cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Max XII Extreme - Does the Thunderbolt take PCIe lanes

martine-dee
Level 12
Hi,

I come here with a MAX XII question. I realize those are Max X/XI forums, but I haven't found a better match for Max XII atm. 😕

So, I am new to Maximus, and new to Thunderbolt. In reviews, I saw that the Max XII Extreme comes with a Thunderbolt 3 card. Well, cute, I never used it, probably never will have the need, but since it is there and boosts up the price tag so much, I wonder how it would work.

Particularly, I would like to keep the x16 for the card, and the PCIe pins on Thunderbolt card look to me like using it would mean the x8/x8 mobo mode. [ The manual ] is not explicit about this, thus it is probably generally known.

So... is there a way to utilize this included Thunderbolt 3 card while keeping the video card at x16?

Thanks!
Keep exploring, keep innovating, keep creating
5 REPLIES 5

Jesseinsf
Level 10
It uses the Z370/Z390/Z490 chipset, so it will not affect your graphics card at all. Here is the issue though. The Z370/Z390/Z490 chipset does have 24 PCIe internal lanes. But it can only communicate and send data to and from the CPU/Memory at PCIe 4X speeds. If you have a Samsung 970 pro and a Thunderbolt card then you are already bottlenecking the heck out of the chipset's bandwidth to the CPU/Memory (especially if you are connecting a display to the Thunderbolt card). This will negatively affect all other data peripherals like WiFi, LAN, Sata drives and many things connected to the USB ports

A note from the Specifications page:

*1 PCIEx4 slot shares bandwidth with SATA6G_56 and PCIEx4 slot is default set at x2 mode. Please adjust BIOS settings to enable Thunderbolt card.

martine-dee
Level 12
Thanks! I've caught up a bit later with the Z490 architecture.

A cool thing about this x4 slot is that I can use it for my AE-9, which only needs one PCIe lane. Then the graphics card can remain at x16.