Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: PC wont boot

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array ptruongy787 PC Specs
    ptruongy787 PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Crosshair VIII Hero (Wifi)
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN R5 3600
    Memory (part number)Team T-Force 3200mhz (2x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-RTX2070S-08G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC CQ32G1
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO NVME M.2 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860QVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerRog Ryujin 240 OLED
    CaseAntec DP501
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech G915 Wireless (Tactile)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Wireless
    Mouse Pad Logitech G240
    Headset/Speakers Razer Leviathan 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    PC wont boot

    Was running bios ver 1302 for the Crosshair VIII Wifi board without any issues for ages. I tried to update to the latest 2103 bios but had issues booting with 3800mhz and 1900 UCLK. I then flashbacked to 1302 and the only things I done were, pressed F5 for optimal settings, changed ram to 3800mhz, UCLK to 1900 and upped DRAM voltage to 1.38v. It boots fine after that, but after shutting down and rebooting it boots to bios safe mode. Have to press F1 and do all those changes as stated above for it to boot into windows. What can be causing this?

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    767

    Are you using a saved profile to boot from rather than manually reentering it ?

    Are you using DOCP or just selecting 3800 and expecting it work everything out ?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	asus-x470-board-645x484.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	46.6 KB 
ID:	85665
    Last edited by RedSector73; 07-19-2020 at 05:17 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array ptruongy787 PC Specs
    ptruongy787 PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Crosshair VIII Hero (Wifi)
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN R5 3600
    Memory (part number)Team T-Force 3200mhz (2x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-RTX2070S-08G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC CQ32G1
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO NVME M.2 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860QVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerRog Ryujin 240 OLED
    CaseAntec DP501
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech G915 Wireless (Tactile)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Wireless
    Mouse Pad Logitech G240
    Headset/Speakers Razer Leviathan 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    No, I am not using a saved profile to load. I am choosing DOCP and then manually choosing 3800mhz and 1900 fabric.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    767

    Quote Originally Posted by ptruongy787 View Post
    No, I am not using a saved profile to load. I am choosing DOCP and then manually choosing 3800mhz and 1900 fabric.
    Manually selecting 3800 overrides DOCP. What speed is the DOCP setting(s) actually for ?


    This maybe your best shot - Ryzen Dram Calculator
    https://www.techpowerup.com/download...am-calculator/

    There are two methods of using it.
    The first uses presets, they are like saves of what works for any manufacture/die at set speed. These are like a collection of what is known to work in other peoples systems but it may result in BSOD however they have been improved in 1.7.3, having A0 Bin, A3 Bin and Bad Bin presets now and safe/fast options. It still requires you to enter the correct details.


    The second method is using the calculator after exporting a file from Thaiphoon Burner, this far more accurate and not seen cause BSOD in any of my systems but YMMV.

    (1) Open Thaiphoon, click Report button
    (2) Scroll all the way to the bottom of the report screen
    (3) Click 'Show delays in nanoseconds'

    (4) Export, Complete HTML Report, Save

    In Ryzen Dram Calculator, find 'DRAM PCB Revision' and select manual then
    Click Import XMP button in DRAM Calculator 1.7.3

    Navigate to your saved HTML Report, import it.

    If you select details correctly, then you select speed rating desired for your RAM (3200-3800 is the typical working range) Ryzen DRAM Calculator should then be able to calculate safe and/or fast presets for your specific RAM.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	temp5.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	319.0 KB 
ID:	85666

    The settings given will not be the same as the presets given in the first method unless your RAM specifically matches that preset.
    Anyway overclock always has risk it won't work but I hope this helps explain how to use the Ryzen DRAM Calculator methods available within it and hoperfull this resolves your issue and give you stable RAM.

    Hope you find this of help.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 07-19-2020 at 09:57 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •