Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Help with my G skill F4-3600C18Q

    Hello everyone,

    Hope everyone is doing well and safe.

    I need some help with these RAM.

    https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-64gb-...82E16820232869

    This build was my first ever so when it booted up the first time and ran butter smooth, I was quite happy.

    I use this machine to do 3D work and GPU rendering in Cinema 4D and Houdini, I play bannerlord II sometimes but that's about it. So, 90% of the time, this machine is for work, not games.

    One day I was checking task manager and saw that my memory was running 2133, I started googling and found out that I have to use DOCP thing on my motherboard.

    So I go into bios and turn on DOCP and change to 3600 and FLK to 1800 and everything else in AUTO, it booted into Windows but in like 5 minutes, it had to restart because windows detected something. Hmm..so I google a little more and use DRAM checker thing and manually typed in timing according to that checker.

    Then it won't even post, I had to clear CMOS to take the BIOS to where it was before, and being the first time builder, that experience was quite horrible lol

    Honestly, I don't care if it runs at 2133 because it's pretty damn fast already but I'd still like to get what I paid for or...would I even benefit from my RAM running at 3600 if I'm not a gamer?

    The error code I was getting was first F9 and when I did restart, it was 22. I left the machine on for quite some time with error code 22 but nothing happened other than black sceen.

    I don't know if it matters but this is what I have in my machine.

    3900X
    2080TI
    2 x Samsung m.2 drives(1TB each)
    1 SSD(2TB)
    750 Evga PSU
    ASUS Rog strix x-570e gaming BIOS 1407 at the time overclocking the RAM.

    If anyone has identical set up, would you please let me know how to set my RAM up?

    I realize how lengthy this post is lol Sorry!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array skellattarr PC Specs
    skellattarr PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair viii hero
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3950x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 64GB 4X16 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1rog strix gtx 1080
    Sound Cardcreative sound blaster ae-5
    Monitoracer 28inch 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/Mushkin Reactor 1tb ssd
    Storage #23x 3tb hhd/segate 10TB drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i
    CaseThermaltake veiw 71 case
    Power Supplycorsair 1200w
    Keyboard Corsair k95 rgb
    Mouse corsair m65 pro rgb
    Mouse Pad corsair mm800 rgb polaris
    Headset/Speakers logitech 5.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    skellattarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    662

    the link on the memory didn't work so I don't know which ones you got but most of the time if the ram did not say compatible with AMD that means it is for Intel and you would have a problem with it. make sure when you buy memory it says compatible with AMD.
    amd ryzen 9 3950x
    CROSSHAIR Viii hero
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i
    G.SKILL Trident Z 3200mhz 64gb 4x16 timings 16,18,18,38
    asus rog strix gtx 1080
    TOSHIBA 3TB hdd 3x a total of 9tb, 10 tb hdd and a 1tb mushkin ssd
    corsair axi 1200i 1200 watt psu
    thermal take view 71 case

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array SaLSouL PC Specs
    SaLSouL PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Extreme
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700x
    Memory (part number)trident RGB CL16 3200mhz 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming 6GB GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardAstro A50 Wireless
    MonitorPhillips BDM4037U 40" 4k UHD Monitor
    Storage #1samsung 850 pro raid 0
    Storage #2WD Black 1tb Raid 0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCoolermaster Cosmos 2
    Power SupplyCorsair ax 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar RGB Pro
    Headset Astro A50 Gaming Wireless
    Mouse Pad corsair massive
    OS Win 10 x64 pro
    Network RouterAsus AC-3200
    SaLSouL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    236


  4. #4
    New ROGer Array bluestang PC Specs
    bluestang PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (2 kits)
    Graphics Card #1MSI Armor OC 1660ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI Armor OC 1660ti
    MonitorASUS VZ249H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe
    Storage #22x WD Red 10TB (RAID1)
    CPU CoolerFractal Design Celcius S36
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe TG
    Power SupplySeaSonic Focus Plus Platinum 850W
    Keyboard Logitech MK-710 Combo
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    You may need to bump RAM Voltage up to 1.36 or 1.37 from the "stock" 1.35 that DOCP loads. Auto settings for everything else RAM wise are fine and DOCP timings should be fine since you're just trying to run the stock 3600 timings.

    Also, make sure BOOT Voltage for RAM (can't remember exact name, but it is diffferent than just RAM Voltage setting) is set to like 1.4 as sometimes they need a bit extra to boot up with proper timings for the board to get it right.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array XIIIIX PC Specs
    XIIIIX PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Formula
    Processor3900X
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3000C14Q-32GTZ 1T@3733 16-16-16-36-60
    Graphics Card #1GTX2080Ti
    Sound CardX7 LE
    MonitorBig enough
    Storage #1SAMSUNG MZVKW512
    Storage #2SAMSUNG MZVKW1T0
    CPU CoolerH110
    CaseLevel 10
    Power SupplySeasonic 1050 Platinum
    Keyboard K70 Mk.2 SE
    Mouse M65 Elite SE
    Headset AKG
    Mouse Pad Rog big one
    Headset/Speakers Harman GLASS
    OS W10
    Network RouterRT-AX88U

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Had the mobo before, with a lot of MEM-OC problems.
    B-Die 4x 16 only reaching 3200 C15-16-16-15-36.
    Switched to the Formula, and could go up to 3600 C16 without to much fiddling.
    Hynix 4x 16gB with C16-19-19-19-36 1T makes it to 3666 without any problem
    or voltage bumps. VDDG manual to 0,95 and VDDP to 0,9 is all.

    Good luck finding the sweet spot,

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    For some reason, it was difficult to get back onto this forum. Had to keep logging on
    Anyways I haven't dealt with it yet out of fear lol but I got this Dram checker thing and I guess those are the numbers I need to type in manually.
    But do I type every single numbers or the first 4-5 numbers that are timing?
    And apparently I have Hynix...and don't know what that means either lol

    Thanks everyone for replies!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula 2701 beta
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900XT
    Memory (part number)4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire RX 5700 XT
    MonitorLG 34GK950F
    Storage #1Samsung 980PRO nVme 512Gb
    Storage #2ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseLian Li 011D XL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech G903 + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro
    Accessory #2 10xCorsair QL120 RGB fan

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    136

    Quote Originally Posted by joonsetsfire View Post
    For some reason, it was difficult to get back onto this forum. Had to keep logging on
    Anyways I haven't dealt with it yet out of fear lol but I got this Dram checker thing and I guess those are the numbers I need to type in manually.
    But do I type every single numbers or the first 4-5 numbers that are timing?
    And apparently I have Hynix...and don't know what that means either lol

    Thanks everyone for replies!
    Type in all the values from calculator... usually they are a little bit conservative but it's better to have a stable configuration.
    Also consider that a 64Gb config nees usually more relaxed speeds/timings... I have 32Gb (4x8Gb) and managed to get it to 3600 CAS 14, not sure it's as easy with 4x16Gb.

    Baio
    Last edited by Baio73; 07-17-2020 at 05:29 AM.
    CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 3900XT COOLER Corsair H150i Pro RGB MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula RAM 4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY LG 34GK950GF AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 970PRO NVVe 512Gb - ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb NPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array XIIIIX PC Specs
    XIIIIX PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Formula
    Processor3900X
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3000C14Q-32GTZ 1T@3733 16-16-16-36-60
    Graphics Card #1GTX2080Ti
    Sound CardX7 LE
    MonitorBig enough
    Storage #1SAMSUNG MZVKW512
    Storage #2SAMSUNG MZVKW1T0
    CPU CoolerH110
    CaseLevel 10
    Power SupplySeasonic 1050 Platinum
    Keyboard K70 Mk.2 SE
    Mouse M65 Elite SE
    Headset AKG
    Mouse Pad Rog big one
    Headset/Speakers Harman GLASS
    OS W10
    Network RouterRT-AX88U

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by joonsetsfire View Post
    For some reason, it was difficult to get back onto this forum. Had to keep logging on
    Anyways I haven't dealt with it yet out of fear lol but I got this Dram checker thing and I guess those are the numbers I need to type in manually.
    But do I type every single numbers or the first 4-5 numbers that are timing?
    And apparently I have Hynix...and don't know what that means either lol

    Thanks everyone for replies!
    Gor you`re 4x 16Gb Hynix, first manually set you`re volts.
    Soc to 1,05
    VDDG CCD 0,95
    VDDG IOD 0,95
    cLDO VDDP 0,90

    Mem settings:
    Power down - Disabled
    Gear Down - Disabled
    CMD - 1T

    Manual MEM-speed @ 3200 and write down you`re timings.
    Save it to one of you`re memory profiles, and start working from there.
    Starting suggestion -

    tCL - 16
    trcdw 19
    trcdrd 19
    trp 19
    tras 39 - Dont go below 36 as it requered CLearCMOS for me
    trc 86 - Dont go below 68 as it requered CLearCMOS for me
    trfc 643 - Dont go below 562 as it requered CLearCMOS for me

    Above should give you a nice starting point :-)
    DRAM-calc helped a lot, but some of the suggested timings where to tight for my setup.

    Again: Good luck

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thanks!

    I was able to run it stable at 3200 at 16-19-19-39
    Not sure how much the new RAM setting has to do with but all the benchmarks have been upped by 10% ish!
    I think 3600 is asking too much at this point and I’m pretty satisfied with 3200.

    Thanks again!
    *
    **
    Last edited by joonsetsfire; 07-18-2020 at 10:12 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •