Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    ASUS G703 replacement SSD & HDD

    In ASUS G703 Series not possible to replace SSD & HDD with the battery disconnected. Is it safely for notebook and drives?
    Last edited by xZhekill; 07-08-2020 at 02:03 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    397

    Quote Originally Posted by xZhekill View Post
    In ASUS G703 Series not possible to replace SSD & HDD with the battery disconnected. Is it safely for notebook and drives?
    As long as its powered off, it shouldnt be an issue. I pulled all of the components located under the access door at one point while the battery was still connected but in the off state and it was fine.

    As these machines get more compact, it seems the batteries are becoming less and less accessible.
    (ROG has simply become too expensive compared to the competition with same specs... )
    MSI GE75 Raider 10SGS - i7 10750H - RTX 2080 Super - 32GB Ram - 1TB WD NVMe - 2TB 960 EVO - 300Hz 17inch Display
    RETIRED: ALIENWARE R17 R5 - i7 8750H - GTX 1070 @ 1.9Ghz - 16GB DDR4 - NVMe 970 EVO 1TB - SSD 960 EVO 1TB
    SOLD: ASUS G703VI-XH74K, RETIRED: ASUS G752VY-DH72, RETIRED: ASUS G750JH DB71 , RETIRED:ASUS G74Sx DH72

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,154

    Quote Originally Posted by xZhekill View Post
    In ASUS G703 Series not possible to replace SSD & HDD with the battery disconnected. Is it safely for notebook and drives?
    The short answer is yes
    One thing you have to ensure is that your notebook is really shut down. By default windows 10 is set to Hybid shut down which is only a form of sleep. So you should insure that Fast Start up is turned off for acomplete shut down. Here is a great Tutorial on how to turn off fast start up
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •