Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    No luck Trying to add 2 more sicks of 16GB RAM, same type - Formula MB

    My Setup:

    MB - 570 Crosshair Formula Viii
    CPU - Ryzen 9 3950X
    GPU - ASUS STIX 2070 Super
    Memory - G.Skill RGB Trident 2 X 16GB 3600 MHZ - 32GB

    Storage - Primary - M.2 Adata 2TB SSD, Secondary - 500 GB Segate SSD

    I purchased a 32 GB kit, the same kit I had purchased a few weeks earlier. Attempted to add the memory and the system would not post, error message indicated I needed to test CMOS. I tried:

    1. Re-seating the new chips
    2. Powering off, unplugging from ups, waiting some minutes, reconnecting to UPS and powering back on

    Nothing has worked.

    I removed the new memory and system booted up fine.

    Do I need to buy a 54 GB kit with two 32 GB chips to get 64 GB with this board?

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array wyliec2 PC Specs
    wyliec2 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4-3600 (2x16Gb)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte RTX 2070 Super Windforce OC
    MonitorViewSonic VP2768-4K PRO 27" 4K
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 1Tb Gen4 NVMe
    Storage #2Seagate BarraCuda 4TB - x2 RAID 1
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 280mm AIO
    CaseLian Li 205 ATX
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME PX-850 80+ Platinum
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U (Merlin firmware)

    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Memory should be purchased as a kit 2 sticks, 4 sticks, etc.

    Two separate sets of memory even if the same brand and type will not necessarily work together at rated speed....

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array GObonzo PC Specs
    GObonzo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
    Processori7-8700K @5GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
    MonitorMSI Optix MPG341CQRV (34" 3440x1440p)
    Storage #1SSDs: 5.25TB, M.2 NVMe: 512GB
    Storage #2external - HDs: 8TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseFractal Design Vector RS (5x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 140mm High-Speed PWM)
    Power Supplybe quiet! DARK POWER PRO 11 750W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB — CHERRY® MX RGB Brown
    Mouse LG G600, Corsair Vengeance M95
    Headset Corsair Void Surround
    OS Win10 x64 Pro
    GObonzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    before purchasing a replacement kit, i would try testing each DIMM slot individually to ensure it is not a fault with the motherboard.
    maybe also try clearing CMOS before installing both kits together. and make sure you have the latest BIOS update.

    but as wylier2 stated, there is never a guarantee that individually packaged kits will function together even when they are the exact same make/model.
    ASUS Strix ROG Z370-E Gaming | i7-8700K \ ASUS ROG Ryujin 360 | G. Skill Trident Z 3200 CL14 2x 8GB | EVGA FTW3 1080 Ti | be quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750w | M.2 480GB \ SSD: 5.25TB \ HDD: 8TB | Fractal Design Vector RS \ 5x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 140mm High-Speed PWM | MSI Optix MPG341CQRV | Logitech G600 | Corsair K70 LUX RGB | Xbox One S Gamepad | Corsair Void Surround

  4. #4
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,913

    Hello,

    Memory vendors bin memory kits in the density they are sold in. When combining memory kits you are eating into the guardband put in place by the vendor to ensure best chance of compatibility.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •