Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by Jesseinsf View Post
    Sadly the answer is no (for now). The only option in this situation is creating a virtual machine, which is better than having to buy two separate PCs. In a virtual machine, you can completely hide any host hard drive as if it were turned off in the BIOS. You do this by not enabling the functionality. Hope this helps for now.

    The virtual machine software called Hyper-V is built in to Windows 10 Pro and needs to be enabled if you want to use it. And of course, you need a copy of Windows.
    How is that gonna help, for example if you want to install Ubuntu dual boot, you have to disable every other disk. Or in case online-banking useless. I heard other reasons too, there is a lot of technical reasons, why this is actually needed. So i read posts ranging from 2013, that you can't disable it, is like wtf... Anyway, i posted more to raise awareness, than anything, even i doubt it is gonna do anything...

    I wouldn't buy actually asus mobo again, because of this...

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorSamsung 32" UH750 QLED UHD Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerLian Li Galahad 360 (3x Uni fan SL120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula V2 Mousepad
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore w/ Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 7 Uni Fan SL120 fans for PC case
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    295

    The answer is NO. A few other people asked this before. They also want to be able to install independent operating systems on two drives (Not dual boot), However, they also want to disable each drive so that the other OS can't see the other drive.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII Hero
    ProcessorIntel 10700k @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black and 6TB IronWolf Pro HDD
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub, Bose QC-15
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    526

    Quote Originally Posted by empleat View Post
    How is that gonna help, for example if you want to install Ubuntu dual boot, you have to disable every other disk. Or in case online-banking useless. I heard other reasons too, there is a lot of technical reasons, why this is actually needed. So i read posts ranging from 2013, that you can't disable it, is like wtf... Anyway, i posted more to raise awareness, than anything, even i doubt it is gonna do anything...

    I wouldn't buy actually asus mobo again, because of this...
    What other Motherboard manufacturer supports this in BIOS?

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array Board Monkey PC Specs
    Board Monkey PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix x570-E Gaming
    ProcessorAMD 5950X
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C15Q-64GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1SVGA GEFORCE RTX 270 Super
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro
    CaseCooler Master HAF XB EVO

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    What other Motherboard manufacturer supports this in BIOS?
    The Lenovo P620 w/ ThreadRipper Pro allows disabling NVMe drives. I have a P620 and use the feature to switch between two different NVMe drives.

    Disabling individual NVMe drives allows completely hiding an NVMe drive from the operating system, without the added complexity or overhead of a virtual machine. You get the full bandwidth of the PCIe drive.

    I'm sympathetic to the OP. Responses range from informative to trolling.

    I'm troubleshooting an installation with slow performance on the P620. I installed a second NVMe drive with a clean OS and verified the performance issue did not occur with a clean install. Opening the case and removing an NVMe drive takes time and the thermal tape on the NVMe heatsink always has a choice of sticking to the drive or the heatsink when removing it.

    Figuring out where the performance issue lies on the Lenovo P620 was a piece of cake, thanks to this feature. Now I'm trying to do the same thing with a ROG Strix X570-E Gaming motherboard.
    Last edited by Board Monkey; 02-02-2021 at 05:25 PM. Reason: Corrected formatting codes, grammatical change

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorSamsung 32" UH750 QLED UHD Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerLian Li Galahad 360 (3x Uni fan SL120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula V2 Mousepad
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore w/ Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 7 Uni Fan SL120 fans for PC case
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    295

    Quote Originally Posted by Board Monkey View Post
    The Lenovo P620 w/ ThreadRipper Pro allows disabling NVMe drives. I have a P620 and use the feature to switch between two different NVMe drives.

    Disabling individual NVMe drives allows completely hiding an NVMe drive from the operating system, without the added complexity or overhead of a virtual machine. You get the full bandwidth of the PCIe drive.

    I'm sympathetic to the OP. Responses range from informative to trolling.

    I'm troubleshooting an installation with slow performance on the P620. I installed a second NVMe drive with a clean OS and verified the performance issue did not occur with a clean install. Opening the case and removing an NVMe drive takes time and the thermal tape on the NVMe heatsink always has a choice of sticking to the drive or the heatsink when removing it.

    Figuring out where the performance issue lies on the Lenovo P620 was a piece of cake, thanks to this feature. Now I'm trying to do the same thing with a ROG Strix X570-E Gaming motherboard.
    There you go, you get what you pay for. Spend $1000s and you'll get your wish.

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    What other Motherboard manufacturer supports this in BIOS?
    Irrelevant... Even if everyone jumped across cliff, would that be reason for you too?!

    What if you want to isolate 2 systems? There are many reasons you need to disable all disks... And with NVME it is not like you can yank a SATA cable... But ASUS doesn't care about their customers... It is so stupid and annoying you can't disable this... You would need literally 5 computers for everything...
    Last edited by empleat; 02-17-2021 at 01:25 PM.

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Asus Noobs

    So many lame noobs questioning the OP about why does he want to disable NVME.
    This has so many real life uses that it is useless to ask WHY does HE WANT. The question is why asus did not implement YET!
    Since all my IBM-XT computers, then IBM AT 286, 386...
    It is a feature so old on bios as the hard disks, since this is the first time in history that you can not disable a drive!!!!

    Maybe he does want to save the disk power hours on usage?
    Maybe he does care about privacy and does not want the operational system to have access to that?
    If you have veracrypt in one of 2 windows 10 installs, for example, it does break the second one.
    Maybe he just wants to physically isolate one system from another?

    It does not matter his reasons, to turn off a disk in bios is a MUST HAVE feature, and it is unheard-of imbeciles saying he does not have to, because THEY do not have use for this function.

    What is this person problem???
    "You may want to explain exactly what you are trying to do.. "

    HE SAID HE WANTS TO DISABLE A NVME DISK IN BIOS LIKE ANYONE ALWAYS COULD DISABLE ANY HARD DISK IN BIOS IN ALL HOME COMPUTER HISTORY!!!!
    It is not acceptable this function is not present in BIOS, and i would like an answer from Asus, if it is possible or physically impossible due to some noob engineer.

    I also had a lot of trouble with a dual boot, the encrypted windows sees the unencrypted, in the end some bad practice of microsoft changes something in the encrypted boot and breaks everything, and you can not use any boot fix tool, because they do not have an option to put a password and unencrypt disk.

    If someone with a 2 digits iq does not understand something so simple, do not post in public. People that have 1 disk for OS and another for data and use computer to play LOL should not even comment here.

    And people that come here to be a leftist militant, talking about elitism should be banned from the forum.
    This place is not your political forum, kid.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •