Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    9980XE + R6E Omega, BIOS 3006 memory performance was significantly degraded, and it was initially assumed that subsequent BIOS versions would fix the problem, but BIOS 3105 memory performance was still significantly degraded, with the same results as BIOS 3006

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Hi @Super Gnome
    9980XE + R6E Omega, BIOS 3006 memory performance was significantly degraded, and it was initially assumed that subsequent BIOS versions would fix the problem, but BIOS 3105 memory performance was still significantly degraded, with the same results as BIOS 3006, I wonder if your 9980XE+X299 motherboard +BIOS 3006 or BIOS 3015 is experiencing memory performance degradation?

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by restsugavan View Post
    Attachment 85937

    The 020006906 microcode was the best one for Skylake X mate.
    I had testing for 4 month since release. I was OK.
    So maybe it's something else that has changed in 3105 BIOS that caused my issues, RC code or I do not know what.
    After recovering/downgrading my board succesfully with bios 3006, since I knew how to do it quickly then, I again upgraded from 3006 to 3105 (by pure curiosity) and same issue (with POST stuck ad 'BD' Q-code / 'Memory Detect' message) returned immediately. It went away only after second downgrade to 3006.
    I have not experienced similar issues since initial BIOS release that I was using on day one with this mobo (it was 0806 I guess).
    Last edited by klosz007; 08-12-2020 at 10:45 AM.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    341

    Omega here with 10980xe (previous 7980xe) and bios 3105, after bios 3006, no problems at all, manually overclocked memory.

    Some mates here should not say it is bios fault, but his fault mixing xmp with manual parameters=big mistake and call for issues.


    Omega, 10980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    377

    Quote Originally Posted by Corna View Post
    Hi @Super Gnome
    I wonder if your 9980XE+X299 motherboard +BIOS 3006 or BIOS 3015 is experiencing memory performance degradation?
    Hey Corna. I am using an AMD system currently because my Rampage VI Omega Extreme system was crashing tons, needed Windows reinstalls a few times, and the list goes on (and I blame Asus software for all of it). My 9980xe was overclocked at default settings permanently with the prior BIOS, 3006, and at least a few of us had this problem. In my case, I have limited knowledge about tweaking the BIOS (and unfortunately have a Ryujin in the system--which also has horrible issues--basically that it responds to false, bogus temperatures that are not the CPU at all but rather to much cooler [false] temperatures from a probe that is nowhere near the CPU cores). I'm also afraid of doing something wrong and degrading my CPU silicon even more than Asus's faulty, horrible software already has. We all reverted to 0802 because of this BIOS issue, and then didn't have the problem.

    As for having memory issues, how would one know if they are having such issues? Also, I may be of limited help to you until confirming this new BIOS is problem free, as I am just going to use a different system until then.
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 08-12-2020 at 10:34 PM.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    341

    This forum, along with overclock.net one is quite helpful, when the one that needs help listens (reads) and applies what is advised.

    Talking about Corna, he was not long ago saying he had memory performance degradation, then I asked him about his components and configuration, and he said he was mixing XMP and manual parameters=call for issues, but he didn't listen, and still around saying problems come from bios releases... Quite funny!!!
    Omega, 10980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by vmanuelgm View Post
    Omega here with 10980xe (previous 7980xe) and bios 3105, after bios 3006, no problems at all, manually overclocked memory.

    Some mates here should not say it is bios fault, but his fault mixing xmp with manual parameters=big mistake and call for issues.


    As far as I know, only 9th Gen Cpus (like 9980XE) will be affected and others (like 7980xe or 10980XE) will not be affected. If someone owns a 9980XE +R6EO motherboard, they will definitely prove my problem

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    341

    If that mate mixes XMP and manual parameters won't be worth, really.

    I repeat, in these forums some guys know basical configuration to let the rigs work properly, also which hardware can suit best your needings, for example in case of overclocking (a certain memory kit).
    Omega, 10980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    377

    Quote Originally Posted by vmanuelgm View Post
    Omega here with 10980xe (previous 7980xe) and bios 3105, after bios 3006, no problems at all, manually overclocked memory.

    Some mates here should not say it is bios fault, but his fault mixing xmp with manual parameters=big mistake and call for issues.


    Those max temperatures look super high to me. 96? I'd probably have a stroke if my CPU hit those highs. What are you doing that is getting such high temps? Was your system the same before the latest BIOS?

  10. #20
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    3105 has broke Wake On Lan on my Rampage VI Extreme. Is anyone else having that experience?

    WoL still works on my RVIE Encore box though (I updated both boxes to their latest BIOS versions yesterday).

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •