Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 39
  1. #21
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by celab View Post

    @imacomputer : isnt there in the bios a thunderbolt option ? maybe you have to adjust the pcie lanes to suit your tb device ? i got no exp. with these kind of cards. but arent they only supported by intel chipsets 490/470 ?
    I don't believe that the BIOS setting had any effect on the driver installer. B550-F GAMING WIFI is listed as compatible for the ThunderboltEX 3-TR. Mobo will not take any of their other TB cards due to different header connections.

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array celab PC Specs
    celab PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B550-F Gaming / BIOS 1004
    ProcessorRyzen 3600 @stock speed
    Memory (part number)FlareX - F4-3200C14D-16GFX @Full XMP Timings
    Graphics Card #1Palit GameRock Premium 1080 @stock speed/cooling; 452.06 Drv.
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAcer Predator - XB241H
    Storage #1970EVO/250GB - NVMe driver 3.3
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet - DarkRock 4
    Casefreestyle
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850W Gold
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Expert, 1800dpi/1000Hz - Synapse 2.21
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Medium CONTROL
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser HD 4.20s
    OS Win10 Pro 64bit / 2004 - 19041.488
    Network RouterFibre Optic 300Mbit (sync.)
    celab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    87

    https://youtu.be/-W6n3OEIHjE?t=114

    really nice to see the b550 support for the ThunderboltEX 3-TR. i didnt know till now.
    Orwell was an optimist

  3. #23
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by celab View Post
    https://youtu.be/-W6n3OEIHjE?t=114

    really nice to see the b550 support for the ThunderboltEX 3-TR. i didnt know till now.
    That is the ThunderboltEX 3. It will not work with B550-F GAMING WIFI.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array celab PC Specs
    celab PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B550-F Gaming / BIOS 1004
    ProcessorRyzen 3600 @stock speed
    Memory (part number)FlareX - F4-3200C14D-16GFX @Full XMP Timings
    Graphics Card #1Palit GameRock Premium 1080 @stock speed/cooling; 452.06 Drv.
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAcer Predator - XB241H
    Storage #1970EVO/250GB - NVMe driver 3.3
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet - DarkRock 4
    Casefreestyle
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850W Gold
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Expert, 1800dpi/1000Hz - Synapse 2.21
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Medium CONTROL
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser HD 4.20s
    OS Win10 Pro 64bit / 2004 - 19041.488
    Network RouterFibre Optic 300Mbit (sync.)
    celab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    87

    well yes i was refering more to the bios settings. new bios out for b550-f 1004 after 1002 was pulled, but im not able to download it, 404 - not found
    Orwell was an optimist

  5. #25
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by celab View Post
    well yes i was refering more to the bios settings. new bios out for b550-f 1004 after 1002 was pulled, but im not able to download it, 404 - not found
    Strange, I downloaded as soon as it appeared on the site, then I tried to download it now when I read your comment and the new download is 0.1 MB bigger than the first 1004 I downloaded. Haven't updated yet but I'll guess I take the new one.

    EDIT: My random reboots came back with 1004
    Last edited by CusmaR; 08-19-2020 at 09:35 PM.

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array celab PC Specs
    celab PC Specs
    MotherboardStrix B550-F Gaming / BIOS 1004
    ProcessorRyzen 3600 @stock speed
    Memory (part number)FlareX - F4-3200C14D-16GFX @Full XMP Timings
    Graphics Card #1Palit GameRock Premium 1080 @stock speed/cooling; 452.06 Drv.
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAcer Predator - XB241H
    Storage #1970EVO/250GB - NVMe driver 3.3
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet - DarkRock 4
    Casefreestyle
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850W Gold
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Expert, 1800dpi/1000Hz - Synapse 2.21
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Medium CONTROL
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser HD 4.20s
    OS Win10 Pro 64bit / 2004 - 19041.488
    Network RouterFibre Optic 300Mbit (sync.)
    celab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    87

    got no issues with reboots. maybe a windows thing? only thing i witness is that when is use any mem settings trdwr i think it was, is always one digit different. so on cha 7 and chb 8, or cha 12, chb 13 aso. the only moment i get them even is when i overckock my mem to 3600 with 16/16/16/36/62 1,35V, very strange, but i do not witness any faults so far! did you do a fresh win10 install after upgrading ? die you clear cmos via jumper or bat ? are you on the latest win updates as today there came a new kum patch ? if using m2 how hot is it ? even with the cooler from asus i still get sometimes 53C ?
    Last edited by celab; 09-04-2020 at 11:26 AM.
    Orwell was an optimist

  7. #27
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    WARNING: ASUS has no backup parts for its EOL products. Meaning that if your ASUS product needs a replacement part in the near future, you have to replace the whole unit with their stocked EOL product (You will keep going through this process until you exhausted EOL products) How smart!
    I bought my ROG laptop for around $1.3k and now they ask me to replace this EOL model with $1.7k because they don't have a replacement part but only the model!!!
    Terrible after-sale service is what's stopping ASUS from growing to a giant!
    I'm moving away from ASUS related products!

  8. #28
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by celab View Post
    got no issues with reboots. maybe a windows thing? only thing i witness is that when is use any mem settings trdwr i think it was, is always one digit different. so on cha 7 and chb 8, or cha 12, chb 13 aso. the only moment i get them even is when i overckock my mem to 3600 with 16/16/16/36/62 1,35V, very strange, but i do not witness any faults so far! did you do a fresh win10 install after upgrading ? die you clear cmos via jumper or bat ? are you on the latest win updates as today there came a new kum patch ? if using m2 how hot is it ? even with the cooler from asus i still get sometimes 53C ?
    I'm almost certain that it isn't a windows thing, I had to replace my m.2 with different brand and model and the problems were still there (fresh install of windows also). Even ordered a new pair of RAM sticks and the problem was still present on BIOS 0805, unfortunately I had to return them before 1004 came out.

    I did not reinstall windows when updating to 1004, that's too much of a hassle. But I did clear the cmos jumper. After 45min on 1004 I got a random reboot with WHEA-logger error in event log, I then downgraded back to 1002 and haven't had any problems running DOCP, got a reply from Asus today and he said :

    "As for the BIOS in question that was removed, it may be because the newer has a security fix that or other fix for an issue that was not in 1002.
    So to make sure from our HQ point a view a "unsafe" version isn't on the support page it was removed.
    Do note, that this doesn't mean it's unsafe in itself, just that doesn't meet the standard our HQ was aiming for."

    I think I'm staying @ 1002 until there's a new BIOS update, I've saved the 1002 on multiple places hehe.

    My m.2 temps are about 42C, but it has a custom cooler that came with it. (Corsair MP600)

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Hello,

    here is my setup:

    Asus Strix B550-E received and builkt yesterday with Bios 1004

    Ryzen 7 3700x

    32Gb (2x16) GSkill trident Z 3600mhz Cl16-19-19-39 ( default xmp)

    2 ssds + 1ssd nvme

    GTX 1070

    The problem only occurs when i switch the PSU off and then back on ( power cycle) and then turn on the PC.

    If the PSU was NOT turned off from the previous PC shut down... then the PC will boot and the XMP profile will work flawlessly

    If the PSU was turned off and then back on again the pc will light up but i will get error code "0d" and ram debug led ON.

    The only way to boot is if i clear CMOS. The problem will not occur if i dont load the XMP profile. The Ram i am using is QVL on the Asus motherboard website.

    So i tried with my old Ram ( gskill ripjaws 16Gb(2x8) 3200mhz cl16-18-18-38... and i got the same problem... so the new ram is defintiely not defective....

    i am running out of ideas. i usually turn off the PSU when i leave home for couple of days.... so it will be annoying to reset the bios every time.

    thanks

  10. #30
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    How about another brand of ram? I have no issues with patriot on 1002-1004

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •