Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    PG279Q Shifting Line of Pixels

    Hello,

    I have had my monitor for a quite since early 2019 and been loving it.

    I noticed that every once in a while a vertical line of pixels from the center would often shift to either side of the monitor.

    After searching the forums and finding the Sticky at the top of this forum, I thought it wasn't worth the hassle to RMA as it usually goes away after a power cycle.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...G-SWIFT-PG279Q

    Then lock-down begun and I started working from home, so I have decided to RMA the monitor.

    ASUS are only providing a swap at present which I have tentatively agreed to, but confirm if its likely that the monitor I will get in return will have had its firmware updated?

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I think there is a good chance that it will be updated. But you can´t be certain ofc. My advice is to inspect the new monitor sent and after setting it up, then look for faults. Asus support have been very helpful with me and told me that they will swap again, if the replacement monitor suffers issues. I would not worry to much and instead look at what happens.

    I was never aware of this issue, mainly becuase I bought mine in 2018 (I reckon mine had been updated?) so again I reckon those refurbished ones that had issues, would get the update and then the one taken in, would get the same threatment if needed.

    That is just my take ofc.. Take pictures when you take the monitor out of the box and as the first thing, go look for external damage, then go look for Backlight bleed, dead pixels, etc
    Again Asus have been very supportive towards me, as of now I have only had good experience, albeit no monitor swap yet, but I know the drill from their instructions.
    I hope your issue gets sorted out


    Edit.

    I found this
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...g279q-Firmware

    I reckon you should not be worried about not having the firmware update. Mainly because I don´t think that 4 year old monitors, to make an example, would not be fixed with the update, as that would most likely be one of the reasons for RMA
    Last edited by DrSahl; 08-13-2020 at 10:39 AM. Reason: Edit in information

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array KuraiShidosha PC Specs
    KuraiShidosha PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 7700k 4.8Ghz
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Ripjaws V 3200Mhz DDR4 16GB
    Sound CardCreative SoundBlaster X-Fi
    MonitorAcer P243w
    Storage #1Samsung 830 256GB
    Storage #2Western Digital Caviar Black 5TB 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerThermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850w Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    55

    How did you make out OP? I sent my PG279Q in back in September 2020 for repairs for other issues. I bought my monitor in October 2017 and it did NOT have the g-sync firmware bug. I received back the same serial number monitor, but unfortunately the panel and g-sync module they replaced mine with has the firmware bug. I am sending it in again to update the firmware and I am hoping, fingers crossed, that I get back my original monitor with just the updated software. I don't want some random refurbished display with its own defects and problems.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array KotOr368 PC Specs
    KotOr368 PC Specs
    MotherboardApex IX,X,XI,XII,XIII
    Processori7-7,8Gen,i9-9,10,11Gen
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG278QR
    Storage #1Intel SSD 545s
    Storage #2Mx500 2TB + Segate 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s Chroma
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 TG Dark
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins
    Mouse A4tech BLOODY J95
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    OS W10 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    76

    i have G-sync problem on my PG278QR. Monitor works. I send it just for firmware update, they didnt update it, they just perform test that monitor works for some god know what reason (and yea monitor works who would guess) and damage it. They couldn't even pack it properly and they send it back. After i was furious, they want me to send it back again. They will fix the damage, but they will not fix my firmware problem. But repair could be long due to Corona. So what is the point send it back? When they don't want to fix my firmware problem! Funny is they release for some monitors firmware that user can update it itself... but they can't provide it for me or update it in their repair center.. So i must live with this BUG until i change my monitor

    AAA+ support in Czech Republic

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •