Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 100
  1. #51
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    An update.

    Hey all,

    So I RMA'd my board back, with CPU & RAM so the vendor could test and determine the cause of the fault (3-4 weeks later).

    They tested and advise the issue was with the RAM. They send the same Z490-I board back with cpu and a new set of replacement RAM.

    Within 5 mins of testing the new RAM the random reboots occurred while XMP was enabled.

    So I decided to test and isolate further and here are my results:

    Issue with motherboard/memory controller. Specifically when using XMP in dual channel configuration.

    Test results below:

    Test 1: RAM Kit (64gb) in Dual Channel with XMP off.
    - Performed x5 AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark.
    - Result = No failures and completed all 5 benchmarks.

    Test 2: RAM Kit (64gb) in Dual Channel with XMP @3200 enabled.
    - Performed x5 AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark.
    - Results = Failed every benchmark and caused the pc to restart at random points of the benchmark.

    Test 3: 1st memory stick (32gb) placed in Single Channel on Primary DIMM Slot with XMP @3200 enabled.
    - Performed x5 AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark.
    - Result = No failures and completed all 5 benchmarks.

    Test 4: 1st memory stick (32gb) placed in Single Channel on Secondary DIMM Slot with XMP @3200 enabled.
    - Performed x5 AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark.
    - Result = No failures and completed all 5 benchmarks.

    Test 5: 2nd memory stick (32gb) placed in Single Channel on Primary DIMM Slot with XMP @3200 enabled.
    - Performed x5 AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark.
    - Result = No failures and completed all 5 benchmarks.

    Test 6: 2nd memory stick (32gb) placed in Single Channel on Secondary Dimm Slot with XMP @3200 enabled.
    - Performed x5 AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark.
    Result = No failures and completed all 5 benchmarks.

    Based on the above result it looks like it is a problem with the motherboard memory controller running XMP in dual channel configuration as the fault does not occur in single channel isolate for each memory stick on each dimm slot.

    I also did System Stability Testing in AIDA64 with the above test scenarios and the results were the same.

    The Cache & Memory Benchmark shows immediate validation of the fault when running the RAM Kit (64gb) in Dual Channel with XMP @3200 enabled.

    I have spoke again to the supplier and they have asked for all 3 components to be sent back again for further testing. They have advised the issue is still RAM and the RAM not being on QVL. They have also advised that 2x32GB kits are relativity new and there are many compatibility issues with them. They are going to test with different 2x32gb kits on QVL and see what works. I have my doubts on this and I suspect they will get the same issue regardless of kit as it does appear to be a memory controller/dual channel issue with XMP on from the above test results.

    Out of interest RAM kit I'm using is Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB (2x32GB) 3200MHz CL16 DDR4 (CMK64GX4M2E3200C16) for anyone that wants to know.

    Looks like I'm without a computer again for another 3-4 weeks.
    Last edited by Inzaghi; 08-10-2020 at 04:45 AM.

  2. #52
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Inzaghi View Post
    Hey all,

    So I RMA'd my board back, with CPU & RAM so the vendor could test and determine the cause of the fault (3-4 weeks later)........

    ........I have spoke again to the supplier and they have asked for all 3 components to be sent back again for further testing. They have advised the issue is still RAM and the RAM not being on QVL. They have also advised that 2x32GB kits are relativity new and there are many compatibility issues with them. They are going to test with different 2x32gb kits on QVL and see what works. I have my doubts on this and I suspect they will get the same issue regardless of kit as it does appear to be a memory controller/dual channel issue with XMP on from the above test results.

    Out of interest RAM kit I'm using is Corsair Vengeance LPX 64GB (2x32GB) 3200MHz CL16 DDR4 (CMK64GX4M2E3200C16) for anyone that wants to know.

    Looks like I'm without a computer again for another 3-4 weeks.
    i have exact same results as you, currently im running 1 side of my DIMM slot from 2x16gb 4000
    the computer store i bought it from (Canada Computers) have had it in 3 times and fisrt 2 times they also said it was ram and sold me different ram (no exchanges or refunds on ram) so now i have 3 different kits of 2 x 16 gb ram collecting dust..

    i cant afford to be without my computer for a day, let alone a month...
    im kinda screwed unless i go with a gigabit itx board

  3. #53
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Angry

    It seem that Asus abandon z490i or intel 10 gen board, they don't have enough memory test before launch to the market. ROG Z490-i QVL is a joke, I compared it with ROG X570i QVL, it have much more ram listed, for example, G.skill 3600, Z490i have only 4 listed, but x570i have over 40 ram listed......

    Still waiting for the next BIOS non-beta update, if next update cannot solve the issue, I will change to other brand.....and I suggested this to everyone who have the same issue.

  4. #54
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by MecherKane View Post
    It seem that Asus abandon z490i or intel 10 gen board, they don't have enough memory test before launch to the market. ROG Z490-i QVL is a joke, I compared it with ROG X570i QVL, it have much more ram listed, for example, G.skill 3600, Z490i have only 4 listed, but x570i have over 40 ram listed......

    Still waiting for the next BIOS non-beta update, if next update cannot solve the issue, I will change to other brand.....and I suggested this to everyone who have the same issue.
    QVL ram is not the problem, all 3 ram sets i have are listed on Z490-i QVL.. and all three do not work
    Bios has not been updated in over 2 months...

    im thinking its not high priorety for ASUS or they dont have manpower to properly address this, tyhis also may be due to COVID issues
    eventually i have no doubt it will be fixed, just not for a long while, and i can no longer afford to wait.

    im going to be moving toward the gigabit 10th gen ITX board.. anyone have any other suggestions?

  5. #55
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Sarum View Post
    QVL ram is not the problem, all 3 ram sets i have are listed on Z490-i QVL.. and all three do not work
    Bios has not been updated in over 2 months...

    im thinking its not high priorety for ASUS or they dont have manpower to properly address this, tyhis also may be due to COVID issues
    eventually i have no doubt it will be fixed, just not for a long while, and i can no longer afford to wait.

    im going to be moving toward the gigabit 10th gen ITX board.. anyone have any other suggestions?
    I also think it not related to QVL, but I only have Ram out of QVL, so what I can say is they don't have enough test before launch...

    I read almost all thread about asus z490i xmp issue on the internet, still not sure its the bios issue or the broad have fault, many of them tested their memory can run high frequency when plug only one slot and pass the stress test, but fail at dual slot, and there still not information come from ASUS since the Ram issue was posted a month ago

    M and G brand both have 10 layer pcb and 8 phrase, I prefer M brand as it bios seem more promising but it don't RGB

  6. #56
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Bump.

    Can we please get a response to this ASUS?

    Is it a physical fault with the board?

    Best case scenario a can there be a BIOS update to fix this?

  7. #57
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Inzaghi View Post
    Can we please get a response to this ASUS?

    Is it a physical fault with the board?

    Best case scenario a can there be a BIOS update to fix this?
    Second to that.

    I want to hear what Asus is and will be doing about this problem.

  8. #58
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    110

    If Asus has the manpower to make these boards, then they should be able to support them. These pieces of garbage were manufactured this year.

  9. #59
    ROG Enthusiast Array EXILE157 PC Specs
    EXILE157 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z490-G Wi-Fi
    Processori9-10900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 64GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
    Sound CardCorsair ST100
    MonitorSharp Quattron
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Evo Series 1TB
    CPU CoolerNzxt Kraken Z63
    CaseLian Li PC-011 (Black)
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core
    Headset Razer Nari Ultimate
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM800 RGB
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    EXILE157's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Can anyone here help with my situation?.. I've no luck trying to find a post about the (ROG Strix Z490-G)

    I've had nothing but issues from the start with this board and manage to make it work after hours upon hours for 2 days!...

    Now here's my situation : I have 64GB of Corsair Vengeance RGB, but For some odd reason DIMM Slot 1 is not allowing me to run the PC, I get that Yellow indicator on the board "Memory Issue" at first I thought it was the memory stick gone bad, but this only happens when I set it on (Slot 1) ??.. I have switched the memories around and its the same problem on (DIMM Slot 1) ? - I'm not even running XMP.

    - I run 1 Stick on Slot 2 - No problem.
    - I run 2 Sticks on Slot 2,4 - No problem.
    - I run 3 Sticks on Slot 2,3 and 4 - No problem.
    - Slot 1 is the problem...

    I cant even update to the latest BIOS v0607 I went through the again the ridiculous steps:
    ROG STRIX Z490-G GAMING BIOS 0607
    "1.Improve system performance and stability 2.Improve compatibility with the Intel H10 Optane Module 3.Enhance AI Cooling mechanism
    Before running the USB BIOS Flashback tool, please rename the BIOS file (SZ490G.CAP) using BIOSRenamer."

    I run the "BIOSRenamer" I see (SZ490G.CAP) so I copy the CAP file into the root (USB FAT32) go into BIOS - Tool - "EZ Flash 3" I get a message saying SZ490G.CAP is not the proper BIOS?????...So then I go the old way at the back of the Board hit the Flash Button hold it for 3 seconds and nothing happens??... No LED indicator, because it's not doing anything...


    I believe I have to RMA this board, but with this COVID-19 and Asus low staff that's like on the extreme level! It won't be a smooth transaction, I could be waiting for 2-3 weeks up to a Month for RMA - That's why I'm here on the forum looking for answer before taking action.
    Last edited by EXILE157; 08-16-2020 at 11:43 PM.
    *Lian Li PC-011D (Black) *i9-10900K *ROG Strix Z490-G *Nzxt Kraken Z63/Corsair QL Series *Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 64GB (4x16GB) DDR4 *Corsair HX1200i *EVGA GeForce GTX 3080 Ultra FTW3 *Samsung 970 Evo M.2 1TB *Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB *Samsung 840 Evo Series 1TB SSD *Asus ROG Swift PG43UQ *Corsair K70 RGB *Corsair Dark Core *Corsair Gaming MM800 *Corsair ST100 *Razer Nari Ultimate.

  10. #60
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Hey I would get the 704 bios from: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...sus-Z490-stuff

    In the past I found it easiest to copy the extracted file to a USB then use the EZ flash utility in the BIOS to select the 704 bios off the USB.

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •