Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array xPepi PC Specs
    xPepi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ProBook 450 G3 with Samsung M2 SSD
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus Hero VIII
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte 980ti G1
    MonitorBenq BL3200PT & Benq RL2460H
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 250gb, 840 Evo 500gb
    Storage #2OCZ Agility 120gb, Seagate Barracuda 3TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-d14
    CaseLian Li PC-7HX
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P
    Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset AKG K550, Logitech C910 Camera
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    ASUS AURA doesn't work (tried many different approaches to troubleshoot)

    STRIX x570 gaming-e wifi motherboard with ryzen 3700x and strix 1080ti (anything connected via icue works fine, keyboard, mouse, corsair logo on cpu cooler)

    RGB on motherboard, GPU and 5 phantek fan RGB halos as well as 2 phantek RGB strips all connected in series to the motherboard RGB 12v header.

    I initially got it working, somewhat, but had to open Aura (latest version) each time after reboot, turn off/on lighting, to get it to work.

    After several re-installations, of various versions of Aura, I now get "aura sync doesn't exist" or "please connect compatible device" or "light service not available"...

    When I do get the software to work, it won't read my motherboard, just reads the GPU

    I've tried to delete all related files in all folders prior to re-installing a different version and nothing works.

    I've watched videos, tried various troubleshooting steps, not sure what to do?

    I've tried this and various versions of this approach.

    1.) Uninstall Aura Sync
    2.) Restart your Computer
    3.) Go to Bios, Disable LED on Motherboard
    4.) Restart your computer
    5.) Go to Bios again, Enable LED on motherboard
    6.) Restart your computer
    7.) Install Aura Sync
    8.) Restart Computer
    9.) Open Aura Sync and it’s all Synced again

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array xPepi PC Specs
    xPepi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ProBook 450 G3 with Samsung M2 SSD
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus Hero VIII
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte 980ti G1
    MonitorBenq BL3200PT & Benq RL2460H
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 250gb, 840 Evo 500gb
    Storage #2OCZ Agility 120gb, Seagate Barracuda 3TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-d14
    CaseLian Li PC-7HX
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P
    Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset AKG K550, Logitech C910 Camera
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    This worked for me, though not for for the person (kayone) who posted the solution. I had so many remnants of previous versions installed or still lingering that everything was conflicting with everything else. Once I used revo uninstaller, not only does Aura see all my RGB devices but iCUE now also sees my motherboard in the list. Ultimately, the goal is to use iCUE for everything, once the software developers improve it to be universal.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/ASUS/commen...aura_software/

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array GObonzo PC Specs
    GObonzo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
    Processori7-8700K @5GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
    MonitorMSI Optix MPG341CQRV (34" 3440x1440p)
    Storage #1SSDs: 5.25TB, M.2 NVMe: 512GB
    Storage #2external - HDs: 8TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseFractal Design Vector RS (5x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 140mm High-Speed PWM)
    Power Supplybe quiet! DARK POWER PRO 11 750W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB — CHERRY® MX RGB Brown
    Mouse LG G600, Corsair Vengeance M95
    Headset Corsair Void Surround
    OS Win10 x64 Pro
    GObonzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    my previous issues with Aura software and device detection + my solution that has so far worked out great:

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ge6#post809391
    ASUS Strix ROG Z370-E Gaming | i7-8700K \ ASUS ROG Ryujin 360 | G. Skill Trident Z 3200 CL14 2x 8GB | EVGA FTW3 1080 Ti | be quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750w | M.2 480GB \ SSD: 5.25TB \ HDD: 8TB | Fractal Design Vector RS \ 5x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 140mm High-Speed PWM | MSI Optix MPG341CQRV | Logitech G600 | Corsair K70 LUX RGB | Xbox One S Gamepad | Corsair Void Surround

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array xPepi PC Specs
    xPepi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ProBook 450 G3 with Samsung M2 SSD
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus Hero VIII
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte 980ti G1
    MonitorBenq BL3200PT & Benq RL2460H
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 250gb, 840 Evo 500gb
    Storage #2OCZ Agility 120gb, Seagate Barracuda 3TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-d14
    CaseLian Li PC-7HX
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P
    Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset AKG K550, Logitech C910 Camera
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by GObonzo View Post
    my previous issues with Aura software and device detection + my solution that has so far worked out great:

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ge6#post809391
    Thanks for this post. I don't want to use Armoury and currently everything works fine except one thing.

    When I turn my PC on from full shutdown, as it's booting up, all LED's are working, once it gets into windows all LED's shut off and I have to open AURA, click on/off switch to off, then to on to get the LED's turned on. Yes everything is enabled in BIOS.

    Any ideas what turns the lights off as it loads into windows?

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array GObonzo PC Specs
    GObonzo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-E Gaming
    Processori7-8700K @5GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
    MonitorMSI Optix MPG341CQRV (34" 3440x1440p)
    Storage #1SSDs: 5.25TB, M.2 NVMe: 512GB
    Storage #2external - HDs: 8TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseFractal Design Vector RS (5x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 140mm High-Speed PWM)
    Power Supplybe quiet! DARK POWER PRO 11 750W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB — CHERRY® MX RGB Brown
    Mouse LG G600, Corsair Vengeance M95
    Headset Corsair Void Surround
    OS Win10 x64 Pro
    GObonzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Quote Originally Posted by xPepi View Post
    ...Any ideas what turns the lights off as it loads into windows?

    Thanks.
    the same issues that i mention in the previous linked thread: ASUS software and device identification within Windows. it's just erratic and seems to get worse when there's been multiple uninstall/reinstalls of their software. for some reason ASUS software just overwrites and/or erases it's own data and loses contact with supported devices. sometimes when the system shuts down, sometimes when it boots, sometimes even randomly while in use. there's many threads about it here, on Tom's Hardware, on reddit, all over the web.

    there's been a lot of users posting temporary fixes like what you have been doing with switching ON/OFF, restarting Lighting Service, etc.
    but the only reports i've seen of actually fixing the issue have involved reinstalling the OS, and even then it seems it's not always a permanent fix. luckily for me it has worked for quite some time now without issue.

    the fix i posted should also work with Aura Sync in place of Armoury Crate & Aura Creator. i think the main solution is just that previous Windows' ASUS device data gets erased when performing a new OS install.

    it sucks we cannot determine where that exact data is stored within the OS. erasing everything ASUS from the registry and the disk drive(s) just doesn't seem to be enough, the actual OS has to be overwritten for some reason it seems.
    ASUS Strix ROG Z370-E Gaming | i7-8700K \ ASUS ROG Ryujin 360 | G. Skill Trident Z 3200 CL14 2x 8GB | EVGA FTW3 1080 Ti | be quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750w | M.2 480GB \ SSD: 5.25TB \ HDD: 8TB | Fractal Design Vector RS \ 5x be quiet! Silent Wings 3 140mm High-Speed PWM | MSI Optix MPG341CQRV | Logitech G600 | Corsair K70 LUX RGB | Xbox One S Gamepad | Corsair Void Surround

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array xPepi PC Specs
    xPepi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP ProBook 450 G3 with Samsung M2 SSD
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus Hero VIII
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte 980ti G1
    MonitorBenq BL3200PT & Benq RL2460H
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 250gb, 840 Evo 500gb
    Storage #2OCZ Agility 120gb, Seagate Barracuda 3TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-d14
    CaseLian Li PC-7HX
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P
    Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset AKG K550, Logitech C910 Camera
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by GObonzo View Post
    the same issues that i mention in the previous linked thread: ASUS software and device identification within Windows. it's just erratic and seems to get worse when there's been multiple uninstall/reinstalls of their software. for some reason ASUS software just overwrites and/or erases it's own data and loses contact with supported devices. sometimes when the system shuts down, sometimes when it boots, sometimes even randomly while in use. there's many threads about it here, on Tom's Hardware, on reddit, all over the web.

    there's been a lot of users posting temporary fixes like what you have been doing with switching ON/OFF, restarting Lighting Service, etc.
    but the only reports i've seen of actually fixing the issue have involved reinstalling the OS, and even then it seems it's not always a permanent fix. luckily for me it has worked for quite some time now without issue.

    the fix i posted should also work with Aura Sync in place of Armoury Crate & Aura Creator. i think the main solution is just that previous Windows' ASUS device data gets erased when performing a new OS install.

    it sucks we cannot determine where that exact data is stored within the OS. erasing everything ASUS from the registry and the disk drive(s) just doesn't seem to be enough, the actual OS has to be overwritten for some reason it seems.

    iCUE turns the lights off if iCUE recognizes your motherboard. I posted about this in a separate thread. How to make ASUS AURA work guide. You have to delete the plugin folder in iCUE for the motherboard, problem solved. Lights stay on.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •