cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Overlocking help - ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME and i9-9900ks

devourment_138
Level 7
Hi Guys,

I am wondering if i am able to have some assistance trying to achieve an overclock on my system please?

Ideally i would like to get a 5.1ghz all core on my CPU and i am no longer able to boot into Windows with XMP enabled. this used to work but i think the issue started happening since i upgraded my BIOS to 1502.

if someone has some time to assist i would really appreciate it, i am quite new to Overclocking and am running into issues and seem to struggle to get things stable.
i am thinking i would like to get my XMP working first and then try achieve the CPU OC?

My parts are below:

Case: Lian Li O11 Dynamic XL (ROG Certified) Aluminium Midi-Tower - Black
Motherboard: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME Motherboard
CPU: Intel Core i9-9900KS Processor
Memory: G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Desktop Memory Model F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR
PSU: Corsair HX 1000i
Hard Drive: Samsung Evo Plus 2TB and 1TB NVME, also two Crucial SSDs for data storage and temp volumes)
Video Card: Currently have a 1080 TI in here from out of my old Rig, i am waiting for the 3080 TI to come out and ill replace with that
Cooling: Corsair Hydro X custom loop (my first water cooled build) Radiator Fans are 3x ML120 and case fans i have 7 LL120 Fans. bottom 3 are set as intake side 3 and rear fan are exhaust. prob would have had the side as 3 intake as well but i didnt want them in reverse because they just dont look as nice lol
13 REPLIES 13

Arne_Saknussemm
Level 40
Just use BIOS flashback method to 1402....1502 has many RAM kit problems...

Hi Arne,

I did a BIOS Flashback and i am now back on Version 1401.

i have done some testing pre and post BIOS change.

BIOS 1502 no OC

Cinebench: 2052
Realbench Max temp: 84 Min temp:36

Downgraded to BIOS 1401

XMP 1: - Crashed when trying to run Cinebench.

XMP2