Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Formatting 970 EVO Plus on G752VS - Dynamic or MBR?

    Hey guys,

    I bought and installed a 2TB 970 EVO Plus earlier, and I knew to expect it not to show up on reboot immediately, but I had a question about the exact correct method to format this drive. I'm only using this as a storage drive at the moment. I'm not putting Win10 on it or anything.

    When I right click on it in Disk Management (it's labeled as Disk 1 and 1863GB and does say online) it gives me two options:

    1. Convert to Dynamic Disk
    2. Convert to MBR Disk

    Do I choose dynamic disk as the choice? Does it matter that my other two drives seem to be formatted previously as MBR on this laptop? It seems to indicate when I right click the other ones that they are being listed as MBR. Would that create any kind of conflict choosing dynamic?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    742

    Mbr
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster AE-9
    MonitorSamsung 32" UH750 QLED UHD Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MLX-D36M-A20PC-R1 w/ Noctua NF-F12 industrialPPC-2000 IP67 PWM x3 Fans
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula V2 Mousepad
    Headset/Speakers Creative GigaWorks T40 Series II
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    227

    Choose MBR

    Dynamic Disk allows you to create partitions (volumes) that span across many disks such as spanned or striped volumes, and you can even create fault-tolerant partitions such as RAID-5 or mirrored volumes. Like basic disks, dynamic disks also support GPT and MBR partition styles.

    If you are buying two NVMe drives and you just want one partition that convers both drives then use Dynamic disk. As for Software RAID using Dynamic Disk.....You don't want Software RAID.
    Last edited by Jesseinsf; 07-21-2020 at 11:56 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    111
    Posts
    4,174

    Quote Originally Posted by almightyfargoth View Post
    Hey guys,

    I bought and installed a 2TB 970 EVO Plus earlier, and I knew to expect it not to show up on reboot immediately, but I had a question about the exact correct method to format this drive. I'm only using this as a storage drive at the moment. I'm not putting Win10 on it or anything.

    When I right click on it in Disk Management (it's labeled as Disk 1 and 1863GB and does say online) it gives me two options:

    1. Convert to Dynamic Disk
    2. Convert to MBR Disk

    Do I choose dynamic disk as the choice? Does it matter that my other two drives seem to be formatted previously as MBR on this laptop? It seems to indicate when I right click the other ones that they are being listed as MBR. Would that create any kind of conflict choosing dynamic?
    Actuall you your choice is really RAID or AHCI you still want to run in UEFI GPT mode. The other replies explain RAID set ups. Most Asus notebook come set up in RAID mode with either 2 m.2 set up in RAID 0, other like mine came in RAID mode with no dynamic disk. The RAID drive is a good or Better than NVME drivers and is computable with most SSD's and harddrives. Thats is why most notebook maker are using the IRST RAID driver to operate there storage solution. I switched mine to AHCI just to see what the difference it and there isn't any difference other than Samsung Magican can see my 960 Pro. It could not see through the RAID driver. You do not want to use MBR your install will be 32bit and you'll lose my feature of 64 bit windows like only 4 GB of ram is useable in 32 bit. BIOS MBR is Legacy for good reasons.

    You would go into your BIOS to switch from RAID To AHCI. I f you do want to set up, 2 m.2 SSDs in RAID 0 then select dynamic
    Last edited by Clintlgm; 07-24-2020 at 07:21 PM.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    742

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    Actuall you your choice is really RAID or AHCI you still want to run in UEFI GPT mode. The other replies explain RAID set ups. Most Asus notebook come set up in RAID mode with either 2 m.2 set up in RAID 0, other like mine came in RAID mode with no dynamic disk. The RAID drive is a good or Better than NVME drivers and is computable with most SSD's and harddrives. Thats is why most notebook maker are using the IRST RAID driver to operate there storage solution. I switched mine to AHCI just to see what the difference it and there isn't any difference other than Samsung Magican can see my 960 Pro. It could not see through the RAID driver. You do not want to use MBR your install will be 32bit and you'll lose my feature of 64 bit windows like only 4 GB of ram is useable in 32 bit. BIOS MBR is Legacy for good reasons.

    You would go into your BIOS to switch from RAID To AHCI. I f you do want to set up, 2 m.2 SSDs in RAID 0 then select dynamic
    Hey Clintlgm, it has been a few days since this post was originally posted. I would have all kinds of questions if the user were to respond....

    From what I can parse from the original post, he is working from Disk Management within Windows and NOT within the BIOS. Windows has detected the new drive and is asking how it will be used. Windows is simply asking if the drive format should be Dynamic or MBR?

    Format Dynamic for possible RAID use or MBR for separate (ACHI) storage use.

    Back to the user's question, in Windows Disk Management, the correct answer is MBR.
    G752VSK, G75VW-3D, G51J, G1S
    Homebuilt Windows Server

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by jdfrench3 View Post
    Hey Clintlgm, it has been a few days since this post was originally posted. I would have all kinds of questions if the user were to respond....

    From what I can parse from the original post, he is working from Disk Management within Windows and NOT within the BIOS. Windows has detected the new drive and is asking how it will be used. Windows is simply asking if the drive format should be Dynamic or MBR?

    Format Dynamic for possible RAID use or MBR for separate (ACHI) storage use.

    Back to the user's question, in Windows Disk Management, the correct answer is MBR.
    Yeah it's just for storage use. Didn't have to change anything in BIOS. I have 64 bit WIn10 already on the main m.2 it came with. This was just to expand space on here using the other PCIE slot.

    I set it for MBR and created a volume and it's been working perfect since then.

    I've installed and tested about 25 games on it and checked speeds and it's running as it should. So I'm happy with it.
    Last edited by almightyfargoth; 07-26-2020 at 04:58 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •