. is two).

    So, try BIOS 2202, I hope it works for you as it did for me. Something went wrong when ASUS tried to make the Z170 into a Z270 or tried to make a Z270 into a Z170. I could be wrong!

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array tehmaddoctor PC Specs
    tehmaddoctor PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 C12 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix-R9390-DC3OC-8GD5-GAMING
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo cooler
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Sorry for the late reply. I updated the bios to the latest version but still the same problem exist, now I think the problem is with the motherboard, a hardware issue. What I find the most surprising is that benchmarks and gaming isn't affected much (only due to lower memory bandwidth), the PC works fine, it's only boot times that are insane high

    My "Bios Time" reported in task manager is 37 seconds on average

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    726

    Can you download HWinfo https://www.hwinfo.com/download/
    and check on the summary page the circled in red is green / not grey <--both being green is typically the fastest settings for Nvme.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	temp6.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	282.8 KB 
ID:	85427

    If only one or none are green then follow this ->
    Enter BIOS
    find CSM as it maybe Enabled - If enabled, Disable it and reboot.
    Enter BIOS
    You will see under boot priority that windows boot manager now lists your NVME drive / boot drive or already does.
    Click on secure boot and set it to Windows UEFI mode.
    Click on key management and install default secure boot keys.
    Reboot
    log into windows and recheck, should have both in green now.


    If both are green then try this ->
    run as admin [powershell] (type into search bar, when you see it pop up, right click on it and run as admin)

    sfc /scannow

    wait till complete
    now run (still in powershell)

    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

    wait till complete

    if either found and fix integrity errors or corruptions, reboot and then repeat both steps in powershell again. This fixes anything damaged in windows 10 install, critical to it working correctly. This may also help improve boot speed issue. if you get caught in loop greater than twice of fixing integrity errors or corruptions it indicates a big issue with windows 10 and time for reset or fresh install.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 06-29-2020 at 10:55 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G752VL-DH71
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Extreme
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB
    Graphics Card #1ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    Graphics Card #2ROG GTX 980 MATRIX-GTX980-P-4GD5 Bykski Water N-AS98ROG-X Full Cover
    MonitorSAMSUNG S22D300HY (2 ea)
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK PE 360 (Top), PE 240 (Front), and Xres 100 Elite
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard Cerberus
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro 2004
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 ROG Aura Terminal
    Accessory #2 ROG 10GB Express
    Accessory #3 Corsair ML140 (4 ea), Corsair ML120 (3 ea)

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    214

    updated the bios to the latest version but still the same problem exist

    With any BIOS above 2202 with an I7-6700K on my ASUS VIII Z170 motherboards, I also noticed an increase of BIOS boot time of approximately 13 to 23 seconds, which is about the BIOS time you are getting.

    With BIOS 2202 on VIII Formula:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Works.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	5.2 KB 
ID:	85428
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Works 1.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	2.4 KB 
ID:	85429
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Works 2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	7.1 KB 
ID:	85430

    Lied to me, It took 23 seconds from pressing the power button, but Event ID states Total Time approximately 12 seconds.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	total time.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	28.9 KB 
ID:	85431

    Anyway, with any BIOS above 2202 with an I7-6700K on my VIII motherboards, I noticed an increase of BIOS boot time of approximately 15 to 23 seconds too, but I never get a random Q-code 55 out of nowhere with BIOS 2202.

    However, if you want to increase your memory bandwidth with the latest BIOs you might want/have to upgrade to an I7-7700K.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BIOS 2202 for 6700K.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	28.2 KB 
ID:	85432
    Last edited by pndiode; 06-29-2020 at 04:08 PM.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array tehmaddoctor PC Specs
    tehmaddoctor PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 C12 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix-R9390-DC3OC-8GD5-GAMING
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo cooler
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Now we are getting somewhere.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TM3.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	118.2 KB 
ID:	85441

    Both settings aren't green, will check CSM and Windows Secure Boot now.

    My BIOS time from task manager:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TM1.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	19.9 KB 
ID:	85439

    I also got this message when I run hardware info:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TM2.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	39.8 KB 
ID:	85440

    I noticed that when I go into the monitoring tab in BIOS it lags horribly, same when using AI Suite to monitor fan speeds, the entire program becomes unresponsive. Is it possible to disable ASUS EC? Maybe it's the one causing the boot slowdowns?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •