Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    24

    Question help needed for new editing rig!

    I could totally use some help with my build. Main purpose is for editing with Adobe premiere, after effects and cutting R3D footage and I need as much power as possible!


    Here's one I've put together so far but I still have not placed my order, I'm still trying to decide on which ram I should buy (I've never understood memory and timing. Its like quantum physics to my brain for some reason)

    CPU: Intel i7-3930k

    mobo: Asus Rampage IV Extreme


    Here's where I'm stuck, which ram??? I keep reading different things on different forums. Some say stick to 1.5V 1600, others say they've had no problem with 2133 and that it will give better performance.

    So which of these would you recommend with my CPU and motherboard?:


    memory option1: 32gb G.Skill DDR3 1600

    memory option2: 32gb G.Skill DDR3 2133

    or should I look at something else altogether?? Also, how well would buying two sets of 32gb ram work with this mobo and cpu for a total of 64gb? Is it worth the extra cost when it comes to editing and rendering time?




    As for video card, i'm waiting for the new GTX 680's to show up on sale again, they seem to be out of stock everywhere.



    Last question for now is regarding my power supply, I'm already using this Antec 850 with the current build: Antec 850 power supply


    is it enough to run everything stable on the new build or should I also upgrade the power supply? I'm looking at this combo since I'll need to upgrade the case as well:


    1200W power supply and 800D case



    I'd totally appreciate any help on these questions! Thanks in advance!!!!!
    Last edited by Artino; 03-26-2012 at 08:32 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Syber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    94

    Well if running the GTX680's in SLI, I'd get the 1200W psu, just to be sure you have the juice. On the RAM, it doesnt really matter. You won't see much performance difference between 1600 and 2133. At least that's how I see it. To be anything above 1800mhz is overkill so just stick with the 1600
    Current Specs:
    Asus Crosshair II Formula ( running old school )
    AMD Athlon64 le-1600 @ 2.8Ghz
    2GB DDR2 800MHz
    Sapphire Radeon HD3870 512MB @806Mhz

    Live to WIN! - Paul Stanley
    The Choice Of Champions - Asus ROG.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    24

    thanks for the advice.

    what about buying 2 sets of the 1600 for a total of 64gb? can I run 2 sets of the 32gb ripjaws on this board with stable results? any downside to this option?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Syber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    94

    no as long as it supports the 64gb then there is no problem. as long as they have the same CAL timings, frequency and voltage its fine
    Current Specs:
    Asus Crosshair II Formula ( running old school )
    AMD Athlon64 le-1600 @ 2.8Ghz
    2GB DDR2 800MHz
    Sapphire Radeon HD3870 512MB @806Mhz

    Live to WIN! - Paul Stanley
    The Choice Of Champions - Asus ROG.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •