Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 100
  1. #71
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by chew** View Post
    There's 2 ways to quickly identify if you have the problem one much quicker than the other. Run blender benchmark with scene victor. It will crash in warmup/loading scene.

    The even quicker way is to install XTU run avx 512 for most of the time 5 mins is enough and more often than not it will hardlock in less than 20 seconds.

    2x16bg will aggravate this problem more. 2x8gb will alleviate the problem to an extent as ii could prime stable i could aida i could hci memtest I could game but i couldn't XTU avx 512 for 5 minutes or blender victor scene and pass ever. I've held out hopes that it was all bios but as the reports trickled in that people rma'd board or bought multiples then finally 3 boards later there problems magically disappeared and or used another brand and no more problems and since i've verified it was not my memory or just a bad cpu or bad imc in my cpu i'm really just leaning towards there are some faulty boards causing everyone these problems.

    Vccio/vccsa alleviated but did not make the problem go away it just bought me maybe 5-10 minutes runtime in XTU sometimes. Setting tfaw to 16 in my testing seems to really magnify the problem and any decent set of samsung Bdie memory can do 16 TFAW just fine so it's not the memory causing this issue.

    Higher speed memory also makes the problem worse. I tested 3600 3400 3200 2933 and lower. The only time I ever could pass was defaults loaded.

    The same 2x16gb memory/cpu can do 4000 16-16-16 in another brand ITX board HCI stable, Prime stable, aida64 stable, tm5 anta777@extreme stable and XTU stable so that rules out the bad memory or weak IMC possibility.

    The vccio/vccsa in all vendors boards is overkill. For like 2x16gb 3600 memory you should really only need 1.15 SA 1.10 IO and then it scales up from there so like 3800 memory 1.20 SA 1.15 IO and 4000 1.25 SA and 1.20 IO you can probably start with similar scaling with 2x8gb but i would try 1.10 SA 1.05 IO for 3600 and scale up from there as 2x8gb should require less.
    Yesterday, I left my PC open for 6-7 hours. I used it for couple of things for an hour in total. It was mostly idle. Eventually, I didn't get any hard freeze with VCCIO and SA voltages set to 1.1V using bios 0707.

    Today, I ran victor benchmark in Blender using CPU and GPU like you said and it completed it in 14m50s and 44m46s respectively. I also ran AVX2 CPU stress test (couldnt see 512) for a 15 min and didn't get any hard freeze either.

    I could run any other tests if you like but I think it would hard freeze several times already if these voltage settings didn't work. Can anyone test and confirm?

    I also would like to hear what ASUS respresentatives think about this if they're checking this thread at all...

    Edit: I might have spoke too early...
    Last edited by umdogan; 09-08-2020 at 08:40 PM.

  2. #72
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    That's the performance I get now with XMP after the 0704 and 0707 bios. Something like once a week now my PC will have a restart overnight, but no hard freeze during a stress test like I used to get within 5-10s. I've also been playing games and using memory intensive apps (CAD tools, Chrome lol) without any regular crashes.

    I haven't seen any of the ASUS staff post here since Shamino was posting beta builds a month ago.

  3. #73
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    It's possible those random crashes after having system open for hours etc might be related to sleep/wake from sleep and or leaving cpu to do its thing and power saving features on. You can try shutting all that stuff off and if it no longer crashes it could be related to that.

    Also make sure you have the latest update for all the ethernet drivers. Those were causing random hardware errors for some users.

    The hardlock in avx xtu and blender victor scene prevented me from even bothering or even worrying about any other potential issues.

    Maybe I should try my board again. I did send asus a video of the hardlock so maybe they finally fixxed it. video showed defaults loaded then load xmp boot run xtu crash in 5 secs.

    None of the betas or 0607 solved my problem however. I'm fairly certain 0704 I was experiencing the same issue i just have not tested 0707 public.

    Here's a video of what I was experiencing and what I sent to ASUS. https://streamable.com/cn51cj
    Last edited by chew**; 09-09-2020 at 12:31 AM.

  4. #74
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by chew** View Post
    It's possible those random crashes after having system open for hours etc might be related to sleep/wake from sleep and or leaving cpu to do its thing and power saving features on. You can try shutting all that stuff off and if it no longer crashes it could be related to that.

    Also make sure you have the latest update for all the ethernet drivers. Those were causing random hardware errors for some users.

    The hardlock in avx xtu and blender victor scene prevented me from even bothering or even worrying about any other potential issues.

    Maybe I should try my board again. I did send asus a video of the hardlock so maybe they finally fixxed it. video showed defaults loaded then load xmp boot run xtu crash in 5 secs.

    None of the betas or 0607 solved my problem however. I'm fairly certain 0704 I was experiencing the same issue i just have not tested 0707 public.

    Here's a video of what I was experiencing and what I sent to ASUS. https://streamable.com/cn51cj
    I have the same situation as you, thanks for all the testing to clarify the situation. I tested 0707, it can run xtu 10 secs ........

    I also waiting ASUS reply to this, then I RMA it again.

  5. #75
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I doubt the people that matter even read these forums. I used to be a MOD here but I was just an extreme over clocker on team rog. I helped people tune there rigs but just referred them to support if they had a problem like we are having that and i could confirm it was just not "bad settings"

    Only person that might be able to guide someone to get more out of there system here is shamino if he has the time which is doubtful.

    I forgot my password so I just added another * to my name and made a new account but I'm no longer team rog and really no longer an extreme ocer. More like semi retired ocer

    A working properly board you should not have to change anything in bios. Load defaults Run XMP turn MCE off and it should pass what i did in video. You shouldn't have to do anything else or tune SA/IO. but If it passes then i'd turn them down

    If it doesn't run a quick memtest. If that passes its more than likely the board. I suspect that there Sa/Io phase got a batch of faulty something in that circuit.
    Last edited by chew**; 09-09-2020 at 07:49 AM.

  6. #76
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    My SN also XXXXXX-XXXXX-MB13A0-A13 0403, same issue same revision, thanks for sharing. And congratulations on getting rid of this problem.
    Finally, I can go to RMA, can't believe people form ASUS keep silent to this.....
    Last edited by MecherKane; 09-11-2020 at 12:51 AM.

  7. #77
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Glad I tested another vendor board to verify this. Blaming the cpus imc was plausible but I had my doubts and when I swapped to a different vendors board my doubts were confirmed.

    I can confirm my boards also an A13

  8. #78
    New ROGer Array KotOr368 PC Specs
    KotOr368 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII APEX
    Processori7-10700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG278QR
    Storage #1Intel SSD 545s
    Storage #2Mx500 2TB + Segate 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s Chroma
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 TG Dark
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins
    Mouse A4tech BLOODY J95
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    OS W10 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    66

    I wonder if that revision A14 is intel i225-v B3 revision, or if asus just applied the firmware right from factory. Because i did update my from day one ( on apex ) and never had problem with disconnect

  9. #79
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Angry Unsuccessful rma -

    Hey all, I'm the OP of this thread.Â*

    I finally decided to pull the trigger and RMA the board last month. Just got around to installing it and testing it again, and I got THE EXACT SAME ISSUES. No stability with dual channel and XMP enabled.Â*
    I'm pretty sure they did nothing and just sent my original board right back to me...

    ASUS, you guys are causing me the biggest headache of my life. Please replace this piece of sh*t motherboard with a working one. You wasted a month of my time.


    Please help me out. I want to like this board, I can tell it's a good board if it were to work. But I want my full ram speed.

    Â*Â*

  10. #80
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    I've been mailing Asus support for weeks now about freezes but this process couldn't be more unhelpful. I've sent the link of this thread multiple times but they're trying to ignore it as much as possible.

    I'm writing for public knowledge from now on

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •