Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Carson Hero VIII PC Specs
    Carson Hero VIII PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII hero WIFI
    Processor3950x
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1RADEON RX 5600 XT MECH OC BV
    MonitorSAMSUNG 24, 27
    Storage #1MP600 NVME PCIE GEN4 X4
    Storage #2WD 4TB + WD 2TB
    CPU CoolerLIQMAX III ARGB 360
    CasePC-011 DYNAMIC RAZER
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 GOLD
    Keyboard K350
    Mouse M510
    OS WIN 10 PRO 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Issue: fails post.

    all new hardware, mobo, cpu, gpu, ssd, ram
    Crosshair Hero VIII WIFI
    AMD 3950x
    SSD: MP600 NVME PCIE GEN4 X4
    GPU: RADEON RX 5600 XT MECH OC BV
    RAM:PN: F4-3600C16D-32GTZN
    CPU COOLING: AIO, LIQMAX III ARGB 360
    CASE: PC-011 DYNAMIC RAZER

    Fails post: everything lights up, fan's run gpu fans run, lighting's on, Q-code streaming codes so fast you cant read them, AIO running... The Q-code LED's DRAM, CPU, GPU each light up and go out, then the fans slow WAY down for about 5 seconds then the whole process starts over again. The Q-code LED "BOOT" has never come on. The CPU led comes on red, then goes out. There is no video, usb, keyboard I/O or power to them.

    I have never seen video activity of any kind, thus I have never seen the BIOS screen or accessed the bios.

    I have a flash drive with a power indicater light...the light has never come on during the post failure routines, indicating USB ports have never been powered on.

    I have read several reports with this mobo regarding this same issue. Most all report having to adjust bios settings to get past failing post's... IF you cant get to the bios, how are the settings being changed? Oddly nobody mentions how they acheived access to the bios.

    Note: I purchased another NEW power supply and changed the PS and all cables... no joy

    I removed all non essential mobo connections... no joy
    I removed the GPU... no joy

    To date I have not been able to access bios or install the OS.

    Two months in lockdown.... ordering part after part after part... building my dream system...days of reasearching tons of specs, months to get everything delivered, days to unpack read-up on everything, learn a new case in's and out's.... assemble, more assemble....finally POWER ON!!!!!
    NO JOY!!!!! Nada, nothing, zip, zilch, zero, nuttn.

    30 years in the semicinductor undustry, you'd think I'd be used to this level of failure.... NOPE!!!! Not when it's all coming out of my bank account. I expected a little more satisfaction whe I pushed the power switch for the first time.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    699

    Make sure you have placed the Ram in slots 2 & 4 (A2 & B2) from the CPU.

    edit:
    The reason you are POST cycling and then reboots is failure of the motherboard to train the memory. This is most likely cuased from the above issue (you are using slots 1 & 3 which if you have come recently from Intel system is easy to do). If still fails place just one stick in A2 (slot 4 from cpu) and try to post, fails try the other stick and see if you can get post.

    If you get stuck on a qcode than post that as it can help us help you.
    If it continues to POST cycle than you might want to look at are you using custom backing plate (backwards) or maybe overtightened the AIO to the CPU.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	temp4.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	142.7 KB 
ID:	85502
    Last edited by RedSector73; 07-04-2020 at 10:15 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,684

    [QUOTE=C
    Fails post: everything lights up, fan's run gpu fans run, lighting's on, Q-code streaming codes so fast you cant read them, AIO running... The Q-code LED's DRAM, CPU, GPU each light up and go out, then the fans slow WAY down for about 5 seconds then the whole process starts over again. The Q-code LED "BOOT" has never come on. The CPU led comes on red, then goes out. There is no video, usb, keyboard I/O or power to them.

    I have never seen video activity of any kind, thus I have never seen the BIOS screen or accessed the bios.

    I have a flash drive with a power indicater light...the light has never come on during the post failure routines, indicating USB ports have never been powered on.

    To date I have not been able to access bios or install the OS.

    [/QUOTE]

    The following tells me you don't fully understand what happens when you power on your system.

    1. Quote: Q-code streaming codes so fast you cant read them, End Quote.
    Yes POST (Power on self test) is fast however you need concern yourself at where it stops and what the read out tells you (this you can find out from your manual)

    2. Quote:The Q-code LED's DRAM, CPU, GPU each light up and go out.End Quote.
    If the Qcode led goes out then there is a fault with the Motherboard. If POST is successful then it will hand over to the operating system if installed,resulting in a Qcode AC or AA.

    3. Other leds will go out if devices are functional

    During the POST cycle your RAM is interrogated and values are set to allow a transition into ACPI mode. A reboot can happen two or three times for a safe set of values to be set (not always the optimal best which should be set in Bios).
    If you are unable to access Bios then try to update your Bios to version 2103 using your rear IO panel and a USB stick in the correct port.
    Bios is normally accessed by spamming the delete key or one of your function keys.

    Start with just one dimm module in the first slot to test then access Bios and set your primary timings and voltage. You can obtain your SPD values from the TOOLS section in Bios. Check that the system boots then add the other modules. Then check for stability. I favour Aida64.

    I always benchtest prior to assy as sometimes there can be a short to the MB from the case. Check all peripheral and cable connections then please report back.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 07-04-2020 at 09:02 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Carson Hero VIII PC Specs
    Carson Hero VIII PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII hero WIFI
    Processor3950x
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1RADEON RX 5600 XT MECH OC BV
    MonitorSAMSUNG 24, 27
    Storage #1MP600 NVME PCIE GEN4 X4
    Storage #2WD 4TB + WD 2TB
    CPU CoolerLIQMAX III ARGB 360
    CasePC-011 DYNAMIC RAZER
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 GOLD
    Keyboard K350
    Mouse M510
    OS WIN 10 PRO 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Greetings, thank you. I have confirmed that ram is in A2 B2

    Quick question, why the constant barrage of "I AM NOT A ROBOT" every 30 seconds?

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Carson Hero VIII PC Specs
    Carson Hero VIII PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII hero WIFI
    Processor3950x
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1RADEON RX 5600 XT MECH OC BV
    MonitorSAMSUNG 24, 27
    Storage #1MP600 NVME PCIE GEN4 X4
    Storage #2WD 4TB + WD 2TB
    CPU CoolerLIQMAX III ARGB 360
    CasePC-011 DYNAMIC RAZER
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 GOLD
    Keyboard K350
    Mouse M510
    OS WIN 10 PRO 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    steep learning curve

    Greetings and thank you for your input... Your assessment is correct, I have much to learn regarding the new technology. I have been overwhelmed with information, not knowing what takes priority. I am going through your recommendations today and will report back.

    Q: is there an amount of time to let the system continue to cycle through post before manual power off ?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair viii hero
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3950x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 64GB 4X16 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    653

    I found that when I first put my system together which I have the crosshair viii hero non-wifi but still the same layout there is no hole in center of the board if your case has a standoff there you should remove it could short something out
    amd ryzen 9 3950x
    CROSSHAIR Viii hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 64gb 4x16 timings 16,18,18,38
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb, 10 tb hdd and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    thermal take view 71 case

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Carson Hero VIII PC Specs
    Carson Hero VIII PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII hero WIFI
    Processor3950x
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1RADEON RX 5600 XT MECH OC BV
    MonitorSAMSUNG 24, 27
    Storage #1MP600 NVME PCIE GEN4 X4
    Storage #2WD 4TB + WD 2TB
    CPU CoolerLIQMAX III ARGB 360
    CasePC-011 DYNAMIC RAZER
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 GOLD
    Keyboard K350
    Mouse M510
    OS WIN 10 PRO 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Update, as luck would have it, I ordered an ssd with a heat sink and a GPU that would not fit into PCI slot one, due to interference with the MOBO cooling covers. So I moved the GPU to PCI slot 2. The GPU would not seat due to the heat sink on the SSD. So I moved the SSD to The other SSD slot and installed the GPU. That was the error that caused the system not to pass POST. The SSD in the #2 slot was throwing the bios into a fit for some reason. During testing of the MOBO I was removing everything one by one and attempting to pass POST. Nothing worked. With the GPU out of the system I put the SSD back in the #1 SSD slot and powered on, the system passed POST. So I modified the the GPU to clear the cooling covers on the MOBO and installed it into PCI slot one. Power on and the bios appeared after a few seconds. I wish I could explain why but I have no clue.

    Thank you all for taking the time to help and offer suggestions and pointers.

  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    My board was a nightmare install. I was hooked to a HDMI and it wouldn't post. We finally put it on DP and it posted. NEVER HAD THIS ISSUE. Now I keep crashing and my current reading in HWM is going as high as 56ampsClick image for larger version. 

Name:	CRH.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	30.9 KB 
ID:	85670

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •