Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Raid 0 2tb 970 Evos. What am I missing?

    I have an asus maximus xi formula with 2x 2tb 970 evos in raid 0. I never tested them, but just did, and realized they are nowhere near as fast as advertised. Is this due to me running raid 0 with intel RST? If the performance hit is half of what its capable of Im thinking of moving to just 1 970 evo with no raid.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Speed test.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	86.8 KB 
ID:	85559

  2. #2
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,128

    sata or m.2??
    do you have enny of the pcie lanes populated exept for the 1 gpu in first?
    if so the sataports "may" be using of the pcie lanes on the mobo ( read about it in the manual )
    is it onboards raid or software raid?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    sata or m.2??
    do you have enny of the pcie lanes populated exept for the 1 gpu in first?
    if so the sataports "may" be using of the pcie lanes on the mobo ( read about it in the manual )
    is it onboards raid or software raid?
    m.2
    I have one elgato capture card in my very top x1 slot. its almost never being used though

  4. #4
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,128

    take a read in the manual and see what it says.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thanks man but I'm far past that.

    I'm pretty sure its raid 0 and latency issues, any experts on here that are heavily knowledgeable on RAID with M.2s ?

    I know that running raid 0 with 2 m.2 drives lowers performance, I'm just curious if raid 1 does the same thing.
    Last edited by BairdGoW; 07-23-2020 at 05:53 AM. Reason: fliped the raid #s

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    how are those M.2 SSD connected to the CPU?

    Quote Originally Posted by BairdGoW View Post
    I have an asus maximus xi formula with 2x 2tb 970 evos in raid 0. I never tested them, but just did, and realized they are nowhere near as fast as advertised. Is this due to me running raid 0 with intel RST? If the performance hit is half of what its capable of Im thinking of moving to just 1 970 evo with no raid.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Speed test.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	86.8 KB 
ID:	85559
    Heres the question, how are those M.2 SSD connected to the CPU? If it is direct PCI-Express 3.0 4x slots the performance is low, however if they are going through the PCH (They likely are) which is a single PCI-Express 3.0 4x connection which would give bandwidth to USB, SATA, Ethernet, and probably your M.2 SSD's than that's the best you will get.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by yuanyasmine View Post
    Heres the question, how are those M.2 SSD connected to the CPU? If it is direct PCI-Express 3.0 4x slots the performance is low, however if they are going through the PCH (They likely are) which is a single PCI-Express 3.0 4x connection which would give bandwidth to USB, SATA, Ethernet, and probably your M.2 SSD's than that's the best you will get.
    They each have their own dedicated pci express 3.0 4x lane. They are however using onboard Intel Rapid Storage Technology as the RAID host. I am almost positive this is the reason (Latency from Intel RST raid), I am hoping someone who knows better than me to verify I am correct.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximux XI Extreme [BIOS 1602]
    Processori9 9900KS
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB CL17 3600MHz 32GB [4x8]
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX 1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AGON AG271QG 27" 144Hz [165Hz OC]
    Storage #12 X Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD [DIMM.2_1+ DIMM.2_2]
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo SSD 500GB SATA 3
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser CX 100 inner ear headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + Ubuntu Studio 20.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    324

    are the M.2 cards on the DIMM2_1 and DIMM2_2 addon card? or connected to the 2 onboard M.2 slots? If connected to the DIMM.2 addon card make sure to set the UEFI :
    Advanced>Onboard Device Configuration>CPU PCIE Configuration Mode> DIMM.2_1 DIMM.2_2

    Just a thought.
    Last edited by XYchromosone; 07-25-2020 at 09:16 AM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by XYchromosone View Post
    are the M.2 cards on the DIMM2_1 and DIMM2_2 addon card? or connected to the 2 onboard M.2 slots? If connected to the DIMM.2 addon card make sure to set the UEFI :
    Advanced>Onboard Device Configuration>CPU PCIE Configuration Mode> DIMM.2_1 DIMM.2_2

    Just a thought.
    Directly through the onboard slots.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    bump

    bump

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •