Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 95
  1. #11
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    94
    Posts
    707

    the current MCE status readsback enabled or disabled? if enabled would manually setting mce to disabled help?

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    For me, MCE was set to Auto. Changed to disabled and still freezing with XMP I or II.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    No idea if it is of any consequence, but since updating to 0703 when the freeze occurs there is a very loud static buzzing sound that wasn't present before.

  4. #14
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    94
    Posts
    707

    are u guys on the igpu by any chance or using discrete graphics?

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Shamino View Post
    are u guys on the igpu by any chance or using discrete graphics?
    I'm using discrete graphics Sapphire Pulse RX 5600 XT to be exact.

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    this exact same this has happening to my build too..
    ive gone through 3 different memory sets before figuring out it was the board.

    when i first put it together with corsair ram, a week ago last friday, i didn't have a video card, and it was doing the boot loop at first, till i took one out, then on tuesday i had a local comp shop where i bought the ram, install the video card (GeForce 2080 TI) they went through a bunch of different ram untill they settled on gskill ripjaw as stable (not on QVL list)
    stable meaning it will not boot loop with two sticks in
    i had already ordered new ram the last week because i thought it was the problem (G-Skill Trident Z) so tried that.. boot loop again.

    the guy from local comp shop phoned me and said he had some thermalake 2666 ram. so i bought that and it worked with XMP on... for 1day.. then started crashing (turning off)
    so i took off XMP and it is now stable no crashing.

    i used onboard intel graphics at fitst (CPU is I9-10900K)
    tried varius setting with Geforce card installed.. was having problems installing drivers for that.. im gussing it was due to MB ram issue

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Does it create a Memory.dump in Windows folder after you force to restart? If so what does it say? BTW you can use Windbg app to open and analyze it.

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by umdogan View Post
    Does it create a Memory.dump in Windows folder after you force to restart? If so what does it say? BTW you can use Windbg app to open and analyze it.
    no, unfortunately.. it just shuts off and restarts (like someone pulled electricity plug)
    then restarts by itself

    ive tried to check the log file but its empty

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I'm using discreet as well, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Super.

  10. #20
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I get the same issue. Posted in another thread but I'll post here too.

    My build is in the Z490-I with a 10900K and 2 x 16GB G.Skill CL16 3600 MHz pair. When running just a single stick, I can run full XMP profile no issues (either XMPI or XMPII in bios). When running both sticks, I get random system crashes, as well as crashes instantly trigger via the handbrake test in realbench as well as Intel Extreme Tuning Utility stress test.

    I had previously seen this with the same build and a 10700 CPU, and just managed to get my hands on the 10900K to upgrade and find the same issues. I found with the 10700 at least I could load XMP profile and then reduce clock speed down to 2400 MHz with the 0607 bios, and something like 2933 on the 0703 bios. Since I was getting crashes again with XMP profile on the new CPU, I just let it run at stock for now until ASUS gets a handle on this... really hoping it's just a bios fix. I saw those crashes on the 10900K running it totally stock before I played around with any OC...

    The real interesting part is that I don't see the crashes when just doing a simple memtest via memtest HCI, memtest64, memtest86. Only in the simultaneously CPU intensive tests, but crashes go away if RAM speed is reduced.

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •