Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Baddster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    ROG MAXIMUS X HERO bios 2402

    *Updated Microcode for security issue.
    *Improved system performance and stability.
    *Improved DRAM compatibility.
    *Update ME FW for security issue.

    Anyone tried this yet? I'm particular interested in memory o.c. can't get my 8700k above 4000mhz on my 4400 rated ramkits.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    62
    Posts
    65

    I have a Max X Hero (wifi) and the support page still lists BIOS 2301 so I guess they have not posted the new BIOS yet. Looks like the main changes are a ucode and MEI firmware update for another Intel "security issue". The other 2 descriptions - Improved system performance and stability, and Improved DRAM compatibility seems to always be listed. I remain hopeful!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Warre1 PC Specs
    Warre1 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z370-H GAMING
    ProcessorIntel Core i5 8400
    Memory (part number)Kingston DDR4 4x4GB (KHX2666C15D4/4G)
    Graphics Card #1Asus Dual GeForce GTX 1060 OC (6 GB)
    MonitorDell UltraSharp U2312HM
    Storage #1WD Blue 500GB ssd
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB hdd
    CaseCodegen M-610 Black-silver
    Power SupplySuper Flower Golden Green Modular 800W
    Keyboard Microsoft Comfort Curve Keyboard 2000
    Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 6000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterZyxell

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    15

    ROG STRIX Z370-H GAMING
    just got the same firmware. microcode for 8th generation i5 is now D6

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    If you have problems with ram frequency, go to skew control under dram timings menu and set rtt_park for both channels to 120 for single rank ram and 240 for dual rank ram. You will be able to use the maximum freq after that.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog XI Code Z-390 -Bios -1502
    Processori9-9900-Ks @ 5.0/4.7 Cache @ 1.23v
    Memory (part number)32 GB ( 8 GB x 4 ) Team Group X @ 4133 mhz cl-17-17-17-34 @ 1.45v / vccio = 1.25v/ vcssa = 1.25 v
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE + Kraken G12 360mm Aio @ 2000 mhz @ 1.062v Curve
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB x 2 m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo + 500 GB (OS ) m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerDeep Cool Gamermaxx 360mm v2 / Kraken G12 s36 360mm
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyEvga 1000w Platnuim
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1909 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    328

    i had the same issue with my 8700k and 16 gb of trident z rgb 3000 mhz cl-14-14-14-34 kit 4000 mhz 18-19-19-39 was my max anything past that and code 55.

    quote : rtt_park for both channels to 120 for single rank ram and 240 for dual rank ram

    does this work with z-390 ? i have asus xi code z-390 with 8gb x 4 sticks of team group 4133 18-18-18-38 1.40v @ 4266 17-18-18-38 @1.50v
    would this settings help me get past 4266 ?

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    i had the same issue with my 8700k and 16 gb of trident z rgb 3000 mhz cl-14-14-14-34 kit 4000 mhz 18-19-19-39 was my max anything past that and code 55.

    quote : rtt_park for both channels to 120 for single rank ram and 240 for dual rank ram

    does this work with z-390 ? i have asus xi code z-390 with 8gb x 4 sticks of team group 4133 18-18-18-38 1.40v @ 4266 17-18-18-38 @1.50v
    would this settings help me get past 4266 ?
    It should work just fine. For me fixed the freq problem. With rtt_park on auto my ram couldn't clock more than 3800. Now im on 4400 on a z390-e gaming that officialy only supports 4266mhz .

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Baddster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by qlfenv View Post
    If you have problems with ram frequency, go to skew control under dram timings menu and set rtt_park for both channels to 120 for single rank ram and 240 for dual rank ram. You will be able to use the maximum freq after that.
    Thank you so much, ive now broken through 4000 for the first time ever! and hit 4200. But I can't get past there. Any tips for getting to 4400? running 4200@1.45v tried increasing to 1.5v for 4400 but no luck.. anything else i can do in skew control etc.

    ramkits are Patriot Viper Steel DDR4-4400 rated 1.45v

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog XI Code Z-390 -Bios -1502
    Processori9-9900-Ks @ 5.0/4.7 Cache @ 1.23v
    Memory (part number)32 GB ( 8 GB x 4 ) Team Group X @ 4133 mhz cl-17-17-17-34 @ 1.45v / vccio = 1.25v/ vcssa = 1.25 v
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE + Kraken G12 360mm Aio @ 2000 mhz @ 1.062v Curve
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB x 2 m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo + 500 GB (OS ) m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerDeep Cool Gamermaxx 360mm v2 / Kraken G12 s36 360mm
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyEvga 1000w Platnuim
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1909 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    328

    After this tweak are you guys running HCI MEM test for etleast 1000 % coverage or using TM5 memory test app so you dont assume its stable and corrupt your os ?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Baddster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    After this tweak are you guys running HCI MEM test for etleast 1000 % coverage or using TM5 memory test app so you dont assume its stable and corrupt your os ?
    havent had a chance yet, only ran some intital memtests for 1hr with 0 errors and still running bios 2301. ill try do a comprehensive test when i have time.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Dave-G PC Specs
    Dave-G PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core-i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4-3600
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX3080 FE
    Monitor3x Dell S2719DGF 27" 1440p 155Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVMe
    Storage #2Western Digital Red 6TB EFRX
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian Li PC-V2000A Plus
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT990
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha HS8
    OS Windows 10
    Dave-G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    25

    Since this BIOS I have a 5-6 second POST screen which annoys me. I cannot find the option to change the delay like I used to with older BIOS versions. Has it been moved or removed?
    Last edited by Dave-G; 09-14-2020 at 03:53 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •