Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Strix Z490 Gaming-E BIOS only showing 2 PCIe x16 slots?

    I have a friend with the exact same board and his BIOS also only shows 2 PCIe x16 slots in BIOS but another friend with the A revision of the board (z490 Gaming-A) shows all 3. His board doesn't have built in WiFi but rather an M.2 Wifi slot (that he's planning to populate). Would that be why?

    There are definitely 3 full size slots on the board - I'd try putting something in slot 3 but I don't have a card that will fit as it's so close to the PSU shroud that my GPU would never fit and I don't have any smaller/thinner cards. Is this correct? Why would his board show all 3 and my/ours not?

    Not having any issues and don't plan on using the slot just curious why the difference.

    ~X

    Oh, and if there are any moderators around could we maybe get a sub-forum of the new z490 boards so we don't have to post in this x370 forum???

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Bump? Anyone??

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Does no one else own this board??

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    124

    post a picture of your bios entry btw section that we can see the issue

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array BloodBaron PC Specs
    BloodBaron PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z490-E
    Processori7-10700K @ 4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)GSkill Trident Z RGB 32GB 3600mhz 16-19-19-39 (F4-3600C16-32GTZRC)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GEFORCE RTX 3080 GAMING X TRIO 10G
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster X3
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q 27" WQHD
    Storage #1WD_BLACK SN750 NVMe 1TB
    Storage #2WD_BLACK SN750 NVMe 500GB
    CPU CoolerbeQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 Compact DTG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2 SE
    Headset Steelseries ARCTIS 7
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305s
    OS Win10 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by LotusExige View Post
    Does no one else own this board??
    Bios 0707 strix z490-e

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20200820_074156.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	404.6 KB 
ID:	86102

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by BloodBaron View Post
    Bios 0707 strix z490-e

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20200820_074156.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	404.6 KB 
ID:	86102
    Thanks so much for replying - do you have any idea why the 3rd slot isn't showing up for us? Also good to know there is a BIOS update out...

    ~X

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array BloodBaron PC Specs
    BloodBaron PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z490-E
    Processori7-10700K @ 4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)GSkill Trident Z RGB 32GB 3600mhz 16-19-19-39 (F4-3600C16-32GTZRC)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GEFORCE RTX 3080 GAMING X TRIO 10G
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster X3
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q 27" WQHD
    Storage #1WD_BLACK SN750 NVMe 1TB
    Storage #2WD_BLACK SN750 NVMe 500GB
    CPU CoolerbeQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 Compact DTG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2 SE
    Headset Steelseries ARCTIS 7
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305s
    OS Win10 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by LotusExige View Post
    Thanks so much for replying - do you have any idea why the 3rd slot isn't showing up for us? Also good to know there is a BIOS update out...

    ~X
    Can't say I do, maybe it's hidden in the uefi GUI? and the devs just need to expose it?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro; 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks 120 T30 fan, 2 Noctua Chromax case fanss
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Mouse Pad Perixx dx-2000
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    566

    You are looking at the section for PCI-E supplied by the processor chip's system agent. There are only 2 slots. The first can be run with 16x lanes of PCI-E bandith if the second slot is not occupied. If they are both occupied they each run with 8x lanes, in other words there is a total of 16 lanes shared between them.

    The third full-sized PCI-E slot is supplied by the Z490 (PCH) chip, not the processor chip. You will find settings for it in the PCH section of the BIOS. This will only be up to a 4x lane of bandwidth.

    The first two are suitable for running graphics cards. The third is not.
    Last edited by geneo; 08-29-2020 at 04:54 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array BloodBaron PC Specs
    BloodBaron PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z490-E
    Processori7-10700K @ 4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)GSkill Trident Z RGB 32GB 3600mhz 16-19-19-39 (F4-3600C16-32GTZRC)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GEFORCE RTX 3080 GAMING X TRIO 10G
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound Blaster X3
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q 27" WQHD
    Storage #1WD_BLACK SN750 NVMe 1TB
    Storage #2WD_BLACK SN750 NVMe 500GB
    CPU CoolerbeQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 Compact DTG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2 SE
    Headset Steelseries ARCTIS 7
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305s
    OS Win10 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    You are looking at the section for PCI-E supplied by the processor chip's system agent. There are only 2 slots. The first can be run with 16x lanes of PCI-E bandith if the second slot is not occupied. If they are both occupied they each run with 8x lanes, in other words there is a total of 16 lanes shared between them.

    The third full-sized PCI-E slot is supplied by the Z490 (PCH) chip, not the processor chip. You will find settings for it in the PCH section of the BIOS. This will only be up to a 4x lane of bandwidth.

    The first two are suitable for running graphics cards. The third is not.
    Ah now that you say that it makes total sense lol, duh. thanks for the explanation, appreciate it.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    You are looking at the section for PCI-E supplied by the processor chip's system agent. There are only 2 slots. The first can be run with 16x lanes of PCI-E bandith if the second slot is not occupied. If they are both occupied they each run with 8x lanes, in other words there is a total of 16 lanes shared between them.

    The third full-sized PCI-E slot is supplied by the Z490 (PCH) chip, not the processor chip. You will find settings for it in the PCH section of the BIOS. This will only be up to a 4x lane of bandwidth.

    The first two are suitable for running graphics cards. The third is not.
    First thank you for the detailed reply - this is VERY helpful. When I'm home later I'll check that - but here's what's odd, a good friend has the A revision of the board (Strix Z490 Gaming-A) the one without WiFi and that screen for him DOES show all 3 slots. That's really the only reason I thought this was weird, and he's running the same 10900k I am.

    Thoughts there?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •